We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
England
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We stayed here from 22nd - 29th September 2010. We requested a room on the highest floor with a sea view (just emailed the hotel prior to stay) and we received one. The room was spacious, clean and had lovely decor. The balcony was large as was the bed. We liked the pillow menu so you could select the softness of pillow you would like for your stay. The room boy was very good with a different towel sculpture every day as well as little gifts on a couple of days.

The hotel itself is immaculate with people always sweeping and tidying up. The pool area is very clean and safe and has something for everyone from the pool bar for the adults to the shallow kids pool. The hotel is very nicely decorated with fountains, pretty flowers and a tasteful layout. The service in the restaurant is very good and if you befriend some of the waiters they will go that little bit further for you. All the staff are friendly but don't appear to be doing this just for a tip, it seems like they genuinally want to make you happy.

The food in the resturant is good, not great, but when you consider how many people are being catered for they are doing a good job. You will always find something to eat and there is a wide selection. If you stay AI you get one free meal at the A La Carte restaurant, I highly recommend this.

There is evening entertainmant every night in the amphitheatre or if you prefer you can sit out around the pool with some music (the singer is terrible, but it was sort of entertaining in a way). The entertainment isn't in your face and has quite a laid back feel.

I would say this hotel is definately more suited for adults, whilst they cater for children, I could imagine that children between the ages of 2 - 18 could get quite bored as the hotel is more suited for relaxed holidays, which is just what we were after.

The snorkelling is good, but can get a little cloudy in the afternoon, so it's best to go in the morning. There is always room on the beach so you don't have to rush early to find a sunlounger. I would additionally recommend the snorkelling trip to Abu Dabbab which is excellent. There is a guy on the beach that will sort this out for you. I would also recommend the quad biking which the Thomson rep can arrange for you. The diving at Coraya divers is good also.

I would advise that you go and find the pharmacy on day one over the other side of the bay to pick up some stomach tablets. We had a bad stomach for a couple of days while there (not blaming the hotel, it's just quite common to get one in Egypt). As long as you are drugged up, so to speak, you can carry on as normal. Beware that Immodium doesn't work on this stomach bug, hence why you should go get some of the local stuff.

All in all this holiday had everything for a relaxing holiday with a few excursions thrown in. If you are after a more active holiday, then perhaps this place isn't for you, but if you just want to get away from it all, it's perfect. We were very sad to leave.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lozzyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,699
    603
    122
    25
    8
See reviews for
410
2,386
151
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We have just spent 14 nights at the Coraya, returning on 7th October, and had a very mixed view of the hotel. We are regular visitors to Egypt and chose Marsa for the diving so expected the area to be very quiet, which it was. If you don’t want quiet and isolated then Marsa Alam itself is not for you!
As others have stated the rooms are beginning to show their age now, especially the bathrooms, ours was dated and although not dirty was definitely in need of updating as the sanitary ware had the appearance of being well used and dirty (although it was clean).
The staff at the hotel are generally friendly and very very helpful. The room cleaner couldn’t do enough for us but in the restaurant we found that it was best to order drinks and wait for them before collecting any food as they took so long to deliver at times that we had almost finished our meal before the drinks actually arrived.
Neither myself or my wife have had problems with tummy bugs in Egypt prior to this holiday but on this occasion both of us had problems with diarrhoea. Neither of us had any sign of vomiting and we didn’t see anyone at all with problems with vomiting as other people have alluded to. While we were at the airport ready to leave it was obvious that other people had also had problems with tummy bugs (including the complex across the bay). We didn’t hear the generators and although our room was not too far from the pool we weren’t disturbed by the entertainment at all, although the resident “vocalist” would have made an excellent contestant for X factors worst auditionist.

Food was generally Ok with plenty of choice apart from a couple of nights when there seemed to be a definite lack for some reason.
The snorkelling in the bay is pretty good but visibility gets quite poor due to the sandy beach. It’s not too difficult to swim across to the other reef off the Lamaya either. I would definitely say that the Coraya has the best location as you just walk into the bay to snorkel from the Coraya.
As I said we went for the diving which was brilliant but the edge has been taken off the holiday by the hotel standard and the illness.
Would we use the Coraya again? I’m not too sure really but I do know I also heard awful things about food at some of the other hotels in the area so probably not choose to go to that area again anyway.
As far as the Coraya is concerned I would rate it somewhere around 4 stars on Egyptian standards as we’ve stayed in a number of hotels that are far superior.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancslad_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have just returned from the coraya bay having had a very relaxing weeks holiday there. We are so glad we picked this hotel because its 5 mins from the airport, right on the beach and it certainly deserves its 5 star status. The rooms are kept clean to a high standard and all have good size balconies. The staff are the freindliest we have ever come across and we would def return there. It tends to be a 'german' choice of hotel so if you can ignore the fact that they are up at daybreak claiming sun lougers etc with their towels then id say book this hotel

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle Hulme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have just returned from the Coraya Beach and this hotel is highly recommended, we are very fussy travellers and research any hotel before we book, PLEASE ignore any bads reviews on this hotel. Yes the hotel in parts is showing signs of wear and tear but the hotel is now approx seven years old. The service from every member of staff is second to none they cannot do enough for you, they do not expect tips as they are there at your service, one of the staff told us we are here for you. Just tip at the end in the individual tips boxes as this gets split right across the board even to the people behind the scenes (laundry etc). We used the laundry service which was free and very good, delivered back the same day. Had a massage at the spa which again was excellent. Would definately recommend and go back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We had a very bad experience at this hotel and despite our five visits we would never return.
We are in our 50s and up for a laugh but when the shop owners on complex are sex pest its a nightmare to go to the shops.
My partner was assaulted by one of these shop workers.

He still works there and was only suspended during our stay.So beaware.
Thompsons and the management of the hotel were a complete waste of Time.
They offered another hotel but we would have to pay another 500.00 uk pounds each to move.
The hotel gave us a free ala carte meal as compensation.
As we could not afford any more money on the hotel we stayed mostly in our room.
We requested going home early and yet again that could not be done with out an additional charge.

A sexual assault was treated as if we had lost a slipper. Thank you THOMPSON/TUI GROUP..

oTHER Bad THINGSe of this location is noise.
The generaters for the bay area are less than 200m away from the hotel so you have to live with the constant drone of diesel engines all night.,
Air conditioning rattles and hums in every room.
If you get a room near the pool there is no escape from the entertainment/// Noise.
The singer is a waste of time.

Whilst we where there we noticed that the hotel really caters for germans and italians. So if you are british the food choise is poor.

Food very bland.
Every one we spoke to had projectile vomiting and hurendiouse diohrea for 2 to 3 days more time in your room.

The rooms are ok.
The waiters are great.

But for the money this is a very poor example of a three star hotel yet they claim its a five star.
This is the best hotel at marsa alam but the whole resort is very poor you are traped in the hotel for the duration of your holliday.

There is no escape route we tried.
Ps beech is great and the bay is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

just back from this brill hotel we loved getting our washing done by hotel food good fillet steak in al carte service excellent booking for next year great to see general manager talking to guest each day snorking good

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveholsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

They are renovating the rooms. We had an old apartment. But for 10 years old they were in good shape. Try to get a room in the lower floors as the air condition is quite loud on the roof and it can get very hot in the top apartments.
Food was very tasteful. No problems with the stomach. They even made a tour for visitors to the hotel kitchen. As an medical educated person I can tell you they have very high hygienically standards.
The jewel of the complex is the beach with its reef! One day I was 6 hours in the water snorkeling!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin091274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,497 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
435 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#9 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,218 reviews
6.2 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing