We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5th amazing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Port Ghalib
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5th amazing stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We travel al lot but we always love the come back here. As always it is so wonderful here! ALL the staff is very friendly! They make you feel very welcome and will do everything to please you. The food is excellent. The suite is very clean, romantic and spacious. The reef is amazing, a lot of different fish, a specially if you go early in the morning. If you like a short getaway or a longer vacation to really relax; you should definitely visit this luxurious,amazing hotel with a stunning view!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marguerite S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and passionate words, it's always a pleasure to have you in our resort waiting for more and more visits from you; I’m really glad to know that our service and staff attitude meet your expectation. Such a great Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back personally at your next Visit.
My Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    253
    63
    18
    4
See reviews for
356
654
89
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from out holiday in Port Ghalib 2 days ago . It was our second time at the Intercontinental hotel, we returned after last year when we first discovered this little slice of Heaven that is the Port Ghalib/Marsa Alam area . The hotel is the best we've been to in Egypt and it was our 9th visit so we did stay in some other hotels at the Red Sea, particularly in Sharm el Sheikh.. The staff is very friendly and accommodating in all areas of the hotel ,the rooms are spacious, very clean, comfortable and nicely designed, same goes for the bathroom(we had a deluxe seaview room both times). The beach and the coral reef and everything related to that is some of the best you can get, we even saw some turtles so that's definitely a plus and I love that you get some water at the beach along with the towels ,it's not so much that it's free but that it is brought in a cooler box ,on ice. I also have to mention that the hotel has a wonderful architectural style.

The only downsides I can think of, present both times and probably subjective were the food and the prices. For us, the food was not really diverse and always the same which is not such a big deal but compared to other hotels it was a bit lacking, maybe it's due to the smaller nr's of guests. The prices for food in the hotel are a bit outrageous sometimes. I know it's a hotel and in the middle of nowhere somewhat but ,to be quite honest, the pool bar food was super expensive and not even as good as, say ,the food I ate for almost half the price at TGI Friday's in the Marina. I also regretted that the oriental restaurant in the Marina was closed this time.

I trust we will be returning here the next time we go on a holiday at the Red Sea, it's the perfect place to unwind.

A word of advice though : it's not for party crazed people cause there's not much to do in the area for now.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdelinaR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and detailed comments, I’m glad to know that you liked our Rooms, pools and beach our facilities in general meet your expectation and as well as our food and service.
Such feedback like yours supports us to frequently succeed and exceeds our guest expectation.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have stayed at the intercontinental port ghalib before and have returned for another stay due to the excellent conditions and friendly staff. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the staff are always on hand to help with any issues or to just provide a friendly hello. Will definitely make another return visit here in the future,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasifx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Sunny Greetings from InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib ...!!
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our resort and for having chosen The Palace as your home for your recent vacation.
I would also like to thank you for your kind and encouraging words pertaining to the excellent performance . I have passed on your feedback to the entire team.
We look forward to your next stay.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Yesterday we returned from Interconti Port Ghalib, it was perfect !
We had a beautiful deluxe seaview room and also view on the pool.
The rooms are spacious & very clean, daily fresh fruits and bottle of water.
The staff is very friendly and if you ask something , they adapt immediately. Guest relations staff are everyday busy with the guests to give the best service.
Olive restaurant where we had breakfast & dinner : nice location ! Thanks to chef cook Battel and his team for the special theme buffets @ night, and thanks to Sherbiny and his team for the very good service @ breakfast & dinner !
Beach service : every day fresh towels and icebox with water bottles : thanks Adam & team !
It's also a great place for snorkeling !
We just hope that the Marina will redevelop, @ this moment there is nothing special, it 's such a lovely setting, it can be 'the place to be' with other kind of shops and other kind of restaurants and bars, and sorry, but alcohol is needed ! It can become 'The Côte d'Azur of Egypt' !
We hope to come back very soon !
Thanks again, we had a wonderful holiday !
Dirk, Peter, Veerle

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe seaview !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veerle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for summing up your experience of your recent stay with us with such lovely feedback. We look forward to your return.
Thank you.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aswan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Iam in port galib intercontinental resort now , and I do like staying in this resort since I did arrived to the resort I see the stuff very friendly and helpful and they know what they are doing well , room is the best I ever seen in marsa ,food I will try them tonight . I thank them for good take care of my family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diaaeldin2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you found our service and staff attitude are excellent, .
Such a detailed Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we wish you a wonderful vacation among us.
My Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have only today returned from the Intercontinental the Palace Marsa Alam,an all i can say is whow whow and whow, we had a fantastic 2 weeks looked after by the caring considerate dedicated staff, the place is so fitting to its name its a palace which is a credit to every member of staff that work there its spotlessly clean and meticulously cared for, absolutely nothing is to much trouble and any request is always carried out with a smile and loads of enthusiasm.The food was always presented so perfectly that you just wanted to try everything, there are some special members of staff that we think went the extra mile to make our stay as amazing as it was and they were Mohamad our pool beach lifeguard,Ali our waiter (captain) who was always there at meal times,Mohamad who was guest relations who was always checking if there was anything you needed and the wonderful Nina who organised a special birthday Dinner meal in the Presidential suite, they are but a few that deserve praise for a job well done and we look forward to returning next year!

Room Tip: We had a sea view room in the main block which was amazing on the top floor which was very quiet and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick-Jan-April11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc R, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and the comments about our service, our facilities and our staff.
We value your feedback which supports us. Allows us to frequently succeeds and exceed the expectations of our guests .

Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home.

My Best Regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from spending 7 nights at the Intercontinental, The Palace, Port Ghalib resort, where we had a super holiday, enhanced by the brilliant hotel staff, who went out of their way to make our trip special.

We have experience of staying in numerous 5* hotels over the years (Ritz Carlton, Sheraton, Hyatt Regency, One & Only, Sainte Annes Resort etc) and can honestly say that we enjoyed this holiday equally as much as previous ones & found the service at this hotel excellent.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. I would recommend the seaview rooms, with beautiful views over the pool and beach. Fresh fruit & water was left in our room each day.

The variety of food in the Olive Restaurant is good, with dinner being either a buffet, set menu or a la carte. We found the cost of food good value at 25 euros per person per night. Breakfast was good with various fresh fruit on offer, cereal, salad, cheeses, pancakes & omelettes made to order etc, in keeping with what you would normally find at a 5* resort.

The pool was beautiful and we had it all to ourselves, when we had an early morning dip each day.

The sea & snorkelling is great at this resort, with an abundance of fish & the fact that you can swim in the sea straight off of the beach, without the need to go out over the jetty, as there are some sandy shallow area's before reaching the coral. The sea temp is around 27 degrees in Sept and felt like a warm bath!

The staff at this hotel are what make it extra special, Nina on Guest Relations who kindly sourced some medication which we had forgotten to bring with us and also arranged for a cake to be delivered to our room to celebrate our Wedding anniversary, Ehab, who cleaned our room meticulously and surprised us each day with his towel sculptures (a 4ft crocodile on our final day was his piece de resistance), Ibrahim who collected us from the airport & returned us on our final day, staying with us until we had gone through to the departure lounge, the beach boys Taher & Adam who do a fantastic job, and all of the staff in the Olive Restaurant.

This resort is quiet and very relaxing, just what we needed to wind down for a short break.

We look forward to returning to this resort in future.

D & J Clfford.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markku W, General Manager at The Palace Port Ghalib, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review and wonderful remarks, it's an absolutely pleasure to have you in our unique resort and I’m glad to know that you found an excellent service and staff attitude, which I have shared with them. as well we are happy that you celebrate a such memorable experience with us and it was great.
Such a detailed Feedback like yours encourages us to strive and exceed the expectations that our guests rightfully have from us.
Highly appreciate your sincere recommendation and we are delighting to the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon at your second home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
5.3 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,146 reviews
4.8 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Port Ghalib Resort
Port Ghalib Resort
#19 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Siva Port Ghalib
Siva Port Ghalib
#21 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#17 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Port Ghalib? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Port Ghalib

Property: The Palace Port Ghalib
Address: PO Box 23 | Port Ghalib, Marsa Alam, Egypt (Formerly InterContinental The Palace Port Ghalib Resort)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#3 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#6 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located deep in the southern reaches of Egypt, between the Sahara Desert and the Red Sea, lies the amazing destination of Port Ghalib. The Palace Port Ghalib is ideally located at the heart of this exciting destination, overlooking Port Ghalib International Marina, Corniche & Khan and the reserved coral reef of the Red Sea. The Palace Port Ghalib features 308 premier rooms. All beautifully appointed rooms offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort; the resort offers a choice of three restaurants, The Olive offering International cuisine, Pool Deck offering Lebanese cuisine, a selection of snacks and seafood delicacies, with superb views over the glistening Red Sea and the swimming pool. The resort comprises as well Port Ghalib International Convention Centre, the award winner Six Senses Spa, Kids Club. The resort lies within walking distance from Port Ghalib International Convention Centre offering a meeting space of 1,950 square meters, capable of hosting all types of events from full scale conventions of 2,000 delegates to informal small size meetings, 16 breakout rooms. For shopping lovers, the resort offers an exceptional shopping experience at the International Marina, with a half kilometer stretch of a traditional Egyptian Khan bazaar. The Palace Port Ghalib is 2 kilometers drive from Marsa Alam International Airport, 210 km from Hurghada and 370 km from Luxor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Palace Port Ghalib reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Palace Port Ghalib Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing