We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing Holiday”
Review of Jaz Lamaya Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jaz Lamaya Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks from 5th October and I must say it rates as one of our best holidays. From the moment we arived at Marsa Alam Airport to our arrival at the Hotel everything was efficient and speedy. We were greeted at the Hotel with drinks whilst the book in procedure was completed. All the rooms are family rooms so they are comfortable and spacious. All the staff are friendly and accomodating, nothing is too much trouble. At the welcome meeting the entire Management staff were rolled out and they each welcomed us, never seen this before. The restaurant was large and the food plentiful although on a couple of occasions the standard fell below what we would have expected for the quality of the Hotel but as they were very approachable they were told about it. The sunbeds were easily obtainable either by the pools or on the beach. Animation team were adequate without being overly pushy. The Thomson rep was excellent always available and mixing with his clients to ensure that everyone was happy. The minor down points were the lack of enforcing a dress code for dinner and the relaxation pool was allowed to be used by children who had their own pool. All in all this was a wonderful relaxing holiday. We would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel or returning ourselves. One further point about this resort, there is always a wind which can be a blessing with the high temperatures.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrichtonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,797)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 2,797 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2011

I stayed here one week in November with my two kids (9 & 7), and had a great time. On arrival you are ushered into the lounge with a drink while they care of the paperwork. Overall the staff was very friendly, always joking with the kids, and very helpful. But not all of them were as fluent in English or French as I had wanted.
We had requested a quiet room and that is what we got. The hotel buildings are mostly located around the swimming pool area. We were located in a building behind that circle, on the west side. So away from the open air amphitheater on the east side where the evening shows take place, and not facing the swimming pools, where the daytime animation takes place. In short, really quiet.
The room was a roomy family room with two single beds for the kids in a room between the main bedroom (large double) and the bathroom, with a door between both. Very clean as well. Nice bathroom with a walk-in shower (no bath).
There are 3 pools plus a shallow pool for small kids. The 3 pools ranged from large and freezing (no heating I think), over a bit smaller to bearable (for me, my kids had no problem staying in for hours on end), to small and warm (lower pool). Despite many signs against it there are still idiots "reserving" beds with a towel, and then not showing up for hours. Despite that there were always beds available for the 4 of us. Across the street, still in the same compound, there is a park with pools and 8 slides plus a baby bath with small slides. There is also a bar for food & drinks there, but it is not included in the all-in.
The food in the main restaurant was good, and lots of choice. My wife was very happy with the large selection of fresh vegetables at each meal. No bacon for the eggs, but that is understandable. Unfortunately the croissants were inedible, and the "orange juice" was a sort of sweet lemonade.
As this was an all-in it was practically impossible to be thirsty or hungry. You were never far from from a selection of drinks and snacks at all hours of the day (bar, pool bar, beach bar & restaurant).
The hotel is located on a closed and guarded compound around a small bay, together with other hotels. There is not a clear distinction between the hotels, and I frequently found myself walking around in a different hotel area. The Lamaya is closest to the pier used for diving (by Coraya divers, next to Lamaya) and snorkeling access to the reef. The coarse sand beach going into the sea is at the middle of the bay, a couple of 100 meters from the Lamaya beach (without direct sea access). The sea entry is cordoned of with buoys and ropes from the reef, and there is a small floating platform in the deep end. The bay has a concrete path around it that is marked every 100 meters for the joggers (1.6 km in total I believe).
All in all there was enough to do to keep my kids busy so I could catch up on some reading. A very relaxing week in a great place.

Room Tip: Sea view also means facing the pool area with all the daytime animation, and evening bar music. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed at this hotel from 27 September for 2 weeks. From the moment we arrived at Marsa Alam airport, our check in procedure was stream lined. No queueing for check in, excellent. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and their aim was to please. The rooms are large and very clean. The restuarant was large enough to cope with visitors. There was plenty of choice food wise. As a muslim country you know you are not going to get any pork, but there was plenty of choice of everything else. A barbaque was going every evening.
There is a quiet pool for adults which is nice and relaxing, children have their own pool. The hotel was right on the beach and ideal for snorkling.
In the evening there was a singer out on the bar terrace, not exceptional but not bad. We did not have to queue long to get a drink.
There was a show every evening in the theatre put on by the animation team, so no excuse to be bored.
Hesham the Thomson rep was excellent. He was on hand most of the time and made a point of talking to holidaymakers and making sure everything was ok.
All in all a great relaxing 2 week holiday, it's a shame that the hotel has been sold and that Thomson will not be going there next year.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed one week in this hotel and had a very relaxing time with our families.
The rooms were clean, although the cleaning could be better (like exchange towels every day and swiping the floor).
The food was nice and hot, always fish, meat and chicken on the buffet.
Snorkelling very easily accessible and the resort has very good location in the Coraya bay so even if it's windy you can still swim and snorkel in the sea.
Three differrent pools and the baby pool in shadow all day.

Room Tip: We loved staying at ground floor and could easily walk in and out into our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We normally go to sharm el shiekh but we thought we would try somewhere different. we were not disappointed at all. This hotel has lovely friendly staff, rooms kept well and clean, nice spacious bathroom and comfortable beds. The main restaurant does get busy but the food was good (and hot). Drinks are good measures and the cocktails were nice too, not too strong as previously experienced in Sharm. a big thank you to Sayed in Reception, he arranged our taxi transfers to and from the airport. Also a big thank you to Waleed who works in the pool bar, he works really hard to please everyone and was very friendly and polite.I had a facial, pedicure and manicure in the beauty salon at the front of the hotel which was good, took 2 hours and was very relaxing. Would recommend this hotel to families too as the animation team are first class, getting everyone involved if they wanted to. I can still hear Alex saying 'Aqua Arobics' as he walked round the pool area. one way to burn off the extra calories. The shows they put on in the evening where quite entertaining. Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms 2145 and 2146 are on ground floor and are family rooms with seperate sleeping area and are ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AuroraDJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel fell short of 5 star expectations - been to many 5 star resorts/hotel - this one clean but basic. Friendly hard working staff though.
Main problem - half term. Absolutely bursting at the seams - one main restaurant only - couldn't cope with the demand. Stampede for cold undercooked food in the guise of peking duck, lasagne and chips! No local food on offer - may as well have gone to Butlins. Extremely disappointing.
Day 3 - whole family explosive diarrhoea - no in fact, I would estimate half the hotel had explosive diarrhoea. Sprayed up the walls in the toilets, not cleaned until next day often - get this - kids went down the slide at the water park which is part of the resort complex shared with the Coraya hotel - only to be met with diarrhoea all the way down the slide!!!!! They just wiped it down and carried on - hideous and totally unacceptable - the whole water park should have been closed down and the pools emptied.
I know Egypt is known for tummy upsets - but at the end of the day you don't expect to get poisoned at a 5 star hotel.

Also, usual problem with these types of resorts - you've paid for air conditioning, but you don't actually get it - centrally controlled at a cool 30 degrees,so you sweat all night in the warm air that's being blown around a 2 square foot room that contains 4 people - couldn't open door as had open balcony on ground floor. Great.
Then to cap it all, they ran out of tonic, much to my husband's dismay - he had to wait 4 days for it to come from Cairo before he could get a G and T.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have been visiting various parts of Egypt for our holidays over the past 15years and this is now our favourite hotel.We travelled with Thomson and Marsa Alam airport was most efficient and we whizzed through the visa stage and collected our luggage straight away,We arrived at the hotel,had a welcome drink and we were in our rooms within an hour of getting off the plane!
The rooms were very clean and spacious and had a kettle for tea and coffee so we were able to enjoy an early morning coffee on our balcony each day!
The food selection and quality were amazing at each meal.Many thanks to Ahmed El Esawg(im not sure i spelt his name correctly!) who very kindly looked after my husband, who eats a restricted diet, and who made sure there was always something for him to eat and made him a choice of his favourite soup every day.
The beach was clean and there was plenty of room between each windbreak.Swimming and snorkelling was brilliant.
Our rep,first, Hashem, was friendly and not pushy at all and came to chat to us every evening.There was a changeover of reps during our stay and we went on the fabulous dolphin trip with Kay
who again,was very friendly and chatty.
The only negative point in our whole holiday was that the hotel ran out of tonic water and we were without for two days-gin and soda in the evening just wasnt the same!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,932 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
548 reviews
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#10 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Lamaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Lamaya Resort

Address: P.O. Box 5, Gorayfat Bay, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Lamaya Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $112 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Lamaya Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 389
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Jaz Lamaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Lamaya Hotel Marsa Alam
Iberotel Lamaya Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing