We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil oasis with high standards and superb service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed June 2, 2009

Marsa Alam airport is modern and smart, clean toilets, Costa coffee shop, pizza place etc. A private airport where you are not allowed to stay for more than 2 hours, so if you are unfortunate to get a delay for more than that, at least you know you will be kept at the hotel with all facilities available. Visa card needs to be completed on entry and exit and you also have to pay £13 (approx) each when you arrive. Hotel transfer approx 10 mins in minibus.
This was our 3rd trip to Egypt but our 1st time in Marsa Alam and we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone but when I say "tranquil" that is exactly what I mean - apart from the amateurish evening entertainment, the only music you will hear during the day is at lunchtime in the swim up pool where they do aqua fit.
As usual, before we go anywhere I thorougly investigate our destination and I can safely say that everything (bar 1) I have read on Tripadvisor was true.
On arrival we were welcomed with a cocktail and warm towels to freshen up with. When we got into our room there was a bottle of wine, bowl of fruit and box of chocs waiting - just a taste of the kind of service you get every day !
The hotel facilities are fab, rooms are a good size (bathroom a little "tired") very clean, super, friendly and attentive staff (even the gardeners). Managers are forever on the lookout for shoddy work and unhappy hollidaymakers as they are desperate to please.
Our room was 2315 and overlooked a garden area at the back of the pool - the hotel was only about 40% full so most areas were very quiet.
Included in the price for all inclusive is a free 30 minute massage, 15 minutes internet access per day and all your laundry washed and ironed which was a big bonus - we didn't bring any dirty washing home!
Our main disappointment was that you only get 1 free meal per stay in the a la carte restaurant (Fayruz) and after that you have to pay - I believe the fish menu can cost up to 40 euros!
Lots of Italians, a few Germans and even less Russians but virtually all European countries seem to go here on holiday.
Out of 12 people on our transfer minibus, 8 people were returning for a 2nd or 3rd time - what more can I say ??
Hopefully, we will be joining them and returning very soon.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dikkosden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,096 - 2,102 of 3,794 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2009

did quite extensive research for my first trip to Egypt - worried about stomach troubles, too many Russians, security but all this vanished after arrival at the Coraya. Supermodern and nice airport, no crowds at all, 10 min transfer to hotel, first impression very good, nice architecture - Prince Charles would approve! - well organised reception, room very nice (1718) with sea view - gardens spotless, lovely beach - not supersoft sand but sufficient, corals guarded very well so there is very good snorkeling right on the beach, nice walkway around bay to other hotels which looked nice as well though Coraya is a notch better, food was more than sufficient, there is always something nice to find, excursion once to watch sea turtles, book at watersport kiosk on beach, very nice people, for serious divers there is the bustling dive center on the other side of the beach, good mix of guests fine, Italian, German/Austrian/Swiss, British some French speaker, Russians, entertainment bit amateurish, should not be too difficult to improve, they just would have to copy routines from the experts (Club Med etc, hotel manager should buy them a few videos), , fitness gym and sauna in very good condition, Massage excellent, even value if you pay

Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank helg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

I had chosen this hotel very carefully having read many good reviews over many months and therefore I did expect it to be really good. I was not disapointed. We had never gone for AI before but I am glad we did absolutely everything you could imagine was included and therefore we knew there would be no big bill at the end of our holiday. The laundry service was amazing I have never seen my clothes ironed so well !

The staff were so helpful and friendly and we did not tip until the end of our holiday therefore I felt their good service and wishes for us to have a good day everyday were genuine... even the gardeners were full of smiles and best wishes.

I am a vegetarian and at times I was not sure if certain salad dishes were fully vegetarian although the chefs on hand were able to reassure me sometimes one would say there was no fish or meat in a dish and another would say there was and on those occassions I just did'nt put any on my plate (there were plenty more salads for me to choose from) It would be great if they could think about clearly labeling the food as to whether it is vege or not but to be honest there was so much choice it did'nt really matter.

We did the trip to Aswan and Abu Simbel and I have got to say this was a fantastic trip although a very long one on a coach everyone from the drivers to our guide were wonderful company and my husband and I both enjoyed this trip very much. My only complaint was about the hotel in Aswan compared with the Coraya it was pretty awful actually and I do think this should be looked as our room was pretty bleak to say the least but we were only there over night and it was a 3.30am start the next day We certainly appreciated the lovely Coraya Beach Hotel so much more when we returned to it if that were possible.

We have never returned to the same holiday resort before as there is so much out there to see and experience but I can honestly say I would love to return here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank broganLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We always conduct a lot of research before booking a hotel and were surprised when we couldn't find a single poor review for this hotel. All inclusive holidays are not my preference but we wanted a simple week of sunshine and the reviews were so good that we went for it. Our only regret is that we didn't book 2 weeks.
The hotel and gardens are beautiful. The style is 'Moorish' with lots of lovely mosaics, flower filled fountains, use of arches and lanterns etc. which are very atmospheric. The attention to detail through touches like the antique chandeliers and reclaimed doors and floors really put it in a class above that of the standard holiday resort.
The hotel was spotless; service flawless & friendly; good food & drinks (served with proper linen & glasses, plenty for vegetarians); hotel entertainment which is normally naff actually had some really good, authentic performances; house reef pretty good - if it had been any better it probably would have been a bit too intimidating for 'ordinary' holiday-makers.
We would have no hesitation in returning or recommending it to anyone looking for a tranquil and stylish sunshine get-away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fussyvegetarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Excellent resort. I would strongly recommend it to those looking for peace and relaxation in a quality environment. People looking for a lot of action and organised entertainment should rather look somewhere else.

Pros
+ beautiful hotel, clean, well kept and managed very professionally
+ hotel located on a bay fairly protected from wind. This is very important since it means that swimming in the sea is always possible (unlike many other resorts in windy marsa alam);
+ staff very efficient, friendly and polite. No harrassment whatsoever to guests to buy things, for tips, or activities,
good quality food (compared to other buffet like restaurants in similar locations)
+ 10 minutes from airport, which reduces transfers time and hassle
+ large and quiet beach

Cons
- the reef which can be accessed from the beach is OK but not as spectacular as in other red sea locations. This is the price to pay for the location on a semi-closed bay and the above-mentioned advantages in terms of access to the sea and protection from the wind. However, well known diving/snorkeling sites of abu dabab and marsa shoona are respectively 30 and 20 minutes away and the hotel organises trips there.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jorgio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

22nd-29th April 09
We arrived at Marsa Alam after a 5hr flight from Gatwick. We got the visa at the airport (required in this area of Egypt) and paid for it on the bus. Quickly through immigration and bags were through by the time we had done the visa and immigration bit. A 15 minute bus journey to the hotel. We were greeted at the hotel reception with a cocktail and hot towel to freshen up. Bags are taken off the coach and left outside (you get a ticket at check in to attach to your cases then they are taken to your room). We were given a quick 5 minute tour of bar and restaurants and a quick briefing of what’s included in the All Inclusive (a must) then shown to our room.
You don’t need to take any Egyptian money as everything is priced in Euro’s and GBP. Its hard to get low value notes for tips so easier to take a fist full of pound coins and GBP notes. If you do want to use Egyptian money, change it in the hotel as they give a much better rate than here in the UK (7.5LE to 1 GBP in UK compared to 8.5LE to 1 GBP in hotel April 09).
The grounds are exceptionally well maintained and kept to a very high standard; the gardeners work very hard and are very friendly (as are all the staff).
Our room was very clean, We had a fridge with cold soft drinks and water which were replaced daily, tea and coffee making facilities, a bowl of fruit, a bottle of wine and a plate of chocolates and dried fruit waiting for you in your room, and we had wonderful views that looked out onto the gardens and the view of the sea and sands (upgrade), what more could we ask for. Mohammed came and cleaned our room everyday supplied us with clean towels that were made into a different sculpture each day, We had clean beach towels bought to our room in the evening with little boxes of mints. We also took advantage of the laundry service (free with All inclusive) which was washing and ironing to a very high standard and returned the same day(definitely made it a lot easier when we arrived home, with having hardly any washing to do).
The all inclusive restaurant catered for every man, woman and child, it had such a variety of dishes that were made to a very high standard, If you did not want anything from the dishes available you could always have a pasta dish made to your liking, there was always something being cooked on the barbecue, either fresh fish or chicken. There was a big joint of veal, lamb or other meat available. The cakes looked divine and were exactly that. The choice and quality of the food was exceptional.
We had a meal in the Al A Carte restaurant (which you had one free night included in the all inclusive offer ),which was very nice, apart from having the food delivered to your table this was not a scratch on the all inclusive restaurant.
The pools were very good and the pool bar was an added touch, you could sit in the water on one side or at tables round the other side, Drinks and snacks available throughout the day,
Down at the beach they had parasol, and windbreaks and the beach guys getting your drinks for you while you soaked up the sun,(Bliss) The snorkelling was excellent round the bay, seeing some amazing fish.
We did the three island trip, and i can fully recommend it , we did snorkelling and we got to see the Ospreys nesting on one of the islands, The team behind this trip made every effort to make your day very memorable, Which i will never forget. We did buy the dvd of the day which was very good but a little over priced at 30GBP
Finally this fantastic holiday enabled us to meet some fantastic people, Michael and Pat you were amazing, more energy than most people half your age, You were a constant source of information and your experiences opened our eyes to a much bigger world. Thank you
Jo and Sandra you were magical, we laughed with tears streaming down our face, you made our holiday a lot more enjoyable you were such good fun to be around don’t change because it keeps you young. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank the2UKtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2009

We stayed at the Coraya Beach for a week with our three young children aged 5, 2, and 9 months. Overall we had a very good experience and would recommend the hotel.
We were initially given a ground floor family room which would give us no privacy from other guests and they happily moved us to a second floor room the following day with a partial sea view we had not paid for. Although we noticed that a bit more time could be spent on room cleaning, our family room was comfortable, airy, very spacious and could easily fit all of us.
Morning and evening buffet food was very adequate - if not as good as described by other guests - with lots of meat/fish/vegetable choice and some delicious desserts. The waiting staff was extremely helpful and polite and showed their appreciation when tipped.
The swimming pools are very clean and the heated pool was a real favourite with our kids for those early morning dips.
The beach area is quite nice, with fine sand and the water is easily accessible and stays shallow inside the bay; it is definitely worth snorkelling in the house reef. Because of its position within the bay, we found that we could happily stay at the beach on windy days, which was not the case during previous trips to El Gouna and Taba Heights. There's also a very nice playground just behind the beach area, which meant that our kids could go and play there on their own while we sunbathed. The kids club is also quite well organised and they will happily let you stay there to do some painting with your kids while they are out and about doing other activities with older children.
Our main reason for choosing the Coraya Beach was its proximity to Coraya Divers, which offers a vast choice of short dive trips (as opposed to being away on a boat all day as it is the case if you dive at El Gouna or Taba). The dive centre is extremely well organised and well run and offers an incredible number of dive choices (including night dives every second day, early morning dives twice a week, etc.). Although not spectacular, some dive sites were beautiful, with lots of marine life and corals.
A half-day snorkelling trip to Abu Dabab is highly recommended: although it can get very windy and the facilities are run down (and the elusive dugong was nowhere to be seen on the day we went), the sea is beautiful (with great visibility) and the bay is full of very large turtles feeding on grass.
P.S. the Coraya Beach will charge you 15euros per head for a taxi from Marsa Alam airport to the hotel, but we organised a taxi on our own for 15euros all together.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,299 reviews
28 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#15 of 68 in Marsa Alam
609 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Address: Marsa Alam Road km 67 | Madinat Coraya, Quessir, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $115 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the fascinating shores of Coraya Bay, just 4 km away from Marsa Alam International Airport and 219 km from Hurghada, lies the five star Steigenberger Coraya Beach, the first resort of the German Steigenberger Hotels and Resorts in Marsa Alam. A holiday for two at the five stars adults only Steigenberger Coraya Beach is a real paradise for all your senses! With its original Nubian style and 800 meters long sandy beach, the resort enjoys a unique blend of both southern Egypt and the Red Sea notes and flavors. To add an extra notch, the 364 rooms are built in groups of bungalows, with a spectacular sea, pool and garden view, prepared to host you with their elegant furniture and comfortable facilities. Steigenberger Coraya Beach has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with its "Pharaoh Club" dining concept to pour you a sonata of love, in addition to “Dar El Hawa” coffee shop that gives you a fun experience with our Arabian water pipes (shisha). Fun never sleeps, with an endless assortment of recreational activities including the exhilarating water slides at the leading attraction of the entire region “Aqua Coraya,” taking you to a whole new world of excitement and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing