We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, clean and friendly!!”
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resta Grand Resort
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Relaxing, clean and friendly!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the Resta Grand Resort for 2 weeks in July so weather was very very hot!

On arrival we were greeted with apple juice, and the guys at the desk were making us feel very much at home, we booked in for garden view rooms but on arrival we got told we had been upgraded to pool view!! No idea why but can't complain! We then got taken into the buffet restaurant where we could eat as much as we wanted which was very welcomed after our flight! On the first night I have to say Hamdy in the restaurant said some rude things to my boyfriend and during our stay hasn't been very pleasant to our family.

Although, the rest of the staff are lovely, Sammy in the restaurant is always lovely, Sam in the bar loved to have a laugh with us and as soon as we sat down at night he would bring us our signature drinks, sometimes you had to wait a bit for a drink but I have to say it did get rather busy so did his very best! Also, Alaa at the pool bar was always bringing us drinks without us having to ask! Which was appreciated in the heat! He was lovely and always had a laugh with us, in the end our nicknames were 'England'.

The rooms were always spotless after the cleaner had been, we did only have our towels and bedding changed once over the 2 weeks though, but otherwise perfect, he even folded our pjs up neatly on the bed which I thought was cute. The pool was mostly clean and plenty of showers around the pool to clean yourself. The beach was awesome and was really cool to paddle in the sea, also went snorkelling in the pools, however it was a black flag all week- very disappointing for my boyfriend and his dad. In the lobby there was wifi- really slow but it was there.

The beach restaurant was great to go to for lunch some days for a change from the food in the normal restaurant- that got so boring and sickening near the end of the 2 weeks. We also went twice to the beach restaurant for tea and it was gorgeous both times, only €20 for 4 courses, I thought that was really good. Special thanks to Mohammed who was very welcoming and did everything he could to make our meal lovely.

The reception staff were also very helpful when we had any issues, until our last night when our air conditioning broke at about 10pm and we asked twice for someone to come and fix it, yet no one turned up.

All in all a really good hotel and friendly staff, the hotel is beautiful and clean. Great value for money as long as you don't mind literally chilling out for the time your there. I won't be going back in July again as it was too hot at points. I wouldn't go for 2 weeks again as it was boring near the end 10 days would have been perfect! Highly recommend this hotel for people who want sun, unlimited drinks and food, and a complete chill out!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahlouise95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    635
    239
    78
    47
See reviews for
538
992
55
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have just spent a week at this hotel.... Not long enough. The hotel was fantastic and the staff always happy, smiling and having a laugh. The restaurant had everything you could want on offer, especially loved the freshly made pasta by the chef. IF YOU CAN'T FIND ANYTHING TO EAT HERE THERE IS SOMETHING SERIOUSLY WRONG WITH YOU!!! The rooms were clean and very spacious. Two bottles of water were left every day. The pool and beach were great and you could always find a bed. The black flag was up a lot but I didn't see this as a problem as you could still snorkel. The people that complained about this need to get a life as I really don't know what they expected the Egyptians to do about nature and weather. Then again I suppose they did build the pyramids. A big shout out to the rep Ismail who was awesome!! I would totally recommend this hotel and will no doubt be returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlelis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Weald, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just got back from the resta grand, what an amazing holiday we had. Thanks to all the staff who worked hard to make our stay a pleasant one.
The food was amazing with plenty of choice, the bbq was great and speciasl thanks to the chef who stood by hot blazing bbq every night, nice friendly guy.
The staff throughout the hotel was great, never came accross any that was ever unfriendly,they all went out of their way to make the holiday a special one.
The gardens were in tip top condition and the stafff worked hard to keep it that way even in blazing temperatures and still stopped to say hello.
The entertainment was good, just what we like, the dj was amazing, he was a proffesional and got everyone dancing, very good at his job, the only downside was the live singer, she was awfull, her singing is very boring and hurt my daughters ears and made my other daughter have a headache.
special thanks to the entertainment team- brilliant!
our rooms were spotless throughout our stay, with fresh towels and clean linen daily.
I would warn everyone that goes to this hotel is the shopping arcade, on my first day i was conned as i did not understand the money, the second day i was a bit more wise but the same guy in the souveniere shop tried again and when i opened my purse he took out a note- very intimidating.
George at the handbag shop is very nice and i got on well with him, also the guy upstairs that sells towels was ok too.
A day out in the ocean snorkelling was amazing, the staff on the boat are second to none and looked after us and gave us a day to remember forever, this trip is not one to miss if you get the chance.
all in all i would recommend this hotel, we had a great time, and im thinking of going back next year. If your looking for clenliness great food and friendly staff this is the place to go.

Room Tip: we had a garden view family room and was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickchick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent one week at the Resta Grand and had a fantastic time. Our room was ideally located near both beach and pool and kept spotless throughout the week.The bars and restaurants were run by attentive, professional and funny staff. While the spirits were local the mixers were all brand names so cocktails were decent and we thought the range of food on offer was excellent with plenty of choice for vegetarians.

The daytime entertainment team were great (enjoyed the aquagym!) and very enthusiastic. Hotel did not seem very busy so no problem to get a sunbed near the sea or pool at any time of day. Evening entertainment was so-so; don't go expecting big shows and spectacles every night.

Resort is 10 mins from airport but not near anything else so perfect if, like us, you want a solid week of sunning, eating, drinking and reading!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitekat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel is fantastic from the moment you arrive. You are welcomed 'home' on arrival with a speedy check in with food available on arrival. Rooms are spacious and modern, cleaned everyday and our cleaner created a wide array of towel sculptures. free toiletries should you wish, branded tea, coffee and 2 bottles of water all replaced daily. ( one request would be a sunbed on the second floor rooms as with the first floor).
The hotel is clean the staff are pleasant helpful and nothing is too much, the only people complaining we're a group where everything was an issue please go back to Benidorm in future!
The pool is large spacious there is a sunbed for everyone with cushions parasol etc... And on most days you had your pick of 10 beds each. The bar is swim up and the lads will serve around the pool special mention to Alla for 2 weeks of super service!
The beach is split level with a bar and a good lunch restaurant that becomes Alacarte in the evening. The sea was mainly black flag while we we there but the shallow pools are a hive of activity and we even saw a Turtle just off the beach. This was for safety so unsure why people are moaning!
Finally the food was of good quality and varied from a large continental breakfast plus all the hot plates and egg counter toaster and juice bar. Thanks to Samy for the great service.
To an evening the food was superb from chicken,duck,beef,lamb you name it, steak cooked to your liking, a BBQ outside, pasta station, soup, salad bar. Deserts were fantastic chocolate cakes, pastries, yoghurt etc.... We went in after 8 every night, no queues or squabbles. WAGGIH was a legend reserving us a table by the end of the holiday and supplying amazing service.
The main bar had a great set of lads serving drinks (these are not branded as expected), Sam is the man at that bar and will make it a relaxing wait for for you as will El Bendar.
The only let down is the shocking entertainment please sort this out and my rating would have been full marks, the singer is painful.
THIS HOTEL IS EXCELLENT, TREAT PEOPLE HOW YOU WANT TO BE TREATED AND THEY GO THE EXTRA MILE FOR YOU! GIVE EGYPT AND THE RESTA GRAND A VISIT SOON!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank goodera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

had a wonderful time at resta grand resort, staff was excellent especially sam who worked at marsa club/space bar. food was amazing. entertainment not so good. pool bar was awesome.
rooms was cleaned everyday & restraunts,
air-conditioning worked well was a little noisy but nothing unbearable,
shops was amazing everything you can think of they sell, and spa is very cheap and good for massarge.
went snorkling & quad biking was also very good
overall was a perfect holiday! would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Resta Grand as 3 couples and had a really enjoyable stay. When we arrived we were told not to worry about checking in straight away and were taken for dinner after our long flight, from then on the staff went out of their way to ensure we we're happy and felt welcome. Sammy and Ahmed in the dining hall were excellent to us and always greeted us to a smile and a joke! The food was delicious, with great selections everyday, the fish in particular was amazing!
The pool and pool bar are good, always sun loungers available and a good selection of cocktails and ice creams to be had in the pool! The evening entertainment was the only thing we felt that let the hotel down, the entertainers work really hard but some of the acts were a little dull! The atmosphere outside the club house tho was always good and staff are great, in particular our waiter Sam who always had a laugh and a joke with us and made us feel welcome from day one. All in all, we had a great stay, we enjoyed the quad bike excursions and had a lovely meal at the beach restaurant, I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Marsa Alam.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#24 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,795 reviews
28.7 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#12 of 68 in Marsa Alam
380 reviews
12.1 mi away
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
#33 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.3 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#6 of 68 in Marsa Alam
446 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Property: Resta Grand Resort
Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#17 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 752
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
752 Spacious, comfortable guest rooms, fitted with modern amenities• Standard single room: 46 sqm• Twin room: 46 sqm• Family room: 52 sqm• Individually controlled air conditioning• 32 inch LCD flat screen TV• Satellite television• Hairdryer• Iron and ironing board upon request• Safety deposit box• Mini bar• Tea & Coffee making facilities• Sound system and telephone. All Inclusive & Ultra All inclusive programs available. 4 restaurants & 5 bars in addition to other two restaurants planned. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing