We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just, returned from a weeks holiday. Absolutely brilliant. All staff are amazing, the rooms cleaned to perfection. Excellent food, marvellous waiter service and the entertainment team work so hard and are so professional. Special mention to sammy, who really cares about his guests.

Just a shame thomson have cancelled flights from Manchester next summer, so hopefully see you in the summer of 15!!!

Room Tip: We booked a sea view room, and late check out. Late check out is lovely, but I should imagine any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,617 - 1,623 of 3,932 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Coroya beach for 1 week - 4th to 11th Sept. Hotel was absolutely lovely -
rooms: as shown in pictures and cleaned every day with some very funky towel art left!
Restaurant: buffet restaurant had plenty of choice and different cuisine every night so didn't get boring and Farouz (à la carte) was beautiful food and fantastic service.
Well worth doing the couples day offered by Thompson for 60 euros a couple. Get breakfast in bed, massage, big double bed on the beach for the day and private dinner over looking the sea (was literally just us two with a table set up away from the restaurant on steps down to the sea).
Staff were all friendly and helpful. Well worth staying here would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whambamgetmeatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Coraya Beach Hotel, it is such a lovely place! The staff are very friendly and will do anything to help make your stay a pleasent one. The animation team work very hard, and they are all very friendly and funny but don't push you to take part if you don't want to!
Regarding the trouble in other parts of Egypt, you wouldn't even realise what was going on while in Marsa Alam its like being in a different country!!
There was a varied amount of food and even a fussy eater like myself found something to eat everyday.
The whole holiday was a ellexcent experince and we will defiantly be returning (very soon)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tiffani O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I have been to Egypt now Six times and thinking each time the hotel i will be staying at will be better than the last the same goes for the food,The rooms are very clean and the staff are mainly very friendly, however this is Egypt and we always go with certain tablets as more often than not you will be spending a reasonable amount of time on the toilet.( Not Good )! Had a couple of issues with staff rinsing glasses off in the shower area on the beach, as told not to drink or even brush your teeth with this water no wonder a lot of people had to stay in there rooms for a few days, also the restaurant staff (not all of them) were spotted using same utensils for raw chicken and cooked chicken. The alarm bells should have sounded at the welcome meeting as they fore warn you that they will prescribe Antinell if you do get ill, If you are going to this hotel check up first what Antinell is and then you can make your own mind up. The a la carte restaurant was fantastic and the food here is ten times better than the Restaurant or should i say works canteen, I did enjoy my stay here but it should have been so much better as the hotel was only 25% occupied, God knows what service you will get if it was to be full. Wasn't the worst hotel i have been to by far but the premiere le reve knocks spots of it, the sea was clear in the morning but by the afternoon if you like snorkling dont bother as the visibity was about five feet and im not joking. The animation team tried very hard and all in all very entertaining bit cheesy but you come to expect that, if youve been to egypt once then youll know what i mean, mainly with the food. Wont be going back here which is a shame it could be so much better, at least it was mainly english with a few germans, no russians as in sharm.

Room Tip: Had a look at a few rooms all identically laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mojobandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned on 11th September after one week. "Ditto" to all the previous comments regarding staff, service, rooms, food, etc. However, having been to Egypt many times before and Marsa Alam once before I can honestly say I have never experienced such good snorkelling and the variety of sea life at the house reef was mind blowing. Went snorkelling most mornings at 06:30am and could not believe the variety of fish i.e. barracuda, moray eel, lion fish, trigger fish, rays etc, etc and if you are lucky enough turtles, manta rays and dolphins. The visability in the morning was far better. I am a certified PADI advanced open water diver and did not dive due to medical reasons but can honestly say I enjoyed my snorkelling just as much and took many fantastic photos. I have no doubts that our experience was made better due to the current political troubles in Northern Egypt resulting in a reduction in numbers of holidaymakers occupying the resort (e.g. approx 25% full) therefore allowing for better service in every area of the Coraya Beach Resort. This was one of our best AI holidays we have ever experienced but fear if we returned we would not receive the same level of service if the resort was at full capacity. My only minor gripe would be that there is a charge if you use the cans of lager/beer from the mini bar or the bags of crisps, nuts etc, from your room - seems inconsistent when these are readily available anywhere else around the resort!!! Thank you Coraya Beach Resort for a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stanhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from the Iberotel Coraya Beach it is just a fantastic hotel the staff are very helpful the food just amazing fillet of beef,veal,king prawns with a very good choice for all tastes. The Animation team are brilliant and friendly, producing great evening shows, keep fit, water polo etc.They do not push you to take part.Three great clean pools and easy access off the beach for swimming and snorkeling, got lucky and swam with the local turtle.Excellent value for your money.The only downside is that you have to fly in a Thomson sardine can with poor expensive food and expensive drinks.We will probably go back next year, the hotel out weighs being a sardine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tigernorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks all inclusive at the Iberotel Coraya Beach in Marsa Alam, Egypt, travelling as a married couple with Thomson to one of their Couples Resorts. We can honestly say that at this resort the staff, food, rep, location, cleanliness, helpfulness, rooms, pools, beach etc. are all fantastic. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are made to feel as welcome as is possible.

This hotel takes “all inclusive” as literally as possible and, quite frankly; many other hotels could learn a thing or two. We stayed in a 5T “all inclusive” hotel in La Palma last year but it turned out we had to pay for towels daily, for certain drinks, the safe in the room etc. The bottom line being that it was not all inclusive yet had the same rating as this hotel!

At Coraya Beach, however, everything really is all inclusive – towels, safety deposit box, all drinks (even after the all-inclusive officially ended on the last evening), face towels on tap in the toilets and served cold around the pools, sunbeds (including mattresses and luxury beds on the beach), drinks restocked daily in the room mini bar and the list goes on. Even a daily laundry service is provided free of charge meaning you can return home with a suitcase ready to simply unload back into your wardrobe!


General hotel points:

The hotel is spotlessly clean and you constantly see the staff cleaning the various areas from the pools to the terraces to the gardens. As soon as you leave your sunbed for the day, the area is immediately tidied up and restored for the next day.

The hotel is spacious (but bear in mind we stayed during the political unrest in Egypt which meant that the hotel was nowhere near full to capacity and most of the guests were English) and there are no shortages of sun loungers both around the 3 outdoor pools and on the beach. There are plenty of areas in the sun and the shade if you want to get a balance. The gardens are immaculately kept and the grass was cut almost daily! There are many beautiful flowers around the complex some of which end up decorating your room.

The staff are excellent, they could not make you feel more welcome. They often come to you round the pool with drinks or to take orders saving you the strain of moving from your sun lounger! They take a genuine interest in you and do everything possible to make your stay as perfect as they can. They even remember your name and usual orders and have them ready for you on arrival at the restaurant or bar. They clearly want customers to return, as indeed, they do – we met several couples who had been several times before.

There are many nice walks around the complex and along the beach and the restaurant facilities are excellent. There are excellent snorkelling and diving opportunities in the bay and around the coral. During our stay turtles were also spotted.


Bars:

•Several bars around the hotel including the Night and Day bar, Pool bar, A La Carte bar, Beach Bar, Shisha Bar and the Roof Top Bar – all excellent with friendly and efficient service and all very well stocked.
•Many of the bar staff insist you take a seat and let them bring the drinks to you and they will even bring you nibbles on an evening if you fancy crisps or nuts. There is never a need to queue.
•No waiting times to be served
•Tables cleared immediately upon finishing
•Pool tables in the roof top bar (in good condition)
•Some of the bars are air-conditioned but others are not – not really an issue though as you tend to sit outside and enjoy the scenery and there is often a pleasant breeze


Rooms (We stayed in a “superior” room which was really their “standard” room):

•Air Conditioned
•Very big – lots of space
•Quiet
•Safety deposit box (included in price!)
•Fridge (restocked daily with soft drinks all included in the price)
•Lots of storage
•Coat hangers (you can even ask for more at no extra cost)
•Laundry delivered to your room daily free of charge
•Extra pillows and bed wear
•Nice seating area in addition to sleeping area and bathroom
•Nice little terrace outside overlooking the Red Sea
•Spacious shower
•Good sized bathroom
•Well stocked with complementary toiletries and tissues and flannels as well as plenty of hand and bath towels
•Complimentary dressing gowns and slippers
•Kettle and tea/coffee facilities
•TV with multiple language channels
•Egyptian Power Adaptor was provided free of charge when our own broke (returned on check out)
•Daily towel shapes!
•Very clean


Restaurant and Food:

•Overall the food was outstanding – meat usually melted in the mouth, lots of fresh veg and salads and plenty of choice for everyone whatever their preference (pizza, pasta, chips…)
•Outside Grill on the restaurant terrace
•Cocktails included in the price
•Very little repetition of the same dishes over the fortnight
•Far too tempting desserts!
•Air conditioned in addition to outside balcony seating
•Plenty of space – sub-divided
•Terrace seating outside overlooking the bay
•A La Carte meal was outstanding and the beef fillet is highly recommended
•Gluten free bread provided for my wife and the chef was often personally available to see if she needed anything special to be cooked individually!
•Drinks often topped up by staff without the need to ask
•Freedom to sit where you wanted rather than being “assigned” a table
•All waiters were very friendly and efficient and had an excellent sense of humour – cheeky and playful.


Swimming Pools, Activities/Animation and Facilities:

•Pool tables in the Roof Top Bar
•Boulles on the beach
•Table Tennis
•Tennis Courts
•Squash Court
•Running Track round the perimeter
•Paths and walks through the grounds, gardens and along the beach
•Aqua Fit
•Water Polo
•Football
•Snorkelling and diving
•3 outside swimming pools including 1 bar pool
•1 inside heated pool (although the outside pools were already at 31°C so the indoor heated pool was not really used very much)
•Several bars as mentioned earlier
•A La Carte Meal – one included per stay but you can use all three of the A La Carte Restaurants once for free (two restaurants are a trip away at the sister hotel on the other side of the bay)
•Well-equipped gym with good free weight selection, weight machines and exercise bikes and tread mills, mats etc. (air conditioned)
•Evening entertainment provided every night by the Animations Team either on the terrace or in the Amphitheatre
•Watch out for Jerry on the Animations Team – he usually walks around the pool area late afternoon dressed in all kinds of theatrical attire (both male and female!!)


Peace:

And finally, best of all – this hotel was beautifully quiet – not a screaming child in site! If only the aeroplanes could be Adult/Couples only too!!
Leave that thought with you Thomson!


Conclusions:

Unlike some of Thomson’s hotel ratings, this one really is deserving of the 5T, 5 star rating. The staff could not do enough for you and made you feel like a king or queen during your stay. It is no surprise to note that many guests return to this hotel. It certainly met our expectations when we booked.

We hope that it continues to survive the current crisis in Egypt as many of the hotels in the country continue to close along with the Nile Cruises (which we would also highly recommend when they become available once more).


Thanks:

Special mentions to Samy the Thomson Rep, Amanda, Karem, Mohammad and Osama and Sameh in the Shisha restaurant who were all fantastic, but all staff were brilliant really and each guest will have their own favourites! We’d also like to wish Hedra all the best with his wedding on Sunday and extend our thanks to him. Thanks also to Chef and Amanda for all their help with my wife’s dietary requirements especially on the evening of departure when he made up a salad box specially for her as there was nothing she could eat at the airport – much appreciated. A final specific thank you to Amr (one of the managers) who we emailed questions to before our stay and who was very helpful with his replies (including photos of the gym facilities – so we knew what to pack!).


Room Tip:
We stayed in Block 11 which was very quiet and one of the furthest points of the hotel from the main entrance building and activity area. However, to be honest, you could have stayed in any block at this time as the hotel only appeared to be about 25% full and by the end of the fortnight many of the guests knew each other!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Superior room which is their Standard room and was more than spacious enough. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Explorers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,617 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#10 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,305 reviews
28 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#16 of 68 in Marsa Alam
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Address: Marsa Alam Road km 67 | Madinat Coraya, Quessir, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $102 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the fascinating shores of Coraya Bay, just 4 km away from Marsa Alam International Airport and 219 km from Hurghada, lies the five star Steigenberger Coraya Beach, the first resort of the German Steigenberger Hotels and Resorts in Marsa Alam. A holiday for two at the five stars adults only Steigenberger Coraya Beach is a real paradise for all your senses! With its original Nubian style and 800 meters long sandy beach, the resort enjoys a unique blend of both southern Egypt and the Red Sea notes and flavors. To add an extra notch, the 364 rooms are built in groups of bungalows, with a spectacular sea, pool and garden view, prepared to host you with their elegant furniture and comfortable facilities. Steigenberger Coraya Beach has dining covered for even the most discerning palates with its "Pharaoh Club" dining concept to pour you a sonata of love, in addition to “Dar El Hawa” coffee shop that gives you a fun experience with our Arabian water pipes (shisha). Fun never sleeps, with an endless assortment of recreational activities including the exhilarating water slides at the leading attraction of the entire region “Aqua Coraya,” taking you to a whole new world of excitement and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing