We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant value for our first visit to egypt”
Review of Resta Grand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Resta Grand Resort
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This was our first visit to Egypt we booked last minute and got a bargin so we were a bit apprehensive about hotel. Absolutely no need the Resta Grand exceeded our expectations and would definitely go back. A very quick transfer from airport 10mins we were taken in a golf buggy to a very spacious clean room we found bed very comfortable air con slightly noisy but worked very well in the heat. Food was excellent lots of choice and sweets were amazing if you didn't fancy anything the pasta station was very good. Drinks were good but could have done with a few more cocktail choices and diet soft drinks. Overall we found the staff very helpful and friendly they couldn't do enough for you and were very polite and spoke excellent English. The entertainment was the only thing that let the hotel down could have done with some variety and the kids disco was on far to late. Snorkelling off the beach was very good when the black flag wasn't up only had 2 days that it wasn't. Overall we were very happy with the hotel the weather was warm and sunny for 7 days we won't be back to the canaries.

Room Tip: We had block 24 very central to whole hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan2518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

Lets start by echoing the below, Resta Grand or Resta Reef ? the former in our opinion appeared vastly better. We have a walk round Resta Reef and where very glad we didn't choose it and it's not much cheaper but appears it's much poorer cousin. Saying that having not stayed there this is only on appearance so perhaps otherwise may disagree.

Transfer times to the Grand are only 10 minutes max and the airport itself is small but works well.

I know it's been said a thousand times but PLEASE stop getting visas from the tour operator !! they shamelessly heard the masses to their desks and convieniently never mention the cheaper and quicker bank option, just to the left as you enter. Can't swear to it but i'm sure Thomson we're taking 140 LE this year ! per visa.

As you get to the Grand the entrance is impressive all glass and marble, welcome drink offered and a quick and fast check in, they do seem to retain passports without explanation of when they will be back, we asked for ours next day.

There is then a somewhat unessesary wait outside to be "driven" to your room and your bags follow perhaps 30 mins later. Sure some rooms are far away but others are not and you could walk perhaps in less than time than waiting ?

Anyway the rooms are typical 4/5 star egyption fare, well appointed and spacious, I wont go into every detail but there nothing lacking and 4/5 English tv channels as well if that's what you fancy. Tea/water/coffee all free in room.
Couple of points about the room, the air con is effeciant but VERY noisy, though comes in useful for drowning out the "singer" in the evenings :-). Superfically the rooms are grand and clean but look closer and they are not so but nothing to worry about.

For us the main big issue was the beds as many have mentioned we found them rock hard and along with hard pillows found it hard going, literally, for a week. Saying that others liked them so it's all down to bed preference I guess.

The grounds and pool area are second to none, the grounds are tirelessly groomed by the most pleasant gardeners, the pool is huge freeform and clean, sun loungers are comfortable (better than the beds !) and plentiful.

The beach is also well kept, loads of beds and shade etc, sand is better than some red sea beaches but ofc rocky and coral based, no golden gentle sloping stuff here.

The Resta Reef and Grand share a jetty to go snorkelling from but 5 out of 7 days we're black flag, not unsually it seems. However a short walk past the Resta Reef is a large bay with another jetty usually never closed.

The Grand has a large lobby with free wifi but his is vastly over subscribed on an eveing and it almost grinds to a halt, any other time of day its fine so go up morning or day if you need to use in earnest.

Eating is mainly confined to the "The Space" or snack lunch in the "The Plateau" by the beach.

The Space offers full buffett, morning, dinner and evening, The Plateau just snacks at lunch time (pizza,burger,kebab etc) full a-la-carte in evenings.

The hotel has 3 al-a-cartes but I would say 99.9% of guests never used them they we're empty every night, despite best efforts of the staff to sell them daily. The hotel needs to look at this, its a shame to let them go unused.

Food in general is very good, large choice and plentiful in one week we saw as mains, whole roast duck, roast beef, kebabs, veal chops, and one night even Barracuda ! and ofc for the die hard "chips" ! every night.

Drinks are served almost every daylight hour, waiters will bring to your sun lounger if you don't fancy the 50 yd walk.

Don't drink too much as many have said there are no toilets at the pool, room/reception or beach only.....plan carefully if you get the trots !

Evening entertainment ? well......there is some but.....not our thing. Club singer etc.
The ever present animation team try but are not intrusive, there are the usual "sellers" around the pool but again though frequent are not rude or pushy.

There are lots of nationalities here, Russians, Germans, Italians etc none dominated to any extent but I think the hotel slants to the Italians. None caused any issues to us or anyone else.

Anyway think I've waffled long enough, overall The Grand is one of the better hotels, friendly staff and no major issues to concern anyone, just small things that may not suit some.

If you want to go to Marsa Alam you won't go wrong staying here

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. Garden views are as good as sea views imo. Those nearest the lobby cold be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wazza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Right. If you're thinking of staying at this hotel or the Resta Reef next door, then think no more. Book the Resta Grand. For the relatively small amount more that it'll cost you, you'll be staying at a hotel which is in many ways five-star, rather than the faded, rather tired, ex-Italian holiday village which is the Resta Reef, with its greatly inferior facilities.

Now to the usual stuff with a few money-saving tips at the end. The great debate is whether the Resta Grand is four-star or five-star. Well, my view is that it's right in the middle. Walk into the impressive lobby and it's without doubt five-star. (Very unusually for Egypt, it's got free wi-fi.) So are the bedrooms - big, comfortable and furnished to a high standard. We had two beautiful rooms in Block 21 which were maintained to an immaculate standard, thanks to the ever-smiling Ibrahim.

The pool area is also five-star. Plenty of stylish sun beds and parasols with thick mattresses and good service from the pool bar. A recurrent complaint is that there are no toilets in the pool area - come on, management. Get this sorted. People have been complaining about this for years.

The spacious gardens are good, especially around the large terrace, but not as good further towards the beach. I've been to plenty of hotels in Egypt in this price category and they're not as good as the best. Four-star.

There are plenty of conventional plastic sunbeds on the beach terraces. If the win'd not too strong and the jetty's open, then the snorkeling in the sea is excellent. Plenty of coral and fish. There's also some very good snorkeling in the pools in the lagoon at the end of the Resta Reef's beach and it's well worth a look.

Now the food. Well, it's good but not great overall. I'd put it as three or four-star. There's always something to tempt you and some evenings the variety is very good indeed, but it's not five-star. Having said that, the hotel's management is genuinely concerned and the food was very good towards the end of our stay - not that it was bad to start with. The main "The Space" buffet restaurant is fairly typical but we preferred to eat out on the terrace. Service is also pretty good (a special thanks to Sami and Hamdi who were excellent) but drinks service patchy.

The three "a la carte" themed restaurants are good but pricey. We think that the management could do something here to make them more attractive to all-inclusive customers.

Service on the terrace was very good, especially when Ahmed and Sam were on duty so a special thanks to them. The wine's a bit variable though.

So would I recommend the Resta Grand? Yes, without doubt. for what you pay, you will receive phenomenal value for money and have a great holiday in five-star accommodation. In fact, you could pay a LOT more for a far worse holiday in Egypt.

Money. We take 1 US dollar notes from Cheque Centres for "daily" tipping, better than coins which can't be exchanged at the bank.

While you're getting your dollars, get an extra 15 USD each for your visa when you arrive at the excellent Marsa Alam airport. Get your visa from the bank kiosk immediately on your left as you enter the arrivals hall. Thomson reps will try to herd you to their desk, saying they'll collect the money on the coach. - and then they'll rip you of by way of their exchange rate. You'll only save £2 -3 each but why encourage them?

Secondly, there's a very smart HSBC branch at the entrance to the hotel which will give you a much better exchange rate than here in the UK - about 8 - 10% better. It's open all day every day except Friday and Saturday and has an ATM as well. They'll also change big notes for smaller value ones. You'll also get a much better rate if you want to change money back at the end of your holiday.

Turn right out of the main gate and about 200m down on the left is a well stocked supermarket run by Peter, who has immaculate English. You'll find it much cheaper than the hotel.

Room Tip: Fantastic views of the sunrise from East facing sea view rooms eg, block 21. You'll have to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OtistheBlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This resort is lovely, the setting, the cleanliness, the rooms, the food , the staff. I loved evrg about it. You can do snorkeling on the beach can u imagine!!! Colored fish are swimming around u, there is also a long bridge approx 70 m from which u can watch the wonderfully colored fish and u can also jump into water. U can enjoy relaxing on the hills and watching the great view. This is seriously beautiful and relaxing don't miss it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheriemam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is my first review ever, so i hope it helps you all. We have just returned from this resort. On arrival to the hotel we were welcomed and efficiently escorted to our rooms. Wow, a large comfy room with a fab view of the sea. All that we desired was at hand. Once unpacked , we took a tour of the grounds. large resort with everything conveniently placed, food, drinks,all close at hand. Staff were polite and smiley, nothing was too much trouble. Beach clean, well equipped with beds and umbrellas. Pool side plenty of beds, chairs , tables, umbrellas etc. staff available to wait on you. Pool bar, simple food,snack food available and loads of drinks. Meals, lots of choice, plenty of it, particularly enjoyed local fare. Have to recommend the couples massage most incredible therapists. Also we both were blown away by the semi submarine trip to see the reefs. My husband went diving, but preferred to go with the dive centre in the marine at the port. Cant wait to return, happy holidays to all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresalipinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We have just returned from the Resta Grand - Tranquil, clean and very pleasant stay. The hotel itself is gorgeous - food amazing, the service second to none, One moan is the the al carte restaurants are chargeable and therefore empty, the main food hall steady and amazing with a huge variety of food all fresh hence why would you pay to go to the other two. Drinks on tap all day - Sam the Man amazing always there to serve as were all the waiters. The pools immaculate - I agree with Misswoo8 with regard to the toilet facilities you either have to go to your room or main building which is a bit of a pain but for us two it was fine. Hamda so funny always pleasant. The Spa facilities worth treating yourself - amazing not rushed and treated like a VIP. The bars all function well and for those stating about the service for a drink - I am sure a two min walk to go get a drink in busy times isn't anything to complain about - its good to walk !!!! The rooms themselves faultless - immaculate very spacious and cleaned daily. Transfer a bonus 10 Min - be sure to have £13.00 visa money on you - we were not informed of this, they don't take it at the airport - they take this per person on the transfer to resort. Have a walk along the coast - beautiful coves. We went into Port Ghalib - very nice few shops little bit of hassle but on the main strip you have TGI's Pizza hut and various egyptian bars, we went into a lovely bar very fairly priced no hassle lovely evening. We have been to Sharm before - and didn't like the hassle outside the resort - here we felt welcome safe and a valued customer who really got there monies worth, met some amazing people and would not hesitate to return .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jadey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our rooms where the other end of the hotel away from the restaurant /lobby and we had a toddler with us - rooms where clean and spacious.
There were 3 pools - one of which was a baby pool which should have been heated (as advertised) but they turned the heating off on the 1st April 2013 - which meant that my son was freezing after 5 minutes in the pool and there was not much for him to do if he couldnt go swimming - we took him down to the beach which was stoney and stones in the shallow bits also so he couldnt swim in the sea (as the sea temperature was warmer than the pool)
There are no toilets near or situated around the pool area - which meant you had to use the beach toilet(situated a good 5 minutes walk) or the lobby or your own room.
The only bar round the pool was a swim up one which you would only swim if the water wasnt freezing at this time in the year - so you would have to order drinks looking down into the bar as the bar was sunken into the ground - which was a diffficult and not nice - the snacks were non existant - my son wanted an ice cream at 11.30am and we were told they didnt serve it until 1.30pm - when he woke up after his nap at 3pm we went straight away to get him an ice cream and was told that we couldnt have one because it finished at 3pm!
We went all the way to the pool bar to get a couple of drinks only to find them taken away full when wasnt sat next to them. One night I ordered white wine and it tasted of water. You couldnt get drunk if you wanted to or no matter how hard you tried. The wasnt enough staff to serve drinks and you would have to go to the bar yourself. Will not be staying there again - the hotel itself was nice and clean but the little things, like the toilets round the pool, heating of the pool, the layout of everything was just not right and made the holiday hard work rather than relaxing as it should be. ALso the Air con units were extremely loud!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Misswoo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#26 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,865 reviews
19 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
#32 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,618 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resta Grand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resta Grand Resort

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $62 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Resta Grand Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Jaz Grand Resta” features 396 modern, comfortable guest rooms including: 120 sea view, 80 pool view, 144 garden view, 48 family rooms, 4 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Resta Grand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing