We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jaz Solaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jaz Solaya
Ranked #2 of 72 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2010

Just returned from the Sol y Mar went with husband a 2 friends had a great time hotel nice only a year old, food fantastic, the staff really helpful and wanted you to have a nice holiday, swimming pool heated like getting into a bath looovely

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthWalesTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    297
    66
    17
    8
See reviews for
451
456
24
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2008

The hotel in general is very ok. Some points however to think about:
More then half the people is Italian, with Russians as good second. The animation team totally ignores anybody who is not italian. In fact, you are not even allowed to put your comment in the 'Boxi Commenti' unless you can do it in italian!!!!!! So with children (if they do not speak and look italian): Don't Go There!!! Also the food is infested by pasta in any thinkable form. The 'normal food' can be found in the 'bambini'-corner...
Although the service is very ok, the rooms are ok and clean, it's not exactly in the center of the world. Around 200 km's to the nearest airport (not counting the unused 'Marsa Alam International Airport). We won't be there again...

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank CarmenBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

Stayed at the Sol y Mar 3 times and we are very impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is good and there is always lots of choice. The clientele are mainly Italian and there are very few English The diving is excellent and the Coraya Divers are a very professional outfit. There are lots of dives to suit different abilities and tastes. If you are not a diver the snorkling is very good.

  • Liked — Cleanliness friendliness and good standard of accomodation
  • Disliked — Shortage of other English tourists
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbsLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2008

We were looking for a relaxing holiday and thats exactly what we got. Beautiful hotel, the rooms were lovely. The sea, the snorkling and the fish, wow is all I can say! Yes the entertainment and kids club is aimed towards the Italians, but I enjoy spending time with my daughter on holiday and found plenty of things to do. The staff were lovely and very helpful. I am sure there are hotels and regions with more to do and see, but we loved this hotel and are definitely thinking of going back. There is also the advantage that Marsa Alam airport is only 10 minutes away by taxi and no we didn't see any airoplanes from the hotel. NOTE, holiday firm wanted £290 for transfers to hotel for 4 people, we arranged after landing with taxi's outside and only cost £88, still alot when you realise how close the hotel is, but a lot cheaper than the travel company. Enjoy.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayhappyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

Hotel and grounds are beautiful, very clean everywhere (poolside toilets cleaner than most upmarket hotel loo's). The staff are very friendly and helpfull, they seem to like the English! As mentioned in other reviews there really is nothing outside the 3 hotels around the bay, you can wander around the other hotels and see their entertainment or use their facillites but you cant have anything to eat or drink there, so we didn't go further than their shops. The food was very nice always something you could try and plenty of it. Poolside snack bar was popular with my 4 daughters, always serving pizza, pasta, & one other snack.
You must take snorkeling equipment (or buy it there, but be prepared to haggle for every thing!) as the fish and coral are so amazing, and you can enter the sea from the beach just standing knee deep in water you can all sorts of fish we saw several sting rays with blue spots on its so clear.
The down side was the animation team & all entertainment was Italian, which made joining in any activity difficult, they were all very friendly just could'nt speak english, also if you have young children the kids club is out as they also didn't speak english although the hotel managment were very good & offered to show us to the area and said we could stay with our youngest this defeated the object as all the children were also Italian.
A previous review said the split was about 70 / 30 but in reality there were just 16 English the first week & 14 the second week and 8 of those were children! Not quite 70/30 split, more 95 / 5 !
We had a great time and would love to go back but if you want lots of entertainment and cant speak Italian this ones proberly not for you!

  • Liked — cleanliness & views
  • Disliked — noisey Italians going to bed late at night
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank m_m_kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
19.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#6 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#5 of 72 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
5.9 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Solaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Solaya

Property: Jaz Solaya
Address: Al Quseir Road, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#11 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Solaya 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Jaz Solaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Solaya Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing