We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good hotel, outstanding service, great bedrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Port Ghalib Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Port Ghalib Resort
Ranked #19 of 75 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, outstanding service, great bedrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very service minded staff
clean hotel
clean and beautiful bedrooms
Food is good but could improve when out of season

we were very satisfied with service, place, stay in general
If you have any specific requirement while being there, do not hesitate, they will take care of it and will EVEN come back with a report and a solution to yr issue. They are really concerned about their customer's requests and will honestly try their best to help them!

Multilingual staff ! Professional attitude!

Room Tip: while bookinh through Internet or tvl agency, add comments, what s important to U and they will take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraSantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you for staying in Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis and for taking the time to share your experience with us. it was our great pleasure to welcome you during your vacation.

We were so pleased to get to know that you have enjoyed your time in our Resort, in this regards please rest assured that i will share your kind comments with our team members.

we hope to be of service to you in the nearest future, till then please accept our sincerest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    327
    115
    49
    45
See reviews for
351
451
37
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Excellent place to enjoy the coral reef of the red sea. Good Hotel and facilities, excellent, warm and charming service. Food good quality, nothing special, drinks are good pleasure. Not exciting night life, but a great place to rest, get sun tan and enjoy snorkeling. And, as said before, people are really charming and ready to make your stay pleasant.

Room Tip: I had a sea view room, large, confortable, with nice terrace and large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cassidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Тула
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We visited this hotel during the period from 08.04.2012 to 14.08.2012. Now, in order:
1) placing
placed very quickly, the rooms are nice, all at once checked, it works
2) food
me, my mom and sister like food very much, but my father always something missing. not the borscht, not hash)))))))) But seriously: Vegetables and fruits in large quantities for breakfast, lunch and dinner, lots of sweets, there is also chicken and beef, and fish or squid in different options for cooking, as side dishes (potatoes, rice, but cook spaghetti cooked right in front of you according to your wishes), and unrealistic delicious pizza, the waiter will bring you a drink, according to your desires, for breakfast always yogurt, several kinds of cereal, juice, coffee, tea, eggs (cooked cook), cutting, jam and butter, always fresh and tasty bread ... in general, just do not remember)
3) the territory
area is large, pretty green, palm trees, on the palms - Dates)
stunning lagoon with the sea water, the huge and it somehow always empty, all the people at the main pool, closer to the bar))
4) animation
at two animated group-Italian and international) Italian animation we saw in the morning, during a welcome dance, but an international team worked perfectly: aerobics, water polo, beach volleyball, dance lessons, aqua, pool, tennis ... the team almost everyone speaks in Russian. Roma, Anna, Sveta, Sam, Luka, Fadi, Mary, thank you, guys, for something that is not allowed to miss) could even our lazy dad go a water polo)
5) Sea
Sea-it's fantastic! it is unreal beautiful!
that's all I wanted to say. successful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valentina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valentina,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort and for posting your review on TripAdvisor; my team and I are very encouraged to know that your stay experience have been excellent.

We truly appreciate your kind feedback and compliments and we certainly look forward to having you with us again on your future visits to Marsa Alam.

Yours sincerely,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week in August, and we're sadly disappointed. The staff do their best to cope with the demand, but the hotel would run out of basic items. Cups and glasses at breakfast, plates at lunch, glasses in the main bar in the evening, all items I class as basic to run a hotel. There is also an Italian run holiday club which does take over the hotel quite a bit. Now I have never had a bad experience with any nationality before, but this time it was bordering being rude as the shoving and pushing at meal times was unnecessary. THe hotel rooms were very clean and tidy, and one of the best I've staying in during my 11 visits to Egypt. The selection of food in the restaurant was enough for a weeks stay, but beyond that I think we may have struggled.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sharkey200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Sharkey,

Thank you for staying with us at Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort and also for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I regret to read of your disappointment on this recent visit and would like to apologize for a less than satisfactory stay. August is one of the busiest months of the year, so sometimes our restaurants can be congested.

Thank you for praising our Housekeeping department; the team and I would like to thank you for acknowledging our efforts and we look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort in the near future!


With My Best Regards,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Me and my girlfriend just spend 6 days in the Crown Plaza Sahara Oasis hotel. Overall it was a good hotel, but the hotel needs a big clean up (more attention to hygiene, ...)
On the other hand the staff of the hotel were very friendly and were always eager to help you.
We were also very pleased that there was such a wonderful animation team - special thanks go out to the SUNNY FUNNY HOLIDAYS ALWAYS HAPPY Team - especially Roma, Sveta, Loca, Sam en Anna!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellen-Koen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Ellen,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent vacation to Marsa Alam, and for your constructive comments regarding the cleanness of our property; please accept my sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations on this aspect.

I am delighted to read your feedback in regards to our associate’s level of commitment to satisfy our guests and for recognizing the effort of our international animation team.

The team and I would like to thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort in the near future!


With My Best Regards,

Claudio Melli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
щелково
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

I don't know if there is paradise or not, I have not been there, but I have been to Egypt, Marsa Alam at Crowne Plaza. I am sure it is much better! (Alexey Gromov. Russia. May 2012)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Guest Relations Team at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Alexey,

Thank you for staying in Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis and for taking the time to share your experience with us. it was our great pleasure to welcome you during your vacation.
We were so pleased to get to know that you have enjoyed your time in our Resort, in this regards please rest assured that i will share your kind comments with our team members.
we hope to be of service to you in the nearest future, till then please accept our sincerest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I have just spent in this hotel 4 nights with my husband and lovely son. I stayed in this hotel 3 nights before in 2009 but at that time it was far better. It was half board not all inclusive so food was really nice and variable. At this stay there are some pros some cons. Food for example is not good at all, I spent the first 2 nights having only white cheese for my dinner because i have nothing else good to eat. I spoke to the restaurant officials and things became a little better later but still not as our first stay in 2009. The room was still as nice and clean in spite of the fact that house keeping is not as before. At one night our room was not cleaned at all although we were not making check out next morning. In 2009 our room was cleaned every morning and at one night it was cleaned another time when were enjoying our dinner (that we can no more enjoy because of lack of good food). Of course see is amazing and the staff, like any other 5 stars staff, is trying to make you happy. Special thanks to Iman at the restaurant.I used the pool bathroom once and it was really dirty and of awful smell. It seems that they forgot to clean it as our room. Yet do not think that I will repeat my visit. The hotel is not as good as it used to be.

Room Tip: not my favorite hotel any more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EgyptHoneymooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claudio M, Hotel Manager at Port Ghalib Resort, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and the comments about our service.
We value your feedback and we will certainly work on improving our Restaurant services and services in general, we do highly give a full attention to your comments and we will do what is necessary to exceed our valued guests' expectations..
Looking forward to welcoming you and your friends in our Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.0 mi away
Siva Port Ghalib
Siva Port Ghalib
#22 of 75 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Port Ghalib
The Palace Port Ghalib
#4 of 75 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 75 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 75 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 75 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Ghalib Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Ghalib Resort

Property: Port Ghalib Resort
Address: PO Box 23 | Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#15 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#34 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Ghalib Resort is located along the man-made saltwater swimming lagoon. The hotel is styled with limestone floors, mosaics, arched windows which accentuate the ambiance. This home from home is the most relaxed and casual of all the Port Ghalib hotels, offering informal yet delightful accommodation. It is ideal for families and thrill seekers who have journeyed to indulge in the wonder of Egypts new sensory playground. With its various configurations, styles and themed areas, Port Ghalib Resort offers rooms that are adorned in brightly covered fabrics, and the hand-painted decorative work sets the tone for individual, family and group stays alike. Port Ghalib Resort features rooms that face the gardens, pool and lagoon. Here guests are sure to find comfortable accommodation to meet their every need in rooms that are spaciously laid out with a bedroom, bathroom with shower unit and cupboard space. The suites are more spacious and include a bedroom and bathroom with a separate bath and shower.The resort offers a choice of three restaurants, Souq Al hana, the main restaurant serving International cuisines, Cardamom ala carte restaurant, serving Mediterranean & Indian specialties, and Fattoush Ala carte Lebanese Restaurant . Four bars, the Pool Bar, Lobby Lounge & Bar, Palm Pool Bar, and Beach Snack Bar. The positioning of the rooms allows guests access to most public areas and facilities at a short distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Port Ghalib Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sahara Oasis Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing