We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“think of your dream summer holiday destination and take it in february”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Marsa Alam, Egypt
1 review
“think of your dream summer holiday destination and take it in february”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Great hotel. Great food and amazingly friendly and helpful staff. Very child-friendly, with three heated pools, two smallest are great for kids. If interested in sea life, then grab your goggles and snorkel, walk 3 minutes and wade for another two... hey presto, you are swimming amongst hundreds of fish and amazing coral. Overall, if there is one thing that stands out, it has to be the most genuinely helpful staff ever! Will be returning this or next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,563
    660
    161
    46
    25
See reviews for
912
1,103
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Around 10 minutes from the airport but no noise from aircraft lovely secluded resort unspoilt .the management Team were fantastic they all greeted us never experienced this in any hotel. All the staff were concerned that everyone was happy every day even the rep Yaz came looking for you everyday making sure all was well and did you need anything well done Yaz .the rooms were nice and spacious and very clean, the food was excellent the catering manager and the head chef were there every meal time asking if the food was ok and if you wanted anything special they would do there best to cook it for you we didn't have that problem because there was a massive variety , we were also given a tour of the kitchens they were very proud of there cleanliness and hygiene.
Fist cole of days we thought getting a drink at lunch and dinner was a bit slow but realised you had the option to get up and help yourself to beer and wine , soft drinks , cold water all on tap that was a nice touch plenty of sunbeds good animation team kept you all busy if wanted no pestering which was good . The main bar staff run by Ahmed and his team were always cheerful and up for a laugh thanks guys. Lovely to see they were protecting the coral reef .there were lots more little touches that made the difference. We were invited to a cocktail party by the manager and were asked for our feed back face to face if we wanted too or by e mail at a later date they were always looking for ways to improve the experience well done guys will defiantly go back very good value for money made us so welcome well done guys :-)

Room Tip: There were three floors pick a top floor room not very high but nice sea views and less noise Due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice hotel, extra super staff, nice buffet and very friendly service from everyone in the hotel.
The hotel and staff are very family and kids friendly.

I definitely know where my next vacation should be!

Room Tip: if you have kids and need quick access to pool and kids club, choose ground floor in B building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solly2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just returned from a weeks bliss in the fantastic Lamaya resort from the moment you arrive the hotel staff cannot be more welcoming to you, the facilities are first class the weather perfect 25-30 deg every day the water temp was 23 deg great for snorkeling in the beautiful bay which has its own coral reef.
The hotel itself was not full so plenty of space around the pool complex which was keep immaculate and had one of the pools heated, so no diving into a pool of ice, the gym was air conditioned for those people who use such places also the steam and spa always open and plenty of room.
The food varied every night so plenty of choice.
Nice touch's where the managers invitation to a theme meal at the beach restaurant one night and a cocktail drink as way of thanking you for picking his hotel, where all the senior staff where present to mingle and chat.
we went on a boat to dive in the stunning red sea saw some amazing fish and had a great day with the Colina divers book via thomsons at the welcome meeting.
lastly thanks to Ahmed who was brilliant always asking if everything was ok and you where being looked after.
Would not hesitate to recommend the hotel and resort it was just perfect.
it was a great holiday

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Another wonderful stay at the Lamaya. Special thanks to Khaled Hassan, Ahmed (on the beach) and the real star of the show Ahmed the Thomson rep. What an asset he is and so incredibly nice with it, always having time for you even if it is just to stop and chat. Went last week Nov for 2 weeks and the weather was very warm until the last three days when it was incredibly windy and cold. Shorts and sweatshirts all day and dodging the cold wind. Before last three cold days it was literally no cardi or sweater in the evenings as it was so warm.

We followed a huge group of dolphins from the Lamaya to the Resta Reef where they performed a few incredible stunts whilst we were at the end of their jetty. Got soaked though as the waves were really lashing over the jetty! Well worth it to see them so close and the 'babies' really show off their jumping skills.

I dont think you can fault the Lamya and the staff as most are incredible and work such long hours to keep everything going. Neither can the food be faulted as although one can one some days wander around thinking nothing appeals there is always the huge salad bar and of course the pasta station and the children's corner usually has chips (which I never eat at home but they somehow appeal on holiday!)

The cocktails are pretty awful though but other drinks arent in short supply.

We usually take a room on the second floor but other half had hurt his leg so we had a very nice room on the ground floor which had been newly decorated with new furniture and pictures too and was very clean. Bathroom tiling etc isnt up to standard as OH is a tiler and has an awful lot to say about it.! No electricity cuts this time either and water plentiful and very very hot.

Mr Ashraf, thank you for inviting us to the cocktail party which was not only enjoyable but it was very interesting to hear you talk about the recent troubles. Your staff are a credit to you and provide an excellent service.

It is a great shame that the hotels are so under occupied at the moment and the English are in the minority. Our plane was half full leaving Gatwick and even emptier on the way home. Marsa Alam airport really annoys me with their 'fluctuating' prices so after a few visits have learnt to pay in Euros or dollars and the constant asking to change English pounds into paper currency which is all very well but check the coins you are given as have come across fakes and a few Euros slipped in before you know it. And dont get me started on the visa prices at the airport - head straight for the little banks and pay for it at face value not the £3 admin fee landed on top by the 'inside the airport' reps.

The wristband you are given here gives you access to walk over the headland to the right to the Resta hotels and use their jetty for snorkelling if the weather allows it but it doesnt work vice versa and costs 20 Euros per person to come into the Coraya bay. This jetty is a like an aquarium if the westher is calm - so pretty with lots of fish and a big drop into the blue; quite an abundance of very large fish here and morays. I am not a strong swimmer so always take a lifejacket with me and am a bit scared of the sea if I was honest even now, and what does lurk there that causes the panic! (big baby) ...... The board at the Coraya Divers reported some sharks at the house reef .....ooh.....

On one of the more windier days we walked to the shipwreck which you can see from the Coraya headland. It takes about an hour to get there and is a nice walk and such a beautiful bay where the boat has ended up on the reef; you can walk down the road which only takes 35 minutes and it's nice to sit and enjoy the view from the top of the cliffs.

All in all a brilliant time with the usual suspects in the sea when snorkelling, and a big school of fish by the pontoon which 'balled' with us snorkellers on the top looking down at them and the divers underneath and the bigger predators circling - and the barracuda hiding underneath the pontoon watching menacingly - quite a sight.

I think we will go back - it is such great value for money if you hit the brochure/internet right and guaranteed sun although some summers have been so hot you have no energy left by mid evening and just want to get into your lovely big bed and turn the a/c on full.

I hope things will eventually settle down in Egypt and the tourists will come back and I can also get to Luxor again one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Yet another fantastic holiday at this hotel ......what can I say !!! The staff remembered us from the last time we where there. We had a perfect room, the room was brilliant and a stones throw from the pool and bar !!! Charli, guest relations lady surpassed her role....what a great asset she has been to the Lamaya and Ahmed the Thomson Rep ....this man is amazing, he also gave my husband a run for his money playing pool .....I think the final score was 44 to 39 .....my husband was made up that he was winning .....he goes out of his way to make you feel like the Lamaya is a home from home .. All that, along with the staff gives me no hesitation in recommending this hotel ...we can't wait to go back !!!!, xx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urshy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed in December 2013, our third visit in 2013 and as always we had a wonderful time.

The hotel is lovely, very clean and comfortable. The staff just cannot do enough for you.

Food is good, there is always plenty of choice and if you do not see anything you want, then you only have to ask one of the chefs and they will do their best to accommodate you.

The beach and water park make this hotel an excellent choice for families. There are plenty of pools around the hotel too.

Coraya divers, the on site diving centre is the most efficiently run diving centre we have used in the Red Sea. There is easy access to the house reef for snorkeling or diving. The bay is quite sheltered.

All of the staff are a credit to this hotel and we are really looking forward to going back again soon.

Ahmed, the Thomson rep, is a font of knowledge and a very pleasant and approachable young man. He is always available to speak too.

The animation team at the Lamaya are definitely the best animation team we have ever met. There is always something going on during the day if you want to join in and the shows that they produce at night are always quite entertaining.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,446 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
431 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing