We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays in Egypt”
Review of Aurora Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aurora Bay Resort
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at the Oriental Bay for two weeks in October and had the most wonderful time possible - even a thunderstorm to help us remember home!

It is difficult to add to what others have said about this hotel, although you must remember that it is often just the extremes that grab attention.

So I will try and list the positives first : the staff and management were brilliant (Ahmed and Ayman on the beach in particular), the beach/towel staff, waiters in the restaurant and the General Manager, Mr Walid.

Food was generally above average when compared to other hotels that we have stayed at in Egypt - whilst not a large hotel, the variety was good and very well cooked. I think that management have listened - food on the beach at lunchtime was not just "pizza and chips" (although available!), most days they also had a barbeque, serving small burgers or kofti as well - really nice!

We were also fortunate to try the Lebanese a la carte restaurant - really really good food - if you get the opportunity, go for it!

Yes the bars are stretched sometimes in the evening, and the beer is bottled so not as cold as you would like, but I never saw major queues. So what if it takes 5 minutes to get a drink - you are on holiday after all!

The rooms are large and perhaps a little dated or sparsely furnished, but very well cleaned. Just a pointer, we were in Block 1 and it did get a little bit of noise from the evening entertainment, but not enough to keep you awake. Blocks further away should be quieter.

There are a few shops on site selling most of what you are likely to need or want to buy as gifts. Perhaps a little expensive but that is to be expected. Just to mention that the Duty Free at Marsa Alam was very well stocked and a much wider range of goods than we have seen before at Egyptian airports. Also Costa Coffee and Pizza Hut?

The best aspect of the hotel by far is the beach! Compared to some Red Sea resorts, this beach was at least sandy as opposed to coral and no long jetty to get into the sea - just a gentle walk over sand. The house reef is amazing - everything you want to see is there and almost better than on a boat trip. Please just do not stand on the coral, otherwise it won't be there for future visitors! Oh and take a waterproof camera! Oh and the music is not too intrusive!

A few negatives - evening entertainment started quite late, sometimes not until 10 o'clock. If you are not one for staying up late, then you will miss it as we did! Also, bear in mind that there is no local town to go to the local bars or nightlife - what is in the hotel is what you get!

From a disabled person's point of view, the hotel can be a bit challenging as there are a number of steps to negotiate, although you can get around and to the pools fairly easily. None of the accommodation has a lift so ask for ground floor if necessary. The restaurant is on the first floor but has a lift. The beach is a fair bit of a walk away (across a patrolled road) and whilst there is a shuttle bus, this only goes half way so you still have to negotiate the hill down to the beach. The hotel should invest in a couple of golf buggies as this would make life easier.

Overall, we thought the hotel was excellent value and we would love to go back!

Room Tip: Block 1 was a little noisy and the sea view is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We will consider you kind comments with immediate effect.
Your feedback is our guideline to evaluate and enhance our services.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

as Egyptian girl i heard a lot from my friends about Marsa Alam so, i decided to spend 3 days of my vacation there & i choose Oriental bay as my sister spent here honey moon in it 3 months ago & it recommended it to our family The attraction is not just the clean facilities and attentive staff, but the professionalism and friendly of everyone working there & i want to thank specially Alaa in restaurant & Aymen on beach & team leader Mr. Walid hotel manager

Room Tip: it's better to choose superior room with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Eng_Shymaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is our guideline to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is ideal for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. The beach has a great advantage in the proximate vicinity of coral, where you can snorkel and may not go to the next snorkelling trips. The food in the restaurant is excellent, every night one of the dishes were fish or seafood.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasb458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is our guideline to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here after having been Marsa 3 times before so know what to expect especially as twice visited Brayka Bay (next bay along) from where we had previously walked to this bay. We liked the bay before, great for turtles & eagle ray and with good reviews for oriental we booked.
So mainly comparing with similar hotels in Marsa and similar price here's what we thought having returned from a week there.

Firstly, staff brilliant, very helpful, no question, as good as or better than elsewhere.
Rooms are as others said, very large & comfortable but what on earth is the point of the kitchen area!!

Food, first part of week we thought was excellent, varied and very good quality, probably better than elsewhere. Then in the second half, when occupancy plummeted to probably less than half, the choice was less (they even cut out one of the "specials" serving areas) and consistently MUCH poorer quality eg chewy meat, unheard of previously. After commenting on this to the restaurant manager, the chef cooked us a special (tender) piece of meat, but this shouldn't really need to be the case. Another point, they really don’t do themselves any favours when on the barbeque one night there were 2 piles of beef being served. When offered the meat that looked poor quality I requested some from the other pile which looked good (but only the standard we had earlier in week) to be told it was for "a la carte" only, extra! There was no a la carte, and no ability to pay extra, but that's not the point. I think the truth is it was reserved for the management who ate there later! This is not remotely acceptable to get rid of the rough on the guests, certainly never experienced before, and indeed when I complained I got no explanation (probably proving my point) but was later given some of the decent meat. (Hope the managers didn't starve.)
Other than the decline in food, which the management can rectify, we had some fundamental negative perceptions generally about the hotel which individually are small but together meant we went away feeling negative, and would not return again. So these are them.........

Loud techno beat music all day non stop on beach, HATED it. This alone would deter us returning. Complained (in joke) to beach manager, who did turn it off for a time. But it reappeared every day. I wonder how many people want it, perhaps the hotel should ask.

Lack of nice bars. Pool bar really is a pool bar, ie only accessed IN THE POOL! No seats with table near it with shade, so not in my mind unusable for a drink in passing, eg on way to lunch. Beach bar closes at dusk for AI, and is chargeable at night, WHY? Hotel desperately needs nice places to have an evening drink, only lobby bar is available and then only till 11pm, again WHY? Other AI are much less restrictive.

Hotel is quite small, which is good in that there are no queues for food etc, but it does have its downsides. If occupancy is down, as it clearly was significantly in our second half, there is no atmosphere and the hotel makes short cuts in variety and quality of food. Maybe necessarily, but this is no way to maintain a successful business. The hotel uses entirely bottled drinks, no draught beer/coke etc. Good you think? Firstly I thought so, bottled beer better than draught Sakara any day. BUT drinks are always served warm and flat because they do not have enough capacity in fridges and when open they leave the bottles open and on the counter getting nice and warm and flat. Ice seems in short supply, unlike elsewhere it is not routinely supplied.

Egyptian evening entertainment is always poor, but this is the first hotel I would say it's virtually non existent. Programmes seem to be kept a secret (we did find some) but do not seem to be followed. Entertainment in the hotel only actually occurred on 2 nights and was very short length. The beach party held on Wednesdays didn't start till 11pm and was EXTRA!!!!

Overall, especially with the hotel physically cut off from beach by the main road (not a problem to cross by the way), the place lacks a focal point, and feels cold, feels like it has no soul. Must stress this is not the fault of the staff who all are brilliant. On initial perceptions this is a good hotel but after a few days we felt many things needed to change, and sadly were not sorry to be leaving (first time to feel that in Egypt). Indeed one of my fellow travelers said to me he was glad to be going home, was "bored to death". What a shame. Sorry to say we will not return.


PS we saw no turtles during our week, VERY disappointing after last years good experiences, where have they gone, the bay is hardly any busier than then away from shore.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigelom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at this resort from the 20/6 - 27/6 with my girlfriend away on our first holiday together and overall, thought it was a very nice resort to stay in. The main aspect that made this resort in my opinion was the staff. They were fantastic! Excellent service in every way possible, just to mention a few names (even though I've forgotten some) stood out the most and they were, Gamal and Mahmood (the barmen in the lobby bar), Ahmed (barman on the poolside bar), Hamdy (waiter in the restaurant), Kitty (anime team) and the Guest relations manager. All were exceptional and assets to the resort.
The rooms were very large; they had two bedrooms, one double room and a twin room, both with en-suites. And then a lounge/kitchen area which was pretty pointless to be fair as it had nothing in them apart from the units and a couple of sofas. The rooms were cleaned to a very high standard daily.
The restaurant was very busy most of the times we went for our meals but everything was still very well stocked and the staff were working effortlessly clearly, resetting and seating guests. I was mostly impressed with how good the variety was as I was bit sceptical as I thought the food would be fairly repetitive. The best part was how the staff managed to save us the same table every night for dinner on the terrace, which I thought was again showing great service.
The grounds and the pools were all very good and they had a games room as well with pool tables and table tennis tables which guests could use free of charge! (although the equipment was a bit tatty).
The only negatives about the resort would be that it's in the middle of a pretty derelict area of Egypt and a fair distance from the airport and local town. And that the beach across the road isn't that great either. Also there were a lot of Italians most of which were sporting budgie smugglers......
All in all, it was a very good resort which was made better by the staff, but I wouldn't return only because of the location. Put this resort anywhere else in the world with its staff and I definitely would.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yousaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is our guideline to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've been here a week and I recommend everybody.I thinking that arrive in January :) The hotel was clean and staff were very friendly. Deliver what ever else we did not want to return to the Czech Republic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Your feedback is our guideline to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Friendly staff. My room was little bit messy and extrabet was very uncomfortable. The animators were too intrusive. The beach was clean with good staff in the bar. Very warm water and amazing see life. This place is suitable for people who don´t want to travel. There is only hotel, beach and desert. Nothing more...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george86_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walid S, General Manager at Aurora Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guest

On behalf of the hotel management and staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your feedback regarding your stay at the Oriental Bay Marsa Alam.

Please accept our apology for any inconvenience occurred during your stay.
We assure you that we will consider all your comments with immediate effect.

We consider your feedback as our guidelines to evaluate and enhance our services.
Your complete satisfaction is our goal.

We look forward to welcoming your good selves once again in the near future.
"Come as a guest, leave as a friend"

Sincerely yours
Walid Sakr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
11.0 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
1.2 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,269 reviews
58.6 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elphistone Resort
Elphistone Resort
#29 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,399 reviews
10.1 mi away
Malikia Resort Abu Dabbab
Malikia Resort Abu Dabbab
#19 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,899 reviews
13.6 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Bay Resort

Address: 15 Km North | Red Sea, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Oriental Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $41 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Bay Resort is located on Jabal Rosas Bay, one of the most captivating and exclusive beaches on Egypt's Red Sea coast in Marsa Alam. The resort is an enchanting desert oasis, offering a luxuriously relaxed accommodation surrounded by a spectacular view and dramatic landscapes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aurora Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Bay Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing