We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time even better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Second time even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from our second visit at this hotel and already looking to rebook for next year!
Didn't think they could of improved on last year as it was amazing but they had made it even better.Staff were all amazing remembered what you drank after 1st day,entertainment team were so friendly would never pass without speaking even though we never got involved in any activities.as everyone else says Thomsons rep is brilliant and even got up on stage and sang to everyone before we left.Did feel really sad for the lady singer though because after so many complains about her singing,they replaced her.Just can't wait to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank carribeanloverWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,445
    558
    117
    22
    8
See reviews for
372
2,166
137
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have just got from a excellent 2 weeks at this hotel, everyone was so helpful & friendly, nothing was too much trouble, Mahmoud (the Thomson Rep) was excellent, All the Mangement Team & Staff always checking everything was ok for us, the food & cleanliness was superb. The snorkelling was great. The animation team were great fun, we are planing to go back next year. I highly recommend this hotel & if you have a family the sister hotel which was within a short walk, was also recommended by the people we met who stayed there, something for everyone.

Room Tip: We had room 1875 & it had the best of both worlds one side you could see the sea & from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks from the 25th June with a group of 7 others. This is our second visit, last year we visited as a group of 10. The hotel is great and the staff are excellent (as they were last year). It was my birthday during the holiday and a lot of effort was made by the staff to make it special, from decorating my room to singing happy birthday at dinner. The only let down of the holiday, and the reason we won't be returning next year, was the evening entertainment. Last year Khalil created a great atmosphere and we looked forward to the evening entertainment. However, this year the singer wasn't entertaining at all and often sung the same songs every night. There was no atmosphere at all and as a group, we found ourselves getting bored and returning to our rooms by 9:30. Many nights I went back to my room straight after dinner. The animation team did work hard to entertain guests, but I feel that the singer lets this hotel down hugely. Bring Khalil back! We couldn't stand to listen to another night of this boring, dull singing! This is the sole reason that we will not be returning next year, which is a shame as last year we had an amazing time every night and couldn't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for a week and definitely didn't want to come home.

The staff were amazing from the minute we got there (hotel management greeting you as you arrived) to the minute we left (hotel management thanking you personally as you got on the coach and as many staff as they could waving you off!)

The resort is set out in various blocks based around the main amenities such as the pools, Shisha Bar, and the sea front. Each block varied slightly - we requested a sea view and couldn't have asked for more - straight out over the ocean!

Snorkeling/Beach - we tended to head out for a snorkel first thing each day before it got too busy (by busy I mean about 10-20 other people out there on a massive reef!). If the tide was changing it was better to head across the bay (about a 5 min swim or 20 mins if like me you get distracted and start to follow a fish!). Across the bay it was clearer a lot of the time but both sides had some great sealife on show. We swam with the turtle, saw cuttlefish, puffer fish, Picasso trigger fish etc etc. There were jelly fish a couple of days but they're not ones that bother us humans so it's all good to get out there still. Plus if there were jelly fish the turtle was more active!!!

Room boy (Mamood) was great - kept the room very clean with cool little towel displays each day. They come round in the mornings once you're off at the pool or beach then pop back in the evening to swap your beach towels if you want. Great service and he often brought us little pressies too!!!

Bar/Pool/Beach Bar staff were fantastic throughout the day and evening. During the day they wander along and make sure you have a drink (plenty of water is needed!) then in the evening they're the same guys serving you drinks on the terrace, up in the Zuzu Bar. They're all super friendly and love having a chat with you - we mainly had Ramadan looking after us and also Saber.

Restaurants - yes it's a buffet and some people complained about the choice/quality but me personally - I was quite impressed that for the number of guests they were catering for that the food was as good as it was. Friday's BBQ night - make sure you try the kofta's (super yummy!), they also did the yummiest roast lamb one evening too! Make sure you take advantage of the A la Carte option in Fayrouz - the steak was huge and very tasty - once we found this bit we did stop down there for lunch a couple of days - it's not on the all inclusive for lunch but at around a fiver for a steak sandwich it's not to be missed.

Animation team - they were great, stopping by just to chat not to rope you into stuff but genuinely check you were all good and happy. If you wanted to join in you could but no pressure! Yo yo yo was very amusing (we didn't take part in the aqua but it looked fun!)

Thomson rep - well what can you say about Mahmooooood other than he is a great asset to both the hotel and Thomson. He was very friendly, helpful and honest. We didn't need to approach him about anything at all but got the feeling if you did need something he'd do whatever he could to help. He sent us a cool little card to say happy anniversary and also popped over to chat whenever he was around the resort.

All in all a great stay for our 10th wedding anniversary and already talking the hubster into heading back next year - two weeks if I can twist his arm :-)

Room Tip: Book the standard option through the travel company and approach the hotel direct about upgrades and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

My girlfriend and I returned today after spending one week at this lovely hotel.

The hotel is very pretty, well designed large layout with comfortable seating in all areas such as the bars and terraces. We stayed in room 2111 which was absolutely perfect as it was a first floor room with balcony facing the main pool area but sheltered by both a slight distance and some very well maintained hedgerows and flower beds, basically not an open concrete site as one might find in somewhere like Spain/Portugal etc. We particularly enjoyed the strawberries.
Gardeners were constantly tending to these flower beds etc and it showed how much attention to detail was paid to these areas.

The layout of the accomodation is architecturally very interesting, pathways lead off towards the sea or bring you through and round other hidden areas with perfectly maintained lawns.

There are two main pools, the one by our room was the largest with the most sunloungers, well landscaped with a pool bar feature.

The beach is extremely long and goes round in a curve shape towards the other side of the bay, its about three tiers deep of sheltered sun loungers, the sea is unbelievably warm down to around 10 foott of water!!! The best place to snorkel to see the corals and sea life is to swim across to the other side of the bay ( where the other hotels are situated ) only about 200 metres but the visibility on that side is so much clearer, maybe the way the tide comes in and sweeps up the sand on the Corayas side?

The hotel has its own entertainment team and before you think oh no! they were just so great,so friendly,not looking to bother you into joining in for things, they were just so polite.
The best thing about these guys was that there were only about four of them, very low key as the whole hotel experience was, but lead by one of the nicest, funniest characters you will ever meet who is Egyptian and goes by the name of 'Mambo Number 5', 'Yo,Yo,Yo,Yo,Yo,Yo'!! ( Long story but when you meet him you will see how fun he is ).
A truly talented chap but also ably matched by the girls who worked with him especially our friend from Torquay...

Another true character of the week was our Thompson rep Mahmoud...( thankyou for finding our wallet, long story! ) An incredibly great guy, his duet on stage last night as all of us were waiting for our pickup was totally unplanned and spontaneous, it just went to show how good the people are that this company employs but ultimately how people like Mahmoud should be promoted....

The staff are so friendly and helpful and I cant sing their praises enough, they were a credit to the hotel.

Personally I would go back tomorrow....:)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 487Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Best holiday I've been on.
Staff were amazing always making sure you had everything you need and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Animation team were great especially Tommy and Mambo. Hotel was always kept very clean and tidy, rooms were cleaned daily with towel art. Location was nice away from a lot of tourists, beach was lovely with sunbeds provided.
Would deferentially recommend this holiday to anyone.
Only downfall was that we were delayed by an hour going out and by 20 mins coming bk.

Room Tip: We stayed in 18 block which over looked the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We returned from the Coraya Beach last week having spent 1 week there. The hotel is very nice, with plenty of outdoor seating in the evening, plenty of sun beds during the day and a variety of places to eat and drink so it never felt crowded.

Our room overlooked the main pool and was tastefully decorated. The bed was very comfortable, good size room and bathroom which was all kept spotless by and our room boy Gahrib. We were on the top floor which we preferred for the great views in the evening.

The animation team worked hard, although we didn't really see many of the shows in the evening. We were however unfortunate enough to hear the resident singer who was terrible!

All of the staff work tirelessly to make guests feel comfortable. We never had to wait very long to be served drinks or get seated in the restaurant. The food was very good by all inclusive standards, some of it was repetitive however there was always plenty of choice. As with most buffet style restaurants some of the food could have been hotter.

We ate at the al a carte restaurant and found the steak to be excellent. Also included in the AI package was the opportunity to eat at 2 other al a carte restaurants at the sister hotel (a 10 min walk around the bay). We went to the italian which was the best meal of the holiday, but we got the impression that it is rare for Coraya Beach guests to venture over there for dinner for some reason.

We dived most days and went with Coraya divers who are based in the same bay as the hotel. It was a 5-10 min walk to the dive centre and it meant we could dive the house reef (beautiful) without a guide and avoid having to go out all day on a boat. They also provide a complimentary Zodiac taxi service to drop you onto the North or South side of the house reef. The dive staff on the entry point were very helpful.

Overall we had a great holiday, this was our 10th visit to Egypt and we will be back at some point without doubt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#4 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#16 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#6 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#8 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing