We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not as Expected”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just Got back from this Hotel on the 10th of July 2013.

Firstly let me say The thomsons flight sucks Nothing to do No movie no tv nothing 5 hours 30 mins of sheer cramped Boredom

This Hotel was Nice Not Great simply Nice. There was nothing about it that set apart from others.

The Rooms are on the small side But Nicely fitted out And they are Kept very clean and fresh Towels Daily. Ahmed our room cleaner works long hot hours and takes pride in his Job. Walk in shower no matter what time of day boiling hot water.Soft Drinks and water in mini bar everyday free of charge.

Outdoors the Gardens are well groomed green and lush grass. The gardeners spray a bug killer daily so not much flying biting bugs in the Evening.A 2000 meter paved walkway going round the bay is nice to have a walk round in the Evening. The Beach IS where this Hotel fails They have used desert sand Not beach sand to build there beach.
Desert Sand being lighter has need drawn into the sea and killed a large area of Coral. And makes the water VERY VERY cloudy. In 2 feet of water you can see your own feet when you look down. They have cordoned off what Coral is left in the bay so unless you are a very good swimmer and are prepared to go into the deep channel. You`ll not see Much Marine life.

The Main Buffet Restaurant was so-so The Omelette station for breakfast was good You could even Boil your own eggs if you wanted. The Pasta station for Dinner was Good But limited to Tomato sauce. If you ask for white sauce they simply pour milk into the pan lol. The main problem with the Restaurant is you never ever get a HOT meal. Unless you like beef that goes Moo when you cut into it you`ll be on Chicken for your stay.
Ice Cream is available all day which is great cause in the Egyptian heat anything that cools you down is a bonus.

But then there is Amanda what can i say about Her :) An English lass that works for the Hotel If you have any requests or problems go see Her. She`ll sort it out for you if its possible.


We would Not go back to this Hotel. We would advice anyone going to Marsa Alam to book the Resta Grand 1 mile down the road. Or the Resta reef only a three star but the Food is great.

Jim and Lorna Welsh Room 2814 sea view that was very nice.

Room Tip: Request a second floor room get intouch with the Hotel Direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highlaner121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hossam_saber, Manager at Steigenberger Coraya Beach, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,
Thank you for your review recently posted. I am very sorry that your stay was not as expected. I reviewed your communicated points in details with all concerned team members to ensure that they are well addressed for correction. On the other hand, all positive thoughts regarding rooms standard, cleanliness and others were also communicated.

Kindly allow me here under to explain related facts regarding the raised points. Gardens: As you have noticed we have a big well maintained landscape area & it is one of our prime objectives is to keep the beautiful gardens in the middle of the dessert which of course needs a lot of attention including pest & plants infection control. Therefore we do have a program in place to ensure that our cultivated areas are in its best condition, worthwhile to mention that all pesticides used for plants fumigation are environmental friendly, bio-degradable, has no smell & no negative effects at all, rotation of plants local fumigation is not done neither on daily nor weekly basis, there are some fixed treatments that are done once before summer & winter seasons start and any other fumigation done in between these 2 main treatments is then handled locally to treat any needed plants. We are sorry that this took place once during your 2 weeks stay.

Marine life: as you may have noticed, we do our best to keep the intact house coral reef at Coraya Bay as we believe it is our capital. Worth to mention that we didn't do any adjustments to the natural sand of the bay. A reason for the sea water to be cloudy can be under water currents in some days & visibility quality that varies from time to time during the day depending on sun location & wind effects. Best time to enjoy a snorkel at our beautiful bay is before 09h00 AM or after 16h00 PM.

Food: Thanks for the praise regarding omelets, eggs cooking & ice cream. Regarding sauces for the pasta station, we do have a different type of sauce in addition to the tomatoes sauce that is changing on daily basis according to our 2 weeks menu plan for lunch & dinner. In terms of food temperature, we do have a standard that is controlled throughout the buffet and it includes a la minute cooking, quick turnover, keeping the chafing dishes promptly refilled & hot food temperature not to go lower than 70c during any food holding process, however your comments were addressed and all Chefs concerned and my self will ensure that they are well handled.

I appreciate your time taken to post the review & your advice to anyone going to Marsa Alam to book different hotels, however we look forward to host you back in the future aiming to offer a better satisfactory service that could meet your expectations.

Thank you,
Hossam Saber
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,549
    586
    120
    23
    8
See reviews for
383
2,271
146
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed for new year eve food was brilliant the boat trip with oceans was very good they work well as a team hotel was brilliant the reps Alan and Larraine was excellent I would love to go again well worth the money

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Have just returned from a 2 week holiday at Coraya beach, had a fantastic time. Rooms were cleaned daily and we could not fault the cleanliness at all.(Had a pool view room) Food was lovely and I managed to find something to eat even though I'm quite fussy. Never had a problem with finding a sun lounger and we never got up till around 8am.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and I can not fault them at all.
I only have one negative and that is the evening entertainment, the resident singer is on every night he only appears to know a few songs and sings in the same tone at all times, this is down to individual taste however and I'm sure others enjoyed his singing. More variety would be good.
Amanda came round daily to check if there were any problems and sorted them out straight away. Used the free laundry service and had no problems.
If I decide to go to Egypt again it will definitely be to this hotel.

Room Tip: request a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabkab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We dont want anyone else to find out about it!
This is a fabulous hotel at any price but its unbelievable value for money in todays climate. The holiday starts and ends badly however because of the atrocious flight and aircraft used by Thomsons. But once at the hotel........wow!
Service is immaculate throughout and its the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. From the pool to the rooms to the communal areas everything is spotless. The food is of very high standard and with lots of choice at every meal. I know that a couple of people fell ill whilst we were there but that can just as easily happen due to excessive sun....or change of diet.....or maybe too much alcohol? In our view the food hygiene and prep were both excellent.
The animation team are great.......friendly but not in your face. Its all lowkey and relaxed especially the romantic night on the beach sitting by candlelight under the stars listening to Khalil sing. Its not club 18-30. At night the terrace area gets busy but there are always seats although some earlier reviewers would clearly like to have it just to themselves. A half-empty hotel that feels like an old peoples home might suit them but would soon go out of business! In our view the entertainment is balanced just right (apart from the visiting pantomime horse!) - sophisticated non-intrusive and decididly optional. Special mention to Helen Shireen and Charlie plus Samir and Ismail the reps and Amanda the ever-helpful guest relations manager.
As for sunbeds....there are no shortages and the early morning Towel Race is only worth it if you want a specific spot. Then a 7.30 start might be needed.
Its worth remembering that on a two week trip you are paying around £60 per person per night for the flight hotel food drink and service....and the flight is at least half of that. The staff earn around £60 a month and none are local so only see their families for a few days every 4-6 weeks. Small tips go a long way but are not required in order to get great service. There's no pressure and certainly no distinction in the service youll get.

Gripes? The beers in your minibar should be part of all inclusive. The food on offer between 2 and 5 pm could be better as the breakfasts are so good you dont always want lunch at lunchtime but you're peckish before 6.30! The free wifi needs an upgraded router I.e. one that reaches the rooms. In other words.....almost nothing to moan about at all. And for those who are only happy when they are miserable......stay away!
P.s We were there when the military took over the government. If we hadnt watched bbc world news we would never have known.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary_V_4355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

On 4th July 2013 we returned from another 2 week stay at this lovely hotel. Over the years we have stayed at many hotels in Egypt, but none of them can match the Coraya, in our opinion. This was our 4th visit here and we absolutely loved it. Excellent rooms, spotlessly clean, located around beautifully cared for lawns and gardens. The staff are all friendly and attentive and they really work hard to take care of you. There is always plenty of variety in the restaurant, which for me being a vegetarian, can sometimes be a problem, but I could always find plenty to eat. I was particularly fond of the oddly named "foul" (chickpeas). My husband developed an unhealthy liking for "Om Ali" (bread and butter pudding), as the bathroom scales showed when we got back !. The waiters are always on hand to supply you with drinks, but why not take a stroll to the beach bar at lunchtime and down an ice-cold Sakara beer (highly recommended). Thanks to all the animation team for working so hard, but especially Ayman for making us laugh so much with his 'stories' ! Our special thanks have to go to Executive Assistant Manager Mr Atef Hussien for being so kind to us. Finally, would I recommend this hotel ? ........ the answer is a resounding YES......in fact so much so that we have booked to go back there this September for my birthday. Hope to see you there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyJayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at the Coraya Beach for two weeks at the end of June and had an excellent holiday, overall the hotel and staff provide an above average 5 star holiday experience. However many of the reviews on this site wildly exaggerate the quality of the Coraya Beach with comments like “treated like Royalty” and “Ultimate in Luxury”. Is there a competition to include the most superlatives in a review, we counted seven “amazings” in one review? If your idea of the “Ultimate in Luxury” is eating in a self service buffet restaurant, drinking locally made alcohol and karaoke entertainment, forget the Ritz, this is the place for you. The Coraya Beach is an Egyptian all inclusive 5 star hotel that provides the standard of holiday you would expect from this type of hotel, so try to keep things in perspective!

We won't repeat all the valid good points already stated in other reviews, but we did have a couple of issues, the main one regarding the buffet restaurant.

We raised this first issue with Amanda from Customer Relations, making it clear that it wasn't a complaint because we didn't consider the matter too serious but hopefully the feedback could be used to improve the service in the main restaurant.

We spoke to Amanda during the second week of our holiday and on the last day while we were waiting for the airport coach she introduced the Assistant Food & Beverage Manager to listen to our comments. Unfortunately the manager’s understanding of English wasn't that great and we think a lot of what we were trying to tell him was lost in translation. He gave us the impression that he thought we were making a serious complaint because he just kept apologising profusely and asking us to name the culprits in the restaurant. This wasn't what we wanted and we were left thinking that our issue hadn't been fully understood or likely to be addressed.

Amanda told us that the hotel management read the reviews on Trip Advisor and they are concerned that the Coraya Beach has dropped to number two in Marsa Alam on Trip Advisor, so with that in mind this was our issue.

We preferred to avoid the peak period in the main restaurant and usually ate around 8.30 onwards, be prepared for the cavalry charge when the doors open if you want to eat at 6.30!

We found the table service later in the evening to be inconsistent, varying from very good to very poor. The inconsistent service started with the two women who greeted you at the restaurant entrance. Some evenings they would just greet you and let you find your own table and other evenings they would escort you to a table. How busy the restaurant was or the number of guests entering the restaurant at the time had no bearing on this service, so the inconsistency is hard to explain.

Later in the evening the restaurant is generally quieter and the waiters are busy clearing empty tables and preparing them for breakfast. We found on several occasions that the waiters seemed unaware that there were new guests seated in their area and carried on clearing tables. One evening after waiting five minutes to be served we had to approach a waiter and ask him to serve us drinks.

On another evening we decided to wait and see how long it would take to be served and it was ten minutes before a waiter came to our table, at one point a waiter even cleared the table next to us. On this particular evening we were escorted to the table by one of the women on the door, which in our opinion makes the delay even more unacceptable. If part of their job is to escort guests to tables they should also be required to make a waiter aware that she has seated new guests in their area and that they need to be served drinks.

We don't think the waiters deliberately ignored us, they work very hard and are obviously under pressure at that time of night to prepare the tables for breakfast as well as serve guests. On other evenings at this time the service from the waiters was excellent, so it's the inconsistency that needs to be addressed. We think this is more of an awareness & training issue with the waiters and the women on the restaurant door.

What makes this more surprising is that the standard of service in all the other restaurants & bars is excellent and can't be faulted. Also, unlike the service, the quantity and standard of the food in the main restaurant did not deteriorate later in the evening.

The only other issue we had was with some basic hygiene standards in the restaurants & bars. Unfortunately we didn’t have time to raise this issue with Amanda before we left.

In the beach bar we saw waiters handling rolls & sandwiches with their bare hands before serving them to guests, the same waiters were also clearing tables.

In the main restaurant we saw chefs making up dishes of bread stuffed with meat and then handing them to guests with there bare hands.

In the pool bar we saw barmen putting straws into glasses by holding the end that you put in your mouth.

All of these are unacceptable and need to be addressed.

Luckily we didn't suffer any illness during the holiday and would recommend Citricidal as a preventative cure, it works for us. On this note we were surprised to read in another review that Sami the Thomson rep dispenses Antinal tablets to guests with illness, as these pills are an antibiotic shouldn't these be prescribed by a doctor? Let’s hope for Thomson’s and Sami’s sake that none of the guests have an allergic reaction after taking these pills!


Our room had a pool view and one morning my wife got up to use the toilet, looked out the window and saw several people putting towels on beds. The time, unbelievably 5.00am, do these people set an alarm to wake them up!

After many years of beach holidays we know that there will always be sad people reserving sun beds early in the morning (British included, don't just blame the Germans) and some not using the beds until after lunch. But can someone tell Sami the Thomson rep to stop telling new guests at the welcome meeting that under no circumstances are sun beds to be reserved before 8am and not to be left unattended for more than an hour, other wise your possessions will be removed. This is utter nonsense as these rules are not enforced by any member of the hotel staff so why does he come out with this scaremongering drivel.

There are more than enough sun beds, all with shade and close to one of the three pools or the beach, so relax, get up a bit later and enjoy your holiday!


Overall we had an excellent holiday and a very relaxing stay at the Coraya Beach and will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVP1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We returned from our holiday on 4th July 13. Having never been to Egypt before my partner and myself were slightly apprehensive but we had no need to be. The area was very safe and clean, the hotel fabulous and the staff a real credit; very friendly and helpful. The hotel position is the best in the bay but it is easy to go for a walk around the bay to check all areas out. Being an adult only hotel it is very quiet during the night so a good night sleep could be had, which is great if you want to rise early to see the sunrise, which we did. Areas around the pool and gardens could not be faulted and the waiter service brilliant. The hotels food hygiene standards are excellent (no dodgy tummy) and ice made with bottled water is a real plus. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had room 1810 which was a ground floor pool facing room. It was a large room with a seating area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,450 reviews
19.7 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
355 reviews
29.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,158 reviews
6.2 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Coraya Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Coraya Beach

Property: Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Address: Marsa Alam Road | Madinat Coraya, km 67 Al Qusseir, Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#7 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Coraya Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 364
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Steigenberger Coraya Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Coraya Beach Hotel Marsa Alam
Hotel Iberotel Coraya Beach
Iberotel Coraya Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing