We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run for Divers”
Review of The Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Oasis
Ranked #35 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is the best run dive centre I've had the pleasure to stay at in my 20 years of diving! The resort is quiet, no screaming kids, no disco - perfect. It consists of 49 individual chalets, built like a local village, the whole ambiance was relaxed and peaceful. The staff were friendly & helpful, the food good & the diving great. The diving operation was extremely well organised, the briefings very good; also after the check dive experienced divers were able to dive unguided with max dive times of 75 mins/dive if they wanted to. Guided dives were 60 mins or so, depending on everyone's air consumption. The house reef was open from 6am until 8pm, max dive time here is 120 mins. Saw turtles on nearly every dive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudia W, Verkaufsleiter at The Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Sally,

Thank you for your great and wonderful feedback. We are really glad to have you had in our resort. We hope to see you soon.

Take care!

Sincerely yours
The Oasis team reservation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 144 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Everything was perfect for our dive holidays! After a stay in one of the big resorts in Marsa Alam we found our oasis! Nice bungalow, good food, personal service and super diving! On top an interesting trip through Wadi Gemal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IlseT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Beautiful location, very quiet and relaxed atmosphere. No screaming children, no mindless tourists, everything is centered around a well-run diving operation with excellent guides. Elphinstone reef alone is worth the visit.
Restaurant is great, rooms are individual chalets built like a little village, aside from the swimming pool and the massage, it's all about the diving. The way the place is set up though you meet practically everyone after one or two days, and end up doing dives and having dinner together. Even if you come on your own, it is hard not to meet people here.
A true oasis in the desert !!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dezzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We, 4 adults, spent a week diving. The diving, thru Werner Lau and Sinai Divers, was worldclass. And the hotel was faultless, great service, food, austere beauty of landscape, very friendly and professional. My one and only question is : "where are the women"? The entire staff is male, I did not see one single female Egyptian...
We hope to come back to the Oasis again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atck4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

"The oasis" is a very special resort. It isn't a ordinary hotel in tourist beaches areas. The structure is characteristic and essential.
It's a very quiet place, without animation. All very relaxing and quiet.
Perfect atmosphere, but sometimes too silent and motionless.
Beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus67D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This place is fantastic! Both the hotel and the dive center are well run (the latter with German efficiency, for better or for worse). The house reef is nice. The food is excellent. The deluxe chalets are spaced in a way that you feel as though you are staying in an isolated house, all by yourself. Ignore the criticism about the location, unless your idea of a vacation is loud pop music, screaming children and myriad "activities" for the tasteless hordes. Although the prices have gone up since we were here in August, 2011, it is easy to see why! Don't miss the massage. I actually fell asleep it was so relaxing!

Room Tip: The deluxe room all the way at the top is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you come to dive, this is a really good place. The chalets are nice and clean, the restaurant is good, and staff are friendly. There is not much to do if you want to do anything besides diving (which we didn't), and for example the pool is quite far from the rooms and the hotel. The diving operation is excellent, very well organized (German ;-) and with skilled and friendly instructors. Nitrox is free. We came here with someone who did the open water course and someone doing advance, and for them it was also very good. As more experienced divers, even we learned something new, and at the same time were allowed to go diving by ourselves when possible. Only minus here is the house reef. If you are really into making many house reef dives, you may want to opt for something less dead/more interesting. The other disadvantage: the holiday as a whole cost us about double it usually does. You do get value for it, but it is on the expensive side...

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
3.6 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,310 reviews
26 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,877 reviews
25.6 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,606 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
5.7 mi away
Abu Dabbab Lodge
Abu Dabbab Lodge
#38 of 68 in Marsa Alam
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oasis

Address: Kilometer 20 El Quesir Road, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#31 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $69 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oasis 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Oasis Hotel Marsa Alam
Oasis Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing