We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best holiday ever.”
Review of Jaz Grand Resta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jaz Grand Resta
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Reviewed February 1, 2013

For those of you who do not read all of the reviews, just let me say, if your thinking about going here .. GO .. do not change your mind, this really is a hotel to enjoy your holiday at. For those of you who read all .. here we go.
The first thing to mention is just how nice and pleasant all the staff are. You'll sense that as soon as you walk into the Lobby which is where we were welcomed by Amr and provided with a welcome drink. Their helpfulness is second to none. Not only were our bags looked after from the coach on arrival, we were transported to our room and our bags followed shortly after by Wael who then explained our new home to us including the free safe, yes free, that's a first for me. The room was beautifully large and spotlessly clean.
The All Inclusive restaurant named "Space" was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed all the varied food provided, slightly different from European holiday food, but stories I'd heard about tummy upsets were unfounded, we did not hear of any problems like that. A previous reviewer said they were not served drinks at their table??? We NEVER had to go and collect our wine, tea, coffe, they were always served to us. If you go, sit in the restaurant and watch all the waiters at every meal, you'll notice how happy they are BUT there is one who never stops smiling, when you finally work out which one he is, check his name, you'll see it's Samy. I’ve never seen anyone smile so much as him.
Here I should mention 99% of staff in all locations are male.
The bars.. Just by the Lobby is the "Marsa Club Bar" I did see an occasional guest get a drink there but, (as with the other two bars) you were waited on. Here Abdo, Sam and Mahmoud happily served you just where you sat, indoors or outdoors. It was a very relaxing way to drink with NO Queuing.
Here I should mention the unrivalled ambience. In the Lobby, beautiful background music is played.
The pool bar is a swim up bar and waiter service around the sun loungers. The pool looks enormous but is, in fact, three pools, one being slightly heated. Again the music was background, so I guess, if you like music pounding out, it might not be to your liking. To me it was truly relaxing.
The private beach bar also has waiter service, so relax on your inclusive free beach lounger and be waited on. Towels for the beach and pool are free and cleaned daily. The beautiful sandy beach runs into an area of coral and it is 30/40 mtrs in length before the deeper sea, we found our sand shoes a must. Whilst in the coral area you can be knee deep one step then waist deep the next so be very careful. Even there, you will see beautifully coloured fish. This coral can be bypassed by walking along the private Jetty and then stepping into deeper water.
You will read previous reviews which mention people disturbing you whilst relaxing by the pool or on the beach, trying to sell you things. This was a concern for us before travelling but now let me tell you the truth. Only Staff connected to this Resort can do this, it is a totally private Resort. Yes, we were spoken to on four occasions, NOT pushy but just explaining what you could get on the Resort. Thank goodness they did do that as, being all inclusive, we might not have considered paying for food in their other Restaurants.
The first A la Carte meal we had was in the “Marsa Restaurant” Mohamed manages this restaurant and, believe me, he will give you a deal worth having, ie four courses and only pay for the main course, then 20% off, then free drinks. Need I say any more? Oh yes, the food was so good we had to go back again.
The second Restaurant is the “Zeit Zatoon” This one is managed by Walid. Again you will get a deal worth having with the same high standard of food.
There is also the “Plateau” Restaurant which is beautifully positioned overlooking the beach and sea. Unfortunately this one is closed during the winter months as it is an open air Restaurant.
My wife accepted (no pressure) two different types of treatments from the other two members of the resort to talk to us. She ended up being totally pampered for a lot less money than prices back home, so a thank you to Dolly and Nora and a special thanks to Ahmed 20 and all his crew. Not to be confused with Ahmed at the Marsa’s Bar
A simply excellent holiday down to ALL the staff being so exceptionally good and I’m sorry not to remember all their names, but two more who need a mention and a big thank you to Natalia who checked to make sure our stay was as we wanted and Hamdy who looked after us in The Space. Finally, a last thank you to Waleed, who with Wael and Amr helped finish our holiday making us feel like celebrities. Thank you all so much.

Room Tip: Rooms in blocks 41 and higher get more sun on patio or balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LinkyViv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 2,075 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

good food, good service, sammy in the bar is brilliant as is the rest of the lads. rooms are spacious, clean and comfy, bed was a little hard but i have a very bad back and it did not cause me any problems.if you are looking for a place to chill out after the madness of christmas, this is it.the staff go completly overboard to make your holiday as good as they can, one thing could have been better, we had a black flag all week so we could not go snorkeling, but this obviously had nothing to do with the hotel. looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: i chose a sea view, these rooms are furthest away from the main reception, bar and resteraunts so ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bugite96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Other reviews say it all - Excellent hotel - very comfortable rooms. This was a return visit for us and the hotel staff acknowledge this by little extras in your room like dressing gown and slippers, large bowl of fruit plus extra toiletry items. Staff in most areas exceptional especially around the pool. The staff kept coming round and re-filling your glasses without having to be asked! We found the wine waiters in the Space restaurant not so attentive and most nights it was a case of fetch the drinks yourself if you wanted an alcoholic drink. Soft drinks were all self service and the juice was very nice. Thomson Rep Sarah was very helpful and friendly. Snorkeling of jetty is excellent and was very lucky in that during the second week it was open every day. Would definitely return again - possibly next January.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Just back from a week staying in the Resta Grand Resort. The hotel complex, the bedroom the food the drinks all excellent no complaints at all. Towels for the beach provided at no extra cost as is the room safe. We had a meal in the Marsa club restaurant which was really good value, complimentary aperitif, starter ,soup, sweet and drinks with waiter service, the only extra cost you paid for was the main course at £10 a head, no complaints there. The bedrooms are spotless with drinks, kettle, shampoo, water all replenished every day. The toilets in the main reception are spotlessly clean, well done to the cleaner who did a good job there. The all inclusive package of drinks and cocktails had plenty to choose from although the wine was not to my taste. if you want a hotel holiday and are happy tp stay in the complex this is for you. We did venture out to Port Celib a very new small town? 10 minutes a way, not a lot to see but worth spending a hour or two. The garden are very well tended with colourful flowers in the boarders. All in all I had a wonderful break at the Resta Grand and would recommend a break there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brieryfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Sorry for.late review we came home in October fantastic holiday very clean in all areas most of staff were great very helpfull staff at pool not so great but feel sure gm Aldo will soon look into this problem the food in all areas is great my wife had a problem.with walking we had a club car when ever we needed it a phone call away but we still had a fantastic holiday the only thing I would say is our new eu guests would take so much ie drinks and food and leave most of it what a waste for the hotel but all in all a fantastic hotel would return to see Aldo and his team

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just returned from a fortnight in this hotel for the fourth time. The first time we were there was it's first season and everything was excellent. Most things there still are, however the hotel is showing signs of wear and tear. Why not ? It is a very popular location but I can't help but think that the management should be spending more resources on maintaining the current hotel than starting to extend the place and then having to halt the extension due to low occupancy in the existing hotel (40% whilst we were there). The beginning of shabbiness is apparent already. It would also appear that they have reduced staffing levels which puts pressure on the staff they have. A real shame because the genuine, caring service can only suffer due to this.

Having said all the above, we had no complaints at all with the service we personally received. Special mentions should go to; the wonderful Sammy in the Preview restaurant. Such a sweet, kind chap who made my 13 year old grandson's birthday so special and was always a pleasant, smiling presence every mealtime. Sam in the Marsa Club bar who worked so hard and so fast all day but still found time to entertain and ensure we had everything we required promptly and efficiently. The Animation Team were an absolute joy, in particular Sofia and Maria who my 2 year old grandson, Ziggy, absolutely fell in love with. They always made time for him to play and talk with him and the whole team Francesco, Manuel and Fay deserve plaudits for the brave efforts they put into their shows - well done guys !!

It is hard NOT to single out those people who made the biggest impact on your holiday and it is not intended to denigrate the rest of the staff - there was nobody who you didn't feel was offering anything less than their full skills and abilities to ensure our enjoyment.

So, another great holiday, the tiniest bit of indecision as to whether to return again and the hope that management appreciate their greatest assets - their staff and the need to keep the hotel up to scratch to ensure people will feel able to return, confident that the cleanliness and day to day property maintenance will return to the previous high standards that make us go back again.

...... Oh and there really is a need for lavatories near the pool area !!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have had 1 week in resta grand it was a great week had great service from all staff ,ate in the Marsa club restaurant Mohammed made it extra special as it was friends birthday the meal and service excellent thank you x the Marsa club all staff fabulous and looked after us , Sam and Abdul are brilliant and work very hard x in fact I have no issues as the beach was fab great snorkelling brilliant guys at the beach and pool bar. The only problem I have is that I didn't stay for two weeks!
The grounds are beautiful , food in the space very very good with Lots of choice . In fact my two friends and I put weight on it was that good bread fresh daily and always service with a smile.

Looking forward to a return visit with my husband and children to experience the excellent weather, sea, food and great service. Thanks to all staff at resta for a great week x

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JKAY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.2 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#26 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,866 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,949 reviews
19 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.4 mi away
Resta Club Marina View Port Ghalib
12.1 mi away
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
Magic Tulip Beach Resort
#32 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Grand Resta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Grand Resta

Address: KM 65 Quoseir-Marsa Alam Road | Red Sea - Egypt, Marsa Alam 1111, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Marsa Alam
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#25 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $62 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Grand Resta 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Jaz Grand Resta” features 396 modern, comfortable guest rooms including: 120 sea view, 80 pool view, 144 garden view, 48 family rooms, 4 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jaz Grand Resta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resta Grand Hotel Marsa Alam
Resta Grand Resort All Inclusive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing