We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Brayka Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is for couples and families. who wants peace, nice beach, nice weather, fine food, very friendly and quick service and a big smile, beautiful gardens, a fine wellnes location and some animation. I felt at home. A place to come back to. The location is perfect for swimming, snorkeling and diving. The diving school at Brayka Bay next door is one of the best in Egypt. The hemingway restaurant for a gorgious fish diner is recommendable.

I travelled with Nile Travel. Fine transfer. half an hour from the airport. Take enough cash with you. Or creditcard.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have sideseaview. around the pool you have great seaview too. If you want gardenvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Imanah21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 840 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Was here in December, have been to Brayka bay next door twice before. The location is perfect on its own bay, that is policed by security at either end of the bay (for people going out as well as in).The hotel was exceptionally quiet really and the restaurant was never more than 50% full at any meal sitting.
Some good points for note, concrete pathways are smooth and make for good walking around, the bars are well staffed, and provided for. The beds are very sturdy as they're new, as are the mattresses.
Some bad points are, the bar was quiet at night time with little or no entertainment, the towels provided for pool/beach are small, the bathroom was cramped and quite slippery under foot, limited tv channels for a new facility, the heated pool seemed to many to be under temperature, be careful of some uneven kerb edges, a lack of railings make some step areas a little dangerous, there was no spy hole in the door, sliding doors were noisy.
Overall, the bad points are just niggling issues that if you accomodate for do not detract from the experience. The hotel could be doing more, but the limited guests arriving must be demoralising for all concerned. The hotel was very under booked, but not all the rooms are completed yet. It will be a massive hotel if finished, and fully booked, but the current climate will probably prevent that from happening. Adversely, the Brayka Bay hotel was very popular and busy at night. It was a shame, but guests from Brayka Bay were not allowed to get their all inclusive drinks at Royal, but we could the other way. I think this didn't elp as people regularly went next door where it was busier and better entertained.
1 major plus, is the highway from the airport has been moved inland for a good distance and this has taken about 15-20 minutes off the journey. BIG plus, now only 30 minutes transfer.
All in all, its a shame the current situations in Egypt are here and now, as this hotel could be much better if only there was a few more guests, and the hotel would probably put more on for them. The bay, reef, snorkelling is undoubtedly there prize asset, but the hotel shouldn't be left to be just an accessory to the sea. Please go here as you'll enjoy it, but as other reviews advise, be prepared for it to be quiet. Also, It appears the hotel has been dropped from English tour group, so we'll all have to wait and see if it is available from someone else sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Just book a standard mountain view room, you'll get a sea/pool view upgrade, as these are the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank t0wnender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

There was only a small percentage of the hotel open owing to the trouble in Egypt at the moment
wasnt a problem though food was excellent, good gym and treatments,staff were superb, Lucy was fun and helped with trips and all reception staff were very helpful..
A beautiful coral one of the best. and the beach was nice and sandy.
overall a very nice Hotel in a good position clean, nice rooms.The only negitives are chipped tiles in the pools not kepted up to a good standed and the entertainment apart from a disco was poor
We met some lovely people so we made our own entertainment.

Room Tip: you can see the see what ever room better on the higher level we were right on the front line room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kingsleytara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

we have just come back from a 2 week stay here and all i can say is if you like to do nothing and be in bed for 22:00pm then this is the place for you!
we booked this hotel because it says it has daily and evening entertainment to keep you busy because they is nothing and nowhere else to go, but there is NO entertainment whats so ever here! after complaining to reception numberus times they said the entertainment and daily activities are in they sister hotel, (which is an italian tour operated hotel) no one speaks in english!

the evening entertainment is a young couple who basically do karaoke in italian every night!
the same songs every night!
after the tedious journey of going over there every night we decided to gather all the english gusets up (all 10 of us) and arranged a night out to the nearest town for a change of scenery 40mins away!
the hotel is a lovely and the staff are wonderful, very helpful,very friendly its a shame theres nothing to do! it has a disco area and a very large ampitheatre shame they're stood empty!

the food here is very nice, and lots to choose from, my partner is vegeterian and he was spoilt for choice too!

if you like snorkeling then you must swim here the marine life is amazing, we seen bluespotted sting wrays and indian lion fish,and many more beautiful fish.

if you decide to do any excursions i recommend the seascope trip, good value for money!

also be aware there is a £13 fee to pay once you arrive here, you have to pay it for your visa, you dont get told this untill your actually in the airport so hopefully this will pre- warn you.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tinkz33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

amazing beach and reef.room very poor paid extra for beach front. Great spot, crap funiture very dated half broken or not working.Coffee and tea in room but not milk or whitener also does not get replenished at all so what 's the point of having it.Some staff amazing but some need a lot of training in bars.Once all the buiding work done it could be amazing i dont no how first choice sells it as a platuimun hotel more like a basic 3 star beach hotel. Food ok but not great.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I visited Royal Brayka with 3 others in late November, early December. The hotel is new in that it is not finished. However, that did not deter us from having a great time. It is adjacent to the Brayka Bay hotel where facilities are shared with the exception of the main restaurant.

Only three room blocks are open resulting in an hotel with few guests thus giving us no restaurant queues, no bar queues, plenty of choice of sunbeds around the pool or on the beach, quick service from staff and empty swimming pools most of the time. Bliss if you are seeking a quiet holiday to chill out. I was informed that other blocks are not due to open before April next year at the earliest.

Despite only being open for a few months, sadly the rooms were showing signs of wear and tear such as mould and rust in the bathrooms, and paint blistering and peeling from outside walls. Overall though, they were comfortable and we had been allocated ground floor sea view rooms which was a bonus.

The grounds were immaculate, kept that way by a busy team of gardeners who seem to be working from dawn to dusk. Plenty of planting was going on for a splendid display of flowers in February/March next year.

All meals were taken in the buffet restaurant. It is a pity that it is the only restaurant in the all inclusive package as a change would have been welcome. It is he only all inclusive hotel that I have visited that has just a single restaurant. Food in general was ok and something should have been there to suit most palates.

The entertainment team was Italian and we would not have missed it if it wasn't there. The noise made on the each trying to encourage others to play their puerile games outside the beach bar, was very distracting if you just wanted to sun bathe or read. However, I did enjoy Egyptian Night that took pace in the amphitheatre of the Brayka Bay hotel.

There is a well-equipped gym and spa which was very much under used.

The pièce de resistance attracting guests to Brayka Bay is the coral reef. It is in my opinion, one of he best reefs accessible to snorkellers in Egypt, if not the whole world. In my short time there I identified 124 different species of fish over the variable types of reef just off shore. However, I have concern about the long term future of the reef due to the number of snorkellers there and the number likely to rise exponentially during the high season. I can only hope that the hotels exercise some control over numbers to sustain this beautiful reef.

Summing up, the hotel is great for a rest, particularly when we went at the end of November. The weather was ideal as we neither felt cold in the evenings or sweated during the day. There was little evening entertainment and even less from 1 December, but this was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: We were in Block 2 that had excellent views over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Khimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Spent two weeks 14 to 28 November. The 2nd week cost me €146 extra pp = €20 per day!!! Given this cost the value is astonishing. The resort has many plus points; Food is good to excellent (could have had a "Middle East corner every day and not once per week); anyone who cannot find something good to eat at each meal has a serious problem. I heard rave reviews about the pasta. Staff were friendly without being pushy. No "baksheesh" begging. Room quality/service was impeccable, after some initial equipment problems.

There was a mix with Russian, Italian (not on the dives though) and Germans dominating, but with a good representation by Dutch and British. A mega-plus is access to the best house reef in my 20 years of diving; superb snorkelling; close to Elphinstone; professional dive centre with competitive prices. Weather was perfect; sea temperatures excellent. Warm and fresh swimming pools. Easy beach access. Gym, chemist, hairdresser, massage and clinic on site. Pretty gardens. Alcohol quality was remarkably good, even the white wine, but the red was dreadful. Beer was cold and pleasant. Brilliant pool bar.

Cons: One case of 'Gippo' tummy, sorted out by the pharmacist in 24 hours. Wonky room equipment - speedily repaired. Decorations and ambiance of the dining room and lobby bar reminded me of old railway stations. Bring repellent for the mozzies for pool bar sundowners. Very limited english TV

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pedroinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.1 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,286 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
29.6 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.5 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
589 reviews
9.0 mi away
Al Malikia Resort
Al Malikia Resort
#20 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,961 reviews
12.6 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Brayka Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Brayka Beach Resort

Address: 17 KM North of Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam 11311, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $67 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Brayka Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 321
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Brayka Resort is one of the three resorts of Brayka Resorts Complex. Beautifully nestled around the stunning bay Brayka, they range over 1.3 km of coast line offering sandy beaches, tropical gardens, excellent leisure facilities and two stunning outer coral reefs that are home to an incredible diversity of marine life. Royal Brayka Resort is located at the spot overlooking the bay and offers all the necessary facilities for guests of all ages to turn vacation into time of relaxation, fun and excitement. It comprises 321 guest rooms thoughtfully furnished and equipped with attention to detail. The rooms are offering stunning views over the extensive sandy beach, swimming-pool and the sea. Swimming-pools and beach facilities as well as wellness programs offered by the Wellbeing & SPA center will let you combine relaxing and active moments during the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Royal Brayka Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing