We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet week in the sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marsa Nakari Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

March 7-14th low season still. The quieter cousin to Marsa Shagra (which is a bustling metropolois in comparison!). But super unlimited diving - with swim throughs and tiny caverns in the bay alone. It's also close to Dolphin House which is worth the extra even if dolphins are sometimes not at home - there are two fantasic shallow dives around the horse shoe reef. Rooms spotless, staff super friendly and we even had the entire place to ourselves for 3 days! All round top destination.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dub775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 95 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

My girlfriend and I have just come back from a fantastic week at Marsa Nakari. We cannot say enough good things about the village! The house reef was excellent with great unlimited scuba diving. The service from the staff was consistently first rate. Particular thanks go to Hisham who guided us on a couple of great dives and really looked after us all week. Also the restaurant staff must be singled out for serving tasty food all week, and making extra fuss of my Girlfriend on her birthday (including making her a chocolate cake!).

I have been to Marsa Shagra a few times before and wanted a change to a more relaxed pace of diving, and Marsa Nakari certainly provides this. The house reef is great and there is a hug range of other diving excursions to keep you busy throughout the week. The south side of the house reef is particularly pretty and includes all kinds of swim throughs where the fish hide from the gently current.

We stayed in an air-conditioned Madyafa Lodge which was great. The beds were comfortable and we slept nine hours every night!

Our stay covered the day of 22nd April which is Earth Day. We had the opportunity to participate in a reef clean-up dive which was a lot of fun. We recovered a fair bit of debris from the house reef and left it a better place than we found it!

Scuba equipment hire is good. They didn't have a BCD available to fit my girlfriend (the casmp was full), but one of the staff drove to the neighbouring Marsa Shagra village to get her one which was most kind and a good example of the general quality of service.

We booked with Oonas Divers (thanks Lydia) who provided their usual, no-nonsense, straightforward service. My top tip is to try to keep your baggage under the 20kg allowance for the Thomson flight. Technically you are supposed to get another 5kg if you present a scuba cert card, but this seems to confuse the airport staff (UK and Egypt) and a long discussion is likely to follow!

We would both whole-heartedly and highly recommend Marsa Nakari for anyone looking for a relaxed, beautiful holiday with good food and great staff to look after you!

Room Tip: Go for the air conditioned Madyafa lodges. It costs a little more, but it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed at Marsa Nakari last year in May.
The common bathrooms are clean and the rooms are all you need.
Everyone in the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. From the cook to the diving instructors.
I would recommend this to everyone who is looking for a great Red Sea diving experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ABattocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I traveled to Nakari Village with 20 teenagers. We stayed in the tents. There are other options but I don't know what they are or how they are. Beds in tents were comfortable, nights were cold but they provided extra blankets. Might want to consider bringing your own pillow, as they were hard as rocks. Common bathrooms and showers were kept clean. The food was plentyful and tasty. There was local Egyptian food and non-egyptian food.
Diving center was great and dive masters/guides helpful and patient. Location is secluded so you either need a car or book tours. Plenty to see in the area. Beautiful beach with great access to snorkling. Staff are very kind, welcoming and extremely helpful. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: SOme may prefer a tent closer to the bathrooms so when you wake up in middle of the night you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 3ofustravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We don't know if it was just our bad luck, or whether we should never repeat this experience again at Marsa Nakari.
We were a group of about 20 people, they had a lot of mix ups with our reservations and we received 5 rooms instead of 7 and so had to sleep cramped up together 5 at a time in one room, although our other alternative was getting a room without an air conditioner, that was NO OPTION in August in Egypt.
The whole stay had a lot of complications, and it seems the Management are used to getting a lot of visitors so did not care to really please 20 more people.
A lot of us are not going to repeat that experience again.
However to be honest, the place itself, the scenery, the diving, the sea, and the ecolodge feeling is incredible and one of the most beautiful places in Egypt ever been to.
The rooms are pretty and cozy, the service itself isn't bad and the all inclusive deal is pretty much worth it.
Never go to Marsa Alam by anything else other than an aeroplane because its farther off than anything else in Egypt!
I guess you can just be very strict with the Management and it will be ok, and i am glad i am writing this review so they can see it too and know that they could have gained 20 regular customers.

Room Tip: Stern and strict with your reservation if you are a big group is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DinaHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redseadivingsafari, Manager at Marsa Nakari Village, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Thank you Dina for your honest and fair review and we value every guest that visits our villages. We will not settle for anything less than a delightful experience for every guest and look forward to hosting your group once more to make up for this experience.

As part of our efforts to develop our facilities and overall guest experience, we installed 20 A/C units in May in anticipation of a hot summer. We decided to run a promotion – free up-grade to deluxe chalet from normal chalet from June to August and stated clearly that this was according to availability.

We are certain that your group arrived near the Eid Holiday time - coupled with the free-up-grade offer put a lot more demand on A/C rooms in one of the hottest and busiest summer months for our operation.

Regardless, we want to make up for what happened seeing that you did enjoy the overall experience and atmosphere. We hope to host your group in the near future and look forward to a 5 star review after your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've visited Marsa Shagra a couple of times so thought we'd give Nakari a go. Good points -very well organised (like Shagra), great food, lovely kitchen, restaurant and housekeeping staff, who couldn't do enough to help or be friendly. The reef not quite as good as Shagra, but still lovely. Visibility not great while we were there, but that was down to the season and the full moon. Prettier than Shagra and much much less busy. We did the wreck trip to Abu Ghusun and really enjoyed the dives, the lunch, coffee and paddle in the lagoon. On our last day a pod of dolphins came into the bay and the guys in charge of the boats and dive shelter piled us into ribs and took us to sit in the middle of the bay so the dolphins kept sweeping right by us. We were the only Brits there so spent our time with several other nationalities, which we really enjoyed.

Less good; there have been several references to the more relaxed laid back dive staff, but I'm afraid that wasn't a plus point for us. Although always helpful and polite, they were generally less pro-active, less engaged and less fun than the staff at Shagra. We felt it particularly because we had a 14 year old and an 11 year old with us. The staff at Shagra made their holiday last year, whereas at Nakari only one person made any real effort with them. Other people there also commented that the dive staff were always polite and helpful but not particularly forthcoming. As an indicator, I don't think any of them knew our childrens' names, yet when we called in at Shagra on the way to the airport, 4 of the dive shelter staff remembered them, their names, and even the nickname they called my husband by (after a year) and met them with smiles and hugs.

One reason for this might be that the Nakari dive and reception staff all seemed to be constantly on mobile phones. While they broke off their conversations to speak, they resumed them immediately afterwards, so you always felt that you were interrupting them. I don't think they intended to be rude, but sometimes their mobile phone use would have been unacceptable in most work or conversational situations.

I wouldn't take our children there again. Though lovely for adults, there were no other children or teenagers there, the dive staff (with one honorable exception) didn't really engage with them and they felt a bit out of place. The orientation dive at the beginning and the truck dive were fine for adults but felt too rushed for my 11 year old and she got rattled, so the two of us ended up diving alone. Obviously we wouldn't want to hold up everyone else, but this never seemed to be an issue at Shagra.

It's a real shame that they charge for even the short rib dives now. It makes it far too expensive for a family of four (E100 for the morning).

In short, an idyllic relaxed pretty place, great food, good diving. Perfect for self-sufficient adult couples or groups. For a family holiday, I'd stick to Shagra.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank izzy83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Though the Nakari village is certainly more enjoyable if you dive (we didn't), my girlfriend and I had 4 wonderful days in this resort. Nice and clean room and bathrooms, decent restaurant with a beautiful porch, very friendly and helpful staff. We spent our days just relaxing on the beach and snorkeling on the amazing house reef.
Considering the overall low price, I would definitely recommend it, especially for divers.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
32.3 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
22.5 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,299 reviews
51.4 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
#30 of 68 in Marsa Alam
874 reviews
24.4 mi away
Marsa Shagra Village
Marsa Shagra Village
#1 of 14 in Marsa Alam
307 reviews
107.7 mi away
Wadi Lahami Village
Wadi Lahami Village
#6 of 14 in Marsa Alam
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsa Nakari Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Nakari Village

Address: Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Nakari Village 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsa Nakari is a charming sea-side lodge approximately 20 km south of Marsa Alam city. Its main appeal is its proximity to the Sammadai protectorate (Dolphin House); one of the Red Sea’s most important national parks and attraction. There are various other highlights including Wadi el Gemal national park, desert trips, cultural encounters, historic sites, Luxor, daily boat, and much more. Marsa Nakari is also a historical site dating back to the Roman times and known to the ancients as the port of Nechesia. The remains of its ruin are still present atop a hill towards the southern end of the bay. Marsa Nakari is the dream holiday for those seeking to experience Marsa Alam’s true heritage. Expect the silence and serenity of the desert atmosphere and the world-renowned beauty of the red sea reefs. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal impact policy towards the environment. Our accommodations consist of standard tents, luxurious royal tents, huts, or deluxe chalets. Natures beautiful simplicity permeates our village theme and our tourism model will give you a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of Marsa Alam's pristine environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Marsa Nakari Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing