We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for winter sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great venue for winter sun”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a week starting 5th February 2014.

The Good: almost everything.
Firstly, it is adults only, so no kids and therefore largely quiet.
The pleasing architecture and well designed rooms appeal to a more mature clientele, as do the well stocked, beautifully maintained and tranquil gardens.
It is set on a hill overlooking a lovely bay with easy access to two good snorkeling reefs.
All staff bend over backwards to serve and please. The all inclusive package consists of the usual food, snacks and drinks (local alcohol only), plus a few extras like free laundry service, free access to an excellent spa and some meals at la carte restaurants. A welcome touch was provided by the Management staff turning up to the introductory meeting where they said they were available at any time if guests required. The top manager eats in the guests’ restaurant and is very approachable.
The main buffet style restaurant is well set out with lots of choice and speciality cooking stations for pizzas, pasta and the like. Mr Badawy (my spelling), the Sous Chef, is always on hand and proves very helpful indeed if you have special dietary requirements. We are vegans and, once we got the concept across, Mr Badawy could not have been more helpful in guiding us in choosing from the impressive array of vegan options. We also saw him providing the same help for others with their requirements. The Arabic for vegetarian/vegan, by the way, is ‘nabati’.
An evening’s entertainment by a Bedouin dance troupe was truly amazing, including a gifted belly dancer and a wonderful ‘Whirling Dervish’ style act which seemed at times to defy the laws of physics.
If you need to escape the Animation Team’s racket (see below), the Dar el Hawa shisha cafe is the place to go. Run by the idiosyncratic Sameh, you can lounge around drinking ‘ahwa saada (thick, delicate black coffee) to the strains of Egyptian love songs. Thank you, Sameh.
Marsa Alam airport is small, clean, easy-going and a very short drive from the hotel.

The Bad: the Animation Team.
Everything at this hotel is designed to appeal to mature, comfortably-off adults. Our assessment was that the guests pretty much fell into that demographic. The Animation Team, however, is a group of hyperactive twenty-somethings. We heard that they were new to the hotel, this might explain why they were constantly in the guests’ faces, aggressively marketing themselves and their activities. Their entertainment repertoire extends all the way from irritating loud pop music to even more irritating louder pop music. On several occasions we could not escape the 9pm regular event, even in our room with door and windows closed. We complained to Samy, the Thomson rep, who seemed sympathetic and said he’d look into it. Maybe this will improve.
Why couldn’t we have more age-appropriate entertainment? Live traditional instrument playing (eg the oud), perhaps. Genuine Egyptian cultural shows, maybe (the ’Nubian’ dancers on offer were as Nubian as my elbow and, as usual, overlaid with deafening pop music; a far cry from Ali Hassan Kuban). Or, dare I say it, nothing; just the Moon, the stars and the sound of the Red Sea. Who actually wants or needs an animation team? As adults, we are capable of deciding for ourselves whether and how to be animated.

The Ugly: local environmental damage.
Sadly, although the hotel strives to be environmentally responsible and seems to make a good job of it, the local desert is strewn with building rubble, plastic and other rubbish. We walked along and away from the Red Sea. The coast is best for walking but if you try to strike inland you’ll have to go through a minefield of rubbish tips and ugly desecration. Amanda, the hotel rep, warned us not to venture out as she had heard there were stray dogs but we met none and came to no harm.

So.
Did we have a good holiday? Yes.
Would we go again? Yes.
Would we recommend this hotel? Yes.
What were the best things? Hot sun every day, good gentle but varied snorkeling, good food, friendly and helpful staff, overall - a relaxing week in winter sun.
Tips: take warm clothing for late evening in the winter months, take some smart casual clothes (long trousers and long sleeved shirts for men for evening meals), learn a few words of Arabic. Get your visa at the airport bank on arrival (it’s cheaper). English £s can be changed to Egyptian £s at the hotel but not back again and you cannot change money in the airport departure lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PhileasDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,511
    574
    120
    23
    8
See reviews for
379
2,232
144
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We travelled to this resort mid-January 2014 and loved it! The stand-out features of this resort were its cleanliness, lovely surroundings and excellent customer service.

WATCH A VIDEO OF OUR STAY: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lR1PlGZZ9Oc&hd=1

The rooms was of a decent size and immaculately cleaned every day. The view of the sea was nice, but I think a view of the bay would have been nicer.

Food was really good, with a fair amount of choice and a lot was cooked freshly from 'stations' around the buffet area. My wife took advantage of the pancakes and waffles most mornings. I'm kidding - every morning. Staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure everything was okay.

The resort itself was fantastic to walk around. Take a look at the video to see what it's like! Very clean and not dated at all. The pools were nice, although only one was heated and the rest were freezing! The heated pool was lovely though, and you could sit in the water and have a drink at the bar... which we did... numerous times.

The wifi wasn't particularly fast (and only 150mb per room - can get used up pretty quick) but it's not like we did too much browsing anyway.

As we flew from Birmingham to Hurghada we had to travel for 3 hours to get to the hotel. This wasn't so bad. Nice to know if you fly from London then it's just a 10 minute drive.

Would definitely recommend this resort, especially for a winter break. The weather was great, not too hot but just right at 24-28 degrees. Bit colder at night but just pop a long sleeve shirt on! Think the summer heat is a bit of a different story and I expect it would be much busier.

All-in-all: fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dan-Jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Everything that has been written about this hotel being really, really good it so true. Nobody wanted to come home, and I agree about helpfulness of all the staff and how efficient and clean the hotel is. The airport being so near is an added bonus, but the most outstanding thing for me and gives the whole place such a good credit is Samy, the rep who went over and above his duty. He could not have been more efficient, caring, and great fun to be with. Also, Amanda is a dream to have as customer relations. She is also always around, has time for everybody and nothing is too much trouble. They are both such a good asset for this place and we will be seeing them again. Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, is is so be beautiful to look out at the wonderful view, at all times of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank janebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Went away for a relaxing break and got what we wished for, only wished we could have stayed longer, the staff where friendly and helpful, food was very good and plenty of choice, nice clean hotel, we would consider going back for two weeks rather than the one week we had, airport was near and handy only ten minutes on the coach found this a plus.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Wesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I have been to Egypt on 6 previous occassions and this is easily the best hotel we have stayed in. From the beginning we were made to feel welcome by the guest relations lady,Amanda. She advised us of everything from changing the mattress if it too hard or soft to men having to wear long trousers for dinner, which was enforced as a couple of men found out. She then took everybody as a group to their rooms. Waiting outside our room was the bellboy with our cases who also gave a quick rundown on the mini bar, soft drinks and water are free and are topped up every morning,but beer and crisps, chocolate needed to be paid for. The room was very clean at all times and new pool towels are brought to you r room every evening at about 6pm.
As it was about 645pm and not eaten since breakfast we deciced to go to dinner after a quick shower. Previously in Egypt We have eaten to survive as opposed to enjoying the food so were nervous about going into the restaurant. We were surprised as we were met at the entrance and shown to a table by the maitre d who advised us of what was available in the buffet and on the grill which was outside,he was very polite and immediately called over the waiter who took our order for drinks. We went to get our food fearing the worst, ( Egypt 6 times before food invaribly poor ) , We were surprised not only did the food look good it was well cooked and tasted good and this carried for the whole week for every meal, even roast beef and yorkshire puddings on Sunday. Do not expect a full English breakfast as you are in a muslim country so bacon and pork sausages are taboo. But all fried eggs and omelettes are cooked for each guest and to your liking and the beef sausages are tasty.The hotel has its own man made beach where the snorkeling was excellent and drinks were offered by the excellent bar staff from 9am. There were enough sunbeds for everybody.Our Thomson rep Samy was great and gave some excellent tips especially regarding the drinking of plenty of water ensuring it was not ice cold as this can give you stomach cramps.
Amanda the guest relations lady was amazing trying to make sure everything was okay and was always had time to chat about anything, but always remembering every guest was important.
All staff were friendly, very attentive and willing to make you feel welcome and relaxed.
The only real issue is it is windy in January and February so take a cardigan or Jumper for the evening, but the service is excellent and the managers are visible, probably as they do not feel the need to hide in their offices.
We have already booked up for next year and this cannot come quick enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexfinest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westmidlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from two weeks at the Coraya Beach resort. We chose to fly from Birmingham despite the two and a half hour transfer, the flight was ok and the transfer wasn't too bad, due to the small size of our party Thomson transport was a small mini bus which was quite comfortable (I'm 5' 11").

We arrived at 8;40 at night and were met by friendly reception staff with a drink and a cool face towel, it was nice to be seated and booked in rather than having to wait in a long queue standing at reception desk (especially after 12 hours of travelling).

The property and gardens are very clean and well kept, the room was well appointed. We had an electrical issue in our room which caused the electricity to fail, we were quickly moved to another room and upgraded to a sea view because of the small inconvenience we incurred.

The room was cleaned daily along with the mini bar being replenished every day. Fresh beach towels were delivered to the room every night by the gentleman who cleaned our room. The beach was clean with sun beds/cabanas always being readily available. The snorkelling was very good with a wide range of sea life being easily seen, I have swam at most of the Red Sea resorts and this is probably the most diverse reef snorkelling I have experienced.

There are several bars available on site, all of the drinks are more than acceptable and the staff were friendly and quick to serve you.

We were very pleased with the weather, it was chilly at night but the days were very warm and sunny,

The food was always of a good quality though not always to our taste, neither of us are keen on fish, on several nights the menu was mainly fish which made us be more creative on our meal choice, It would be nice if they catered better for us non fish eaters as you are a captive audience.

We ate a meal at the on site a la carte restaurant this was excellent. The animation was not really suited to a couples resort though the team seemed to work hard.

As previously mentioned by other reviewers Sammy and Amanda were very helpful and always seemed to be available to help our just to have a chat.

Thanks to Caroline and Ian for all the laughs on the beach ,the Hurghada flight and transfer was great, far better than travelling to Marsa Alam as we saw much, much more of the desert !!!!

Though we had a good holiday at a nice hotel.I would like to give this holiday a 4 and a 1/2 rating though as this isn't possible I will give it 5.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was the first time we had travelled to Egypt and didn't know what to expect. Firstly our flight, we booked with Thomson and opted for extra legroom, being 6'3" I urge Thomson to keep this as an option as it makes all the difference to me.
The Coraya was fantastic, every member of staff were fantastic and the hotel was kept spotless. We spent our time on both the beach and around the pool and were well looked after at both. The beach offered good snorkelling on the house reef with plenty of fish around.
Food wise we tried the Mediterranean Al a carte and had one of the best fillet steaks I've had, we also tried the Egyptian Al a carte but there was always plenty of choice in the buffet restaurant. Special thanks goes to Amanda she was a great host and Samy (Thomsom Rep) but really all of the staff deserve a huge pat on the back as they looked after us so well,
If anyone wants a relaxing break this is the place for you, our only regret was that we had only booked for 1 week and it would have been great to have spent another week at this great hotel, we'd love to come back, perhaps next winter.

Room Tip: we upgraded to a sea view and had a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jay_deakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsa Alam
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#1 of 5 in Port Ghalib
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing