We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday at a great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday at a great hotel.”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at the Coraya Beach Hotel, Marsa Alam from 4-18th September 2013. We booked through Thomson on their Couples option which meant that the hotel we booked to stay at would be free of children. Flew from Gatwick. On our way back, we found out Thomson are stopping their flights to Marsa Alam from Manchester. Don’t know if this is still the case but that was what other guests told us.

On the evening of our arrival we had a quick introduction meeting followed by dinner, the hotel had kept the food area open as we would be arriving around 10pm local time. Great idea and the first time we’d experienced this during our many visits to Egypt in the past. Our main welcome meeting took place the morning after our arrival. We were introduced to everyone from the hotel Manager down to the housekeeping supervisor. Again, a first. All became clear very soon. It transpired that the hotel is usually very popular with German tourists. Due to travel advice provided by the German, French and Italian governments, flights from those countries to Egypt had all but stopped. Certainly TUI were not flying to Egypt from Germany. This meant that in a hotel which could house over 700 guests, there were less than 200 guests, the majority of whom were British.

First things first, Marsa Alam is over 400 miles from Cairo. This meant that events in the capital did not affect the far South of the country. We saw security checkpoints but there were few outward signs of any additional security measures in the immediate area of where we stayed. The resort is all inclusive so we had everything on site or within a short walk. The hotel is beautiful. We booked for and received a sea view room which had a balcony outside. The room was very large and comfortable with air conditioning. The air con was used at night and was a bit noisy, ear plugs do work so these are recommended. The room guys really make sure the rooms are clean and their towel art is amazing. We’ve got some great photos of their efforts.

The hotel sits on one side of Coraya Bay. The bay itself is great for diving and snorkelling. We are both divers so we booked and used Coraya Divers who are on the south side of the bay a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Great dive school which we reviewed on another entry. Incidentally Thomson missed a trick there, because during our welcome meeting they introduced a member of staff from Emperor Divers who they said were Thomson’s partners in the area or the red sea. First we heard of it as it was not mentioned in any of the brochures we had. Emperor were not on the Coraya site but we were quite happy with the Coraya Divers who were within walking distance as we said. The beach is fine white sand and exceptionally clean. The whole resort was pristine to be honest so everything is maintained to a very high standard.

Aside from the diving, we made use of several different facilities in the hotel. The pools are all good sized and warm. Water polo took place in the pool nearest the spa each afternoon. The gym is reasonably well equipped for use during a holiday. The spa itself was great. Due to the lack of guests, the spa was offering great deals on massage packages. Each session lasted an hour and the selection on offer was quite varied. We booked a four massage package between us which had been heavily discounted. The staff were all superb and the massages we booked (anti stress x2, Indian Head and Sports) were well worth their value. Highly recommended.

The entertainment team we felt had to work twice as hard as normal due to the reduced number of guests. Every night there was a different event taking place. The team (Shady, ZuZu, Jamaica, Jerry) were superb, the travel agency resort staff (Samy and Helen) were always around and on hand. Between them they made sure that everyone was looked after.

The food was of a great standard. All buffet service with a barbecue option each night. Some people were saying the food service was not 5 star but to be fair to the hotel, they were catering to a significantly reduced number of guests so they staggered the replenishing of dishes which I’m sure reduced waste. There was something for everyone and the dishes were all great. For once I didn’t put on any weight this holiday....how, I have no idea.

All in all this was a superb holiday. The hotel offers some great facilities, several bars and restaurants, good pools, great health spa, 10 minute transfer from the airport, great reef for diving/snorkelling and a 10 minute walk from a great dive school. Would we go back? Yes we will. We’d recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JockMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,616
    596
    122
    24
    8
See reviews for
399
2,319
149
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nijmegen
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I lost count on how many times I visited Coraya Beach Resort. The resort is outstanding in every way!

The rooms are very spacious and offer all you need. From wireless to a nice shower, from a fridge to a basket of fruit. The beds are very comfortable.
The food is excellent. There is a lot of choice at hte buffet, from European cuisine to Egyptian cuisine. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served in the main restaurant, where you can choose to sit inside or outside (with a beautiful view over the Red Sea)

Every staffmember is very helpful. Normally I hate checking in at hotels, because it takes a while before you sorted out all the paperwork. At Coraya you are in your room within no time! I just love that!

It is a very joyfull hotel. The swimming pools are nice, snorkeling in the bay is awesome. You just do not get bored around this hotel. I enjoyed the "blankets on the beach" evenings, with a great singer!

I will be back for sure!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eugenieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our 2nd visit to Coraya Beach. Thanks to all the staff for being there for our every need. The animation staff ,Jamaica,kiko,shaddy and Helen for there hard work,and making us laugh so much. Also thanks to Amanda for joining in with all our practical jokes.
Can't wait for a return visit to marsa alam, does not look possible due to Thomson's stopping flying from Manchester next year. C'mon thomson what about your travellers from north of Watford ,we do exist!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've just had a week of luxury - from the moment we arrived, the staff at the Coraya Beach were most welcoming, helpful, and friendly, without being intrusive. Special praise and thanks to Amanda who is worth her weight in chocolate oranges (her fave!). The room was perfect with a partial sea view, and morning sunshine (1715), and Mohammed's towel art great. The food was plentiful and varied - and try to sit in Ahmed's section on the terrace; he's the best! There is a small library by the health club, which was useful. The free laundry service is true - it really happens!

The transfer from airport to hotel is ten minutes, but there is no airplane noise at all. As soon as the Manchester flights are reinstated, whether by Thomson Tui or another operator, we will definitely be back - thank you Coraya Beach for a memorable silver wedding celebration.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captainpigsfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a lovely relaxing week with friends at the hotel. The pool view room was large, with a good view of the swim up bar, nicely decorated with very efficient air conditioning. The public areas were very clean and tidy and the grounds were exceptionally good.

The staff were very attentive, polite and friendly and certainly kept our glasses charged for the whole of the week. The food was good - particularly the Italian A La Carte Restaurant - with plenty of choice.

My partner went diving on 4 occasions and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, particularly swimming with the turtles.

Perhaps my only criticism is the lack of variety of drinks. I drink a rose wine normally but this and the white wine was very dry and I had to put Sprite in to make a sweeter spritzer. There was no equivalent to Malibu or Baileys and the cocktails were a little non descript. I don't drink gin, whisky or vodka so struggled a bit to find something I liked. Apparently the beer wasn't very strong either.

Overall though, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and hopefully we will return in the future - providing there are flights from Manchester - please take note Thomsons!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaffordChrissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I've just had the most relaxing time of my life, the beautiful scenery and coral reef and fantastic staff made my perfect holiday. From the arrival and being met with a cocktail our luggage taken for us to being waved off by the staff was lovely . Brill animation team and the lovely Helen, the amazing waiter Mohammed keeping our drinks coming which my partner loved and always with a smile, such beautiful scenery to gaze upon it was an oasis in the desert, only downside Thomson are stopping flights from Manchester WHY! Why should we have to go gatwick we pay our money and should have a choice , but I will go back no matter where I fly from just found the best place,no children peace, quiet and relaxation no pressure put on you to do anything you don't want to, great entertainment and plenty of choice on the food, loved it :).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alis0n66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trelogan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went again to the Coraya beach & were welcomed as if we were members from their family, many of the staff actually remembered us from our earlier visit which really impressed the wife.
The two weeks we had there were once again fantastic & the whole team of the Coraya certainly made our second visit well worth while.
The really sad thing is that Thomson , the caring holiday firm, are going to stop flying to Marsa Alam at the end of December from Manchester so if the Northern part of this island want to travel to this destination they will hve to travel via Gatwick, so come on Thomson have a re-think about what you are doing!!!!
And yes we will be going back again if it is financially viable, otherwise it will have to be Sharm, the New USSR.

Room Tip: Just ask if not happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#12 of 68 in Marsa Alam
384 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,186 reviews
6.2 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing