We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat, Dive, Eat, Dive, Eat....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marsa Shagra Village
Certificate of Excellence
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Eat, Dive, Eat, Dive, Eat....”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in a deluxe charlet 2007 and 2012 and it is very nice, went in november this time and A/C was not needed, Tent are supposed to be nice too but I would not stay in one during the hot season april-september.
Diving at the housereef is still really nice and you see a lot of things, and some turtles, corals are nice.
The housereef is also a good spot for a sunset or nightdive, easy access in and out of the water with or without a zodiac.
Don´t forget to see some other divesites as well such as:
-Dolphinhouse, you will probably not see any dolphins but the divesites are fantastic.
-Elphinstone, beautiful reef with different kinds of sharks depending on the season, but you need 50 dives and advanced cert. for this one.
-Marsa Abu dabbab, known for Dugong, huge green Turtles and guitar rays.
-Marsa Shuni, beautiful dubblereef and you might spot an Eagleray if you are lucky.
and more...
Some are truckdives and some are boatdives but all are very comfortable.

The food is a great mixture of oriental and international cuisine, served in buffé style and you might gain some weight while staying there.

A typical day goes like this:
-Breakfast, (some take a dive before breakfast)
-Dive housereef/truckdive/boatdaive
-Snack
-Dive housereef.
-Lunch
-Dive housereef/truckdive/boatdive
-Snack
-Dive housereef sundetdive(nightdive).
-Relax with some beers on the porch, or go for another dive.
-Dinner.
-Oxygene bar or beduin bar down the beach.

Room Tip: Deluxe charlets are nice but if you don´t need A/C (in wintertime) go for a slightly cheaper room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L_Kongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    74
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
72
39
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed for one week at the most luxurious room "DeLux Chalet". Super nice, spacious and very clean room build in a traditional egypt style.

The diving on the house reef is really good. And it is easy to go diving on your own (with your buddy). You can go north or south and have three diving options:
1. Go shore, back shore
2. Go out with boat, back by shore
3. Go shore, be picked up by boat back

You just pick your choice on the spot and write your name on a board. You can also go on truck dives and boat dives further away on other reefs.

The breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets are topp class. Delicious food and big variety. We ate too much every day for every meal...

We found all the staff (dive guides, receptionists, boats men, cleaners, gardeners, weiters, chefs etc) very nice, friendly and helpful.

The only down sides:
– Quiet far walk (about 10 minutes) from the DeLux Chalets to the restaurant and diving area. Next time we'll choose a cheaper room which is closer.
– Woke up at five o'clock every morning to the nearby mosqu's call prayer. Bring ear plugs!
– Hard beads.
– Almost no female staff.

Room Tip: The cheaper the room, - the closer to the ocean, diving and restaurant. And also: the cheaper the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level Contributor
74 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Big variety of stunning colors, really best natural aquarium full of fishes, starting on shore and following along endless beach. Really clean sanitary unites, also the tent, bed sheets, public areas and the beach, kindly serving team at reception and dive center, even tough the buffet for lunch and dinner is not with a variety still better than expected.
Free drinking water coolers all around.
Affordable rates at the bars.
For sure i will visit again and again ....

Room Tip: Royal Tent Are Large Enough.. No need for anything bigger. Enjoy the silence and the music of waves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain2010istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After having to deal with a random Egypt air flight cancellation which delayed our arrival to the resort by 6 hours where by we did not get there until 4am to be greeted at reception with a bag containing refreshments (the dining hall shuts at 10pm) was the perfect way to alleviate the annoyance of a needlessly long journey.
This gesture was so in fitting with the exceptionally high standard of service on offer here. All staff here are very well versed in making your stay here as hassle free as possible and have had a high level of training in all aspects of customer care, from the guys in the cafe who always seem to remember what chalet/tent you're in to the breakfast chef who always remembers how you like your eggs!
On the diving side of things this was the first time my buddy and I had looked to dive with no guide and so obviously there was a bit of trepidation with regard to how the unlimited house reef diving system worked. After doing a couple of orientation dives with the impeccable Ashraf we felt so comfortable going out on our own after only a couple of dives we felt as though we'd been here for a lot longer than we actually had such is the all pervading atmosphere of relaxed diving felt here.
The stunning house reef almost negates the need to visit any of the other (reasonably priced) off resort sites, although these sites are well worth a visit with the booking if these dives done by a touch screen console in the dive office thus leaving you the option of picking and choosing when and where you want to dive.
Equipment hire, if needed, is very well organised with a full range of sizing and the gear is pretty much brand new and very well maintained, safety is of paramount importance and this is demonstrated by the existence of an on site deco chamber in case of any incidents requiring its use.
All in all I would highly recommend Marsa Shagra and its sister resorts to any divers who share the ingrained attitude of caring for our diving environment ensuring the sustainability of the undersea world we love.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlton_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Awesome time with Shagra , welcoming, professional, organized & dynamic people. All works to achieve our satisfaction. When you intend to spend a vacation, you think about new initiatives. Simply you will find it in Shagra.

Unique place with special environment views with excellency service

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MohamedSami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This resort really does provide you with unlimited diving from the shore but also by zodiac and the accommodation is either tents or chalets. We opted for the air conditioned doomed stone built chalet, very clean and spacious and pat. Food in the restaurant was superb, great choices, very fresh and lovely staff. You pay extra for nitrox but worth it.

Room Tip: Air conditioned chalet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I have recently got back from a week at Marsa Shagra staying in the standard tents, we have been before and stayed in the Deluxe Chalet which are great but the tents are fine. Everywhere is kept wonderfully clean by the very friendly staff. The tents are rather hot during the day but who would want to stay in their room during the day and at night it was fine? There is plenty of shade provided around the site and at lunch the restaurant is air conditioned. We had nothing but a friendly welcome from the time came through customs and immigration on our way in until we left and the staff at Marsa Shagra are great. If you are thinking of going I would strongly recommend it we are planning our next trip as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We asked for a tent in the front row overlooking the sea and were given it which was always a nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MartynCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
2.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,158 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
1.6 mi away
The Oasis
The Oasis
#37 of 68 in Marsa Alam
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kahramana Beach Resort
Kahramana Beach Resort
#25 of 68 in Marsa Alam
2,300 reviews
10.5 mi away
Concorde Moreen Beach Resort & Spa Marsa Alam
7.0 mi away
El Malikia Resort Abu Dabbab
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsa Shagra Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Shagra Village

Property: Marsa Shagra Village
Address: Marsa Shagra, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Shagra Village 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since our founding in 1990, Red Sea Diving Safari has grown into a world-class diving destination. Our eco-diving concept has been internationally recognized as a model of tourism development and our villages offer you the experience of what has become known as “The Eco-diving Adventure”. All aspects of the RSDS experience promote nature-based tourism and maximum diving enjoyment. Our villages were created in consideration of diving enthusiasts and our diving program covers more than 60 shore-based and off-shore dive sites. We offer our guests a variety of diving possibilities including; unlimited diving on our house reef, shore dives, night dives, and boat dives to world-famous dive sites such as Elphinstone and the Fury Shoals. Our operation consists of 3 lodges; Marsa Shagra Village, Marsa Nakari Village and Wadi Lahami Village. Our team also manages Pioneer Divers - Marsa Alam. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal-impact policy towards the environment. Our guests take advantage of an exclusive experience in a nature based atmosphere. Our villages are simple with traditional eastern style domed architecture and every guest room enjoys an unobstructed sea view. Each one of our villages has a maximum capacity which is based on the carrying capacity of the house reef. Visiting our villages is more than just your typical diving vacation. By the time your holiday is over, you will leave with a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of our nature based atmosphere. Explore ancient ruins of long gone civilizations and learn about the long history of the Red Sea region. Take a trek through the desert to observe amazing wildlife and the Bedouins of the south. Meditate under the mutating colors of the setting sun and then fall asleep star-gazing under a moonless night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marsa Shagra Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marsa Shagra Village Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing