We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoiled destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wadi Lahami Village
Hoedspruit
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unspoiled destination”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We never go twice to the same destination, but we visited Wadi Lahami in 2006 and 2007 and enjoyed every second of it. At that time Ross and his girlfriend were running the place and it was managed really well. Tents looked great, ablution blocks were neat and clean and the food was tasty.

We are hard core divers so every day was 4 dives to the most beautiful unspoiled reefs where no live aboard boats were allowed. Loved dive spots like Claudia, Iron garden and Maksour. We dived with dolphins, saw many sharks and were given plenty of opportunity to do some under water photography.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redseadivingsafari, Guest Relations Manager at Wadi Lahami Village, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Red Sea Diving Safari is glad that we have valuable return guests who choose Wadi Lahami as their destination for diving year after year. The world class dive sites of the Fury Shoal reef chain have been well preserved until now and are the perfect opportunity for underwater photographers. Due to the remoteness and small size of our southernmost village Wadi Lahami and the remoteness of the Fury Shoals, our divers are offered an exclusive experience compared to the big diving centers in neighboring hotels.
The previous village manager Ross, who also founded the village, has done a great job in educating the new generation which he chose to be his successors in order to continue the high level of service quality, cleanness and guest satisfaction our return guests have experienced in the early years. We are glad that our valued guests recognize the beauty of this place and keep returning year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
16
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The beautiful thing about ts place is just about everything. First off, it's off St. John's reef system which is otherwise only reachable by live-aboard boats, so you will get a treat to world class diving without being confined to a boat and a tiny room. Next the spot on the beach is just beautiful, it's a quiet picture perfect natural setting, and especially if u stay in a tent, your eyes will take a break from cars and buildings and life will suddenly feel more relaxing. The boats and the service and the way the day is organized will make sure you check out of your busy life and just have a proper holiday that you'll be grinning about for years to come!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuffadvicealready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet and peaceful place, with very good dive spots all accessible by speed boat. Excellent food and the staff were amazing and very helpful at all times. The Overall experience was lovely and I highly recommend it for a diving chilled vacation.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Fadwa Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Wadi lahami is a very relaxing place to be.
Diving sites are the best ..diving gear is as new..
Food is very nice. .and healthy! !
The people are extremely helpful and friendly.
Tents are always clean and tidy.
Bathrooms are always clean.
A place everyone must visit.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hatem-salah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for a week in the Royal tent.Its super clean and the food was amazing.Staff very profesaional, freindly and always willing to helpIt feels like home.Awesome diving spot, you dive there around 5 times a day, very rich corals We saw dolphins, turtles and sharks there.It the best diving spot in Egypt.They also have a kitesurfing center, the have a good lagoon there so you can chill and kite thereThis is my second time here in wadi lahami and im coming again very soon.I would really reccomend it to anyone if i had an option to give higher rating i would :)Once again thank you wadi lahami for the best week i had since ages.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marwan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Really, this is the best place to stay, if you are serious about diving and serious about diving this part of the Southern Red Sea. Using zodiacs, you get close to all reefs. The resorts, dayboats and liveaboards only tak you to a very few - that by far are not as great as the "secret" ones only reachable by zodiac. However, you must put up with strict time management, sitting on the side of a speedboat, no toilets on board (hey, you have world's largest water closet right by the side of the boat :-)) If you can put up with that and if you are experiened enough, Lahami and its divesites will retrieve you again and again and again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I love tented camps for scuba diving in Egypt. They offer a less crowded, more relaxed way of enjoying your holiday than your average resort.

Wadi Lahami is no different. A two hour drive south from Marsa Alam airport, it is a quiet place with room for a maximum of 50 guests. Most rooms are tents (with a choice between a basic tent and a luxury tent which is slightly larger and has a fan and fridge), and small chalets.

The beds are quite hard, but personally I prefer that over the soft mattresses of most hotels.
Staff is friendly and always ready to help.

A typical day starts at 6:30 with breakfast (that sounds early, but the heat makes sure you don't want to stay in your tent long after sunrise). At 7:00 you are expected to be at the diving shack next to the camp to prepare your gear and bring it to the zodiac. At 7:15 you are taken to a reef with a zodiac. Between dive 1 and 2 you stay on the zodiac with tea and some cake.

Back at the camp, lunch is around 12:00, after which you have the option of a third dive on a reef somewhat closer, but again with a zodiac. Sometimes this is not the same zodiac as in the morning, in which case you have to get all your gear out and into another one. If you like nightdives you can do one at 18:15 on the house reef. The house reef is a little bit offshore, so you are taken there in a zodiac too.

For non-divers or if you want to take a break there is a nice little sun-protected area near the water with beds.

Breakfast, lunch and dinner are simple but nice. No dinner-buffet, but a plate prepared in the kitchen, usually with chicken or fish. And the desserts are absolutely fabulous (I must have gained several kg's the week I stayed there!).

We booked soft all-inclusive, so I was surprised to find out I had to pay for diet coke. All non-diet drinks were free.

Besides these small annoyances, the only real downside was the manager of the place.
If you need him, try to get him first thing in the morning. Otherwise he'll be out on the water all day kitesurfing and not caring for his guests. The only other time I spoke to him was when he came to us ranting about something we had supposedly said to another group of guests which he did not approve of. It was totally untrue, but he would hear no reason, leaving us annoyed and the other group embarrassed.

One final comment. Like most tented camps maintenance is poor. Our tent door was torn, and the day we left the roof tore open from front to back. Glad that didn;t happen at night!

Room Tip: You can choose between normal tents, larger tents with more room and a fan, and chalet-style rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dixet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.0 mi away
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
#29 of 68 in Marsa Alam
836 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#9 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marsa Shagra Village
Marsa Shagra Village
#1 of 12 in Marsa Alam
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Three Corners Fayrouz Plaza Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadi Lahami Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadi Lahami Village

Property: Wadi Lahami Village
Address: Road to Shelateen | Southern Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wadi Lahami Village 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wadi Lahami Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing