We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Nearby Hotels
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Coral Hills Resort Marsa Alam(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aurora Bay Resort(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dreams Beach Marsa Alam(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
$38
$30
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Dar El Madina(Marsa Alam)
$154
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Utopia Beach Club(Marsa Alam)
$74
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Elphistone Resort(Marsa Alam)(Great Value!)
$39
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,874)
Filter reviews
2,874 results
Traveler rating
1,853
769
176
49
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,853
769
176
49
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomson repmorgana beachmorgana restaurantfishanimation teamcoraya diverscandy flosspool barbeach restaurantgreat holidaycocktail partyfamily roomwater polomarsa alam airporttwo weekswelcome meetingdive school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
745 - 750 of 2,874 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned from our fifth visit to this hotel and once again we were looked after superbly. The staff were as always brilliant, special thanks to the front of desk staff and Karim and Ahmed in the bar who made our stay so enjoyable. Have already booked to go again next year.

Room Tip: We had rooms 2229 and 2230 which were due to be undated but all the rooms in the left hand block as you look at the sea have been refurbished already.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nags2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

a top hotel
really nice food
the dive club was great
the animation team was amazing
everything was well maintained
staff was very helpful
the pool was heated and it was very kleen
the dives we made were amazing

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mefatot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

During the first fortnight of November my partner and I had a fantastic time at Iberotel Lamaya Resort. We look for good food, polite and helpful staff, beautiful gardens and first rate snorkelling and found all of those here. We have stayed in 7 different Egyptian Red Sea hotels and this has to be one of the best for snorkelling with beautiful coral and a great variety of sea life in a sheltered bay where swimming is very little affected by the wind. The hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean and they even washed the outdoor footpaths every 3 days or so.

Location – On a sheltered bay along with about 4 other hotels in the same ownership a 15 minute drive from Marsa Alam airport but there is no airport noise. There are some shops within the hotel arcade and others a short walk away outside the hotel. The hotel is no more than 10 years old.

Room – Upon arrival we were welcomed with a cool drink and quickly shown to our room on the ground floor of a three storey building amongst beautiful gardens. The room had a separate sitting room away from the bedroom as well as the usual en-suite. All rooms are located between reception and the beach.

Food – We had breakfast and dinner in the main ground floor dining room where one could eat either inside or out. The food was good with themed evenings but after 2 weeks was a bit repetitive and more variety of cooked vegetables would have been welcome. We preferred to eat outside on the shaded terrace with nice views of the gardens and bay beyond but in the evenings the lighting, although romantic, was very low and made it hard to see what one was eating. For lunch one could eat at the beach bar which was very well run with a variety of food, good service and saved the walk back to the hotel.

Beaches and Reef – I think we picked the best hotel in the bay as the only jetty ran from very close to our room and those staying in other hotels had to walk much further. The bay was sheltered from the wind and we could snorkel every day no matter how strong the wind. There was a very good variety of sealife including a large resident barracuda - 150 cms, octopus, at least 2 crocodile fish, a resident fish ball of several thousand yellowtail barracuda, squid and several Ospreys to be seen flying about the hotel and catching fish. No turtles or dugongs as there was hardly any seagrass although on part of the bay there was sandy access to the water but we always used the jetty which was much nearer to our room. There was a huge variety of fish and corals in good condition. Some days the water was more cloudy but by the next day it had completely cleared. Generally afternoon snorkelling was not so good as the light was poorer and water tended to be more cloudy but it was amazing how much it cleared overnight. The jetty had a staircase as well as ladders to the sea and the staircase is much more convenient for flippers. The North shore of the bay towards the sea gave the best snorkelling. For a change of scene one could visit the aquapark located very close to the hotel at no extra charge.

Climate – we had sun every day with temperatures up to 30C which was very pleasant and one could stay in the water without wetsuits for an hour before getting cold. 

Management and staff were exceptional and gave very good service. We had a few plumbing and electrical problems with the room but once these were drawn to the attention of management they were dealt with very promptly and efficiently. If room boys could report such faults then guests would not have to. We travelled with Thomson and their hotel rep, Ahmed, was exceptionally good. No hard sell and always to be easily found, very helpful and a mine of information. When you arrive at the airport you should buy your visas from the bank booth at the left hand side of the arrivals hall for $15 or other currency equivalent. If you buy from Thomsons at the airport they will charge you £13 which is about $20.

All in all very good value for money. A good hotel if you want a quiet holiday on a beautiful and clean site with good food, excellent service and snorkelling. The night-life was varied but included ethnic and belly dancing in the large open roofed theatre and there was always music and singing each evening on the terrace near to the dining room.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Here my review about my vacation in Lamaya resort
We had welcomed by welcome drink, check in done so fast , very friendly team work together in harmony way to serve everyone and every need.
Pools was amazing
Shore is magnificent
Pool bar so good "Walled" did very good drinks for us
Loopy bar special thanks for "Kareem" he was very amazing person. :)
Great food and amazingly friendly and helpful staffVery nice hotel, extra super staff, nice buffet and very friendly service from everyone in the hotel.
The hotel and staff are very family and kids friendly.
S

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raoufnosshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great hotel. Great food and amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Very child-friendly, with three heated pools, two smallest are great for kids. If interested in sea life, then grab your goggles and snorkel, walk 3 minutes and wade for another two... hey presto, you are swimming amongst hundreds of fish and amazing coral. Overall, if there is one thing that stands out, it has to be the most genuinely helpful staff ever! Will be returning this or next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews