We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good All Around”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Breitenbach, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good All Around”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We just returned from a holiday at Coraya Bay.
Lamaya has definitely the best location for divers/snorcheling as it opens to the pier.
Food was abundant and excellent AND no stomach problems during our stay (we did skip the risky salads and mayonese though). Only minus was the smell of the airconditioning but it was sorted out as we complained. rating 4+ servicewise almost 5

Room Tip: Ask for the "morning shade" and 2nd floor (less moisture problems than in 1st floor rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Markku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,593
    673
    162
    47
    25
See reviews for
931
1,127
85
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We returned to thre iberotel Lamaya Resort this year for another two weeks. What a great decision to return, they have made a couple of small improvements since last year, Nescafe coffee machines in the dining room, perfect coffee and a permanent changing cabin round the pool. We requested the possibility of a ground floor room and this was done for us. The check in process at the Hotel is extremely quick, other Hotels could learn a lesson from their process. Our room was spacious and the room boy did an excellent cleaning job. The food was good, there was stir fry being done every evening and lunch time. The pool areas and grounds are kept immaculate. All staff were helpful and a lot of staff recognised us from last year. The Animation team work extremely hard and make a point of talking to holiday makers. Our rep Hany was brilliant, he remembered our names, and other holidaymakers and nothning was too much trouble.
We had a fabuloustwo weeks and would have no hesitation on rebooking for next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for one week in October, it was fab the hotel was spotless our room was cleaned every day with fresh sheets, the towel art was fantastic, The restaurant was clean the tables cleared as soon as you had finished so there werent loads of dirty plates on the table. The staff were friendly and the activities were great best holiday every would recommend

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denise a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

All areas well kept and clean. Staff very friendly. Food, well, not a great selection but of good quality, hot and replenished frequently and better than most I have had in Egypt.
Sunbeds plentiful and plenty of room round the pool and on the beach. The house reef was fantastic and within 10 mins of being in the water we saw an eagle ray, turtle and HUGE barracuda.
It is a very cosmopolitan hotel with many nationalities which we like but a few of the Brits were moaning that it wasn't geared up for their kids. Also a long walk for kids who want a paddle in the sea as the area around hotel is protected reef and sea has to be entered via a long jetty into deeper water. There is also a free water park attached to the hotel. We would recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BabsBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed at the Lamaya for two weeks 19th september until 3rd october.We enjoyed every minute.We requested a top floor quiet room and this is what we got.Our room 2347 was kept spotless with towel art most days and plenty of teabags and coffee left for us.Kettles are supplied.I loved the breakfasts and we had lunch at the Morgana bar by the beach each day.Dinner was buffet style and we always found something we liked even though I am quite fussy.Whatever we chose was always hot and cooked well.The cocktails on the hill were beautiful as we watched the sun go down and are a very nice touch.The first day we were there we saw dolphins in the bay and they came back to say goodbye on our last day.AMAZING.We loved the snorkelling which we believe is better than Taba by a long way and did a snorkelling trip from Port Ghalib which was excellent. Swam with large turtles but did not see the dugong.We were well looked after and the food on the boat was excellent.All the staff were brilliant at the Lamaya from the gardeners to reception and will do anything to ensure you have a great holiday.We have been to Egypt five times and this one is definately on our return list.Thankyou to Hani out rep who became a friend to all of us and deserves his reputation and thankyou to EVERYONE at the Lamaya for giving us the best holiday and such good memories.
Heather and Darren

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doppsMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qaha city,Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I have just came back from iberotel lamaya marsa alam. I was spending my hneymoon there. The overall experience was great. Although the beginning was not quite well as the airport pickup came late 45 minutes with the great effort of Sayed in Iberotel Samaya, many thanks to him. When we arrived all apologized to us on this delay and freely upgraded our room to a better then than the original reservation, the room was clean and spacious with a great viwe on beach and pool. The resturant really may be one of the best i had experienced in my travels, there is always wide variety of foods suitable for all and always fresh. The view of the sea and the corals were great and taking mind, it takes you a short walk to access the beach you will enjoy the clored fishes around you while swimming. Diving and snorkling activitieas are very popular there. Sunset area is one of the greatest locations there, enjoy it. Really it was great vacations, thanks to all who work there at Lamaya. I will be back, God willing.(ISA)

Room Tip: Sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

All staff were attentive, rooms, pools and grounds were very clean. The pools were checked everyday for contamination and cleanliness. Had a couple of problems which were immediately resolved and within 12 hours. Hany the Thomson guide was extremely helpful and couldn't do enough. Believe all the reviews about him, he was excellent. The hotel was well placed for the airport (15 min transfer) and for our trips to Luxor and Aswan/Abu Simbel. we had a sea facing room, which was extremely spacious and the views were terrific, especially at sunset. The coral and snorkling off the hotel's jetty was superb, the water was very clear and the sea was warm (27C). If you want a hectic pub crawling, club holiday - this is not the place. But if you want a calm, relaxing tranquil holiday then you cannot do better than this hotel. We had a fabulous 2 weeks and would definately go back.

Room Tip: All rooms were either facing the sea (a cove) or the pools. The Sea facing room we were in was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rwgallaugher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,360 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
447 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Property: Jaz Lamaya Resort
Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing