We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Hardcore divers and "Chillers" alike”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marsa Shagra Village
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the Hardcore divers and "Chillers" alike”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Marsa Shagra is a really nice place to be. I spent 4 days there and had a great time. From the almost limitless diving (House Reef, Elphinstone, Nimp Island, Sharm Shuni, etc...), be it shore or zodiac dives, to the friendly people, the excellent food and restaurant, the friendly and professional staff, the merciless sun, Marsa Shagra is the place to be for the hardcore divers and "Chillers" alike. There isn't much to do when your done diving for the day except chill, have a drink and enjoy the company of family and friends. The bathrooms and tents are also very clean. I stayed in royal tent (A big tent that can take up to three, with a fan and a fridge) and it was Ok, you just need to be prepared to wake up close to sunrise (the heat and sunlight will if not your alarm to catch the first dive). The weather can get quite hot so be prepared. Book ahead to find a nice AC-cooled Chalet as the place is usually full when is a long weekend for Egyptians.

Room Tip: Book early to Rent a Chalet, if not then a royal tent. The weather is seriously hot around July/Aug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aelassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    74
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
72
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

You would really only come to this location to dive; it’s the main attraction and the only thing to do if you get bored of reading and lounging around.

On this trip both David and I were celebrating our 200th dives - I even laminated signs to take underwater for photos - take a look!

Diving on the reef – all you have to do is write your name down and let them know if you want to use the rib going out and want a pick up at the end of your dive, or if you want to swim back. It’s just like hailing a taxi.

Location – the complex is totally self-sufficient. There are no nearby restaurants. The buffet style on site is all that you’re going to get so be prepared to enjoy it. The restaurant evening atmosphere differs from one evening to another; at one time just ten people were having dinner (in an area that can seat 230 covers), then when a huge free diving group arrived the place certainly felt different. There is no need to glam up – the blokes certainly don’t! Dinner usually takes 30 minutes, so there’s no need to spend 30 minutes getting ready!

Rooms – David and I opted for a chalet with air conditioning (absolutely essential even in June). There are other options of tents, Royal Tents where you share washing facilities, or huts and chalets. Our chalet No 59 must have been the longest walk away from the restaurant – seven minutes – but worth it for the quality of the room.

Water system – First small bottle is free then you have to buy it. Or you can buy a water bottle and the water is free from stations all over the location. This is a great idea. Bottled soft drinks were included in our package. Diet Coke is in a can and costs one Euro. They should put a recycled bin so we can put them in it.

Entertainment – there is only a movie night on a Wednesday, but there are themed food nights and the Egyptian and Italian meals were amazing! So for entertainment you need to take a laptop (and cables) with CD player as you can play through the television in the chalet. Here’s a photo of David and I watching BBC’s Sherlock on our movie night in – brilliant!

Room Tip: TIP: Always check the weather for the next two days. One day the sea can be flat calm, and the next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulesMackenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Had a wonderful week, quite simply beautiful. Feels very relaxed and friendly. We had a hut on the beach which was beautiful and had showers and toilets quite nearby, felt no need for the luxuries of air conditioning or en-suite it felt nicer to be so close to the sea. Yoga was amazing and the coral reef so close meant unlimited snorkelling and diving. Loved the eco friendly ethos. Beanbags rather than sun beds. Food was fresh and very good. Got to swim with wild dolphins and turtles. Overall a wonderful experience I look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolablunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were here for two weeks in a deluxe chalet and found the whole experience brilliant. It's ideal for solo divers or groups of all levels/experience.

All the staff were friendly and helpful.

The food was varied and of a good standard.

If you want to sunbathe the are no loungers just large bean bags and they are few and far between.

Don't expect a bouncing night life. It's just chilled to the max day and night and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy1589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a lovely stay in Marsa Shagra village, the only problem is that is was too short... Really liked the flexibility of the diving as well as the dive shop professionnalism. The price of the stay is more than reasonnable for what you get (food, diving, quality of rooms or tent). We've been blew minded by Elphinston (our first time) and very lucky : four hammer heads, one white tip and a huge napoleon!!
Anyway I would advise anyone who's got time to spend in the area to go check it out!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadrien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The number of divers we met at Marsa Shagra who are return visitors says it all...and can't recommend Oona's Divers more highly for all their advice and expertise when booking

All staff were great, from restaurant and cafeteria to reception, office, dive shade, equipment hire...particular thanks on the diving front to Samy, Ishmael and Cyril

Things didn't go entirely smoothly as my 13 year old daughter had an inflamed eardrum and was therefore unable to dive. However everyone was very helpful and medical advice easily obtained. Recommend horse and camel riding trips if diving is off the menu!

On the food front, really enjoyed the choice of meze for lunch and supper. We don't eat meat and the restaurant went to the trouble of preparing individual fish and chips for my daughter (without being asked). Doesn't get much better than that.

I would say, however, that if you would enjoy a variety of places to eat/drink or more things for non-divers to do, then Marsa Shagra is a tad quiet. If you want to dive all day and go to bed early, it's ideal. If not, consider Dahab which has the magical atmosphere of the Sinai, is a really good 'hang out' place for all ages and also offers great dive sites. Flights to Sharm are similarly priced and it's just an hour's drive through spectacular scenery to get there. We've been there for water sports holidays about 8 years running and it's a great place for diving, watersports and yoga (but without the shopping malls and mass tourism of Sharm)

Room Tip: During the cooler months, choose a tent! But go for Royal Tent unless you're on a strict budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent almost a week at Marsa Shagra, it was absolutely wonderful. I thought it seemed kind of deserted (and "deserty") beforehand, but it's a place with the perfect combination of calmness and action, at least for me. There are always things to do, interesting things to look at (lots of cute hermit crabs for example. We also saw sharks from the shore) and nice people to talk to, and at the same time it's peaceful and quiet. Me and my boyfriend had a wonderful stay.

Among the things to do aren't only diving, you can also go snorkeling and there are excursions to the desert as well. There's a really nice beduin café on the beach, near the royal tents, which was super nice to hang out any time of the day, with a book, a boardgame, shisha, beer or tea.

Shagra has an ecological profile, which I really appreciate. They were really careful about the house reef, telling people to move if they got close to the reef etc. Also there are water coolers all over the place to refill your bottle - less plastic waste. Other than that, I'm not sure how ecological it really is. For example, the water coolers are electrical so you get nice and cool water - but many of them stand out in the sun and get warm. The lighting was not with low energy bulbs. Boats and cars run on normal diesel/gas I think. The food was not organic as far as I could see (tea bags, coffee, sugar, butter, jam...), don't know if the cooked food is organic.

The only thing we got a little bit tired of was the food, too many things were repeated. The service in the restaurant was great, everything was smooth and fast. It could be more laidback and less formal in my opinion. The hotell reception service was just great, staff there was really helpful and kind.

The diving system was a bit complicated, it was hard to figure out how much things would cost if you wanted to do other things than buy the ordinary diving package. In the end our diving/snorkeling costs turned out cheaper than we thought, so that was nice, but a bit more clarity beforehand would have been good. The diving logistics probably work very well for experienced divers, but for me, solo diver with certificate but little experience, it was kind of confusing and I wished the staff would have been more helpful and patient. The diving department is a little bit too big in my opinion. Lot's of different people from the staff were involved in the diving so I didn't feel as much connection and support from the staff as I would have liked.

Life underneath the surface - beautiful and exciting!

In all, I really recommend Marsa Shagra and I hope to return soon!

Room Tip: Check the website for offers. We stayed in a deluxe chalet for the price of a regular one. The tents...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Linnea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
2.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,158 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
1.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#37 of 68 in Marsa Alam
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahramana Beach Resort
Kahramana Beach Resort
#25 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,300 reviews
10.5 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
7.0 mi away
El Malikia Resort Abu Dabbab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsa Shagra Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Shagra Village

Property: Marsa Shagra Village
Address: Marsa Shagra, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Shagra Village 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since our founding in 1990, Red Sea Diving Safari has grown into a world-class diving destination. Our eco-diving concept has been internationally recognized as a model of tourism development and our villages offer you the experience of what has become known as “The Eco-diving Adventure”. All aspects of the RSDS experience promote nature-based tourism and maximum diving enjoyment. Our villages were created in consideration of diving enthusiasts and our diving program covers more than 60 shore-based and off-shore dive sites. We offer our guests a variety of diving possibilities including; unlimited diving on our house reef, shore dives, night dives, and boat dives to world-famous dive sites such as Elphinstone and the Fury Shoals. Our operation consists of 3 lodges; Marsa Shagra Village, Marsa Nakari Village and Wadi Lahami Village. Our team also manages Pioneer Divers - Marsa Alam. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal-impact policy towards the environment. Our guests take advantage of an exclusive experience in a nature based atmosphere. Our villages are simple with traditional eastern style domed architecture and every guest room enjoys an unobstructed sea view. Each one of our villages has a maximum capacity which is based on the carrying capacity of the house reef. Visiting our villages is more than just your typical diving vacation. By the time your holiday is over, you will leave with a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of our nature based atmosphere. Explore ancient ruins of long gone civilizations and learn about the long history of the Red Sea region. Take a trek through the desert to observe amazing wildlife and the Bedouins of the south. Meditate under the mutating colors of the setting sun and then fall asleep star-gazing under a moonless night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Marsa Shagra Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsa Shagra Village Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing