We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad Luck At Marsa Nakari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marsa Nakari Village
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bad Luck At Marsa Nakari”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We don't know if it was just our bad luck, or whether we should never repeat this experience again at Marsa Nakari.
We were a group of about 20 people, they had a lot of mix ups with our reservations and we received 5 rooms instead of 7 and so had to sleep cramped up together 5 at a time in one room, although our other alternative was getting a room without an air conditioner, that was NO OPTION in August in Egypt.
The whole stay had a lot of complications, and it seems the Management are used to getting a lot of visitors so did not care to really please 20 more people.
A lot of us are not going to repeat that experience again.
However to be honest, the place itself, the scenery, the diving, the sea, and the ecolodge feeling is incredible and one of the most beautiful places in Egypt ever been to.
The rooms are pretty and cozy, the service itself isn't bad and the all inclusive deal is pretty much worth it.
Never go to Marsa Alam by anything else other than an aeroplane because its farther off than anything else in Egypt!
I guess you can just be very strict with the Management and it will be ok, and i am glad i am writing this review so they can see it too and know that they could have gained 20 regular customers.

Room Tip: Stern and strict with your reservation if you are a big group is important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DinaHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redseadivingsafari, Manager at Marsa Nakari Village, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you Dina for your honest and fair review and we value every guest that visits our villages. We will not settle for anything less than a delightful experience for every guest and look forward to hosting your group once more to make up for this experience.

As part of our efforts to develop our facilities and overall guest experience, we installed 20 A/C units in May in anticipation of a hot summer. We decided to run a promotion – free up-grade to deluxe chalet from normal chalet from June to August and stated clearly that this was according to availability.

We are certain that your group arrived near the Eid Holiday time - coupled with the free-up-grade offer put a lot more demand on A/C rooms in one of the hottest and busiest summer months for our operation.

Regardless, we want to make up for what happened seeing that you did enjoy the overall experience and atmosphere. We hope to host your group in the near future and look forward to a 5 star review after your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    23
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We've visited Marsa Shagra a couple of times so thought we'd give Nakari a go. Good points -very well organised (like Shagra), great food, lovely kitchen, restaurant and housekeeping staff, who couldn't do enough to help or be friendly. The reef not quite as good as Shagra, but still lovely. Visibility not great while we were there, but that was down to the season and the full moon. Prettier than Shagra and much much less busy. We did the wreck trip to Abu Ghusun and really enjoyed the dives, the lunch, coffee and paddle in the lagoon. On our last day a pod of dolphins came into the bay and the guys in charge of the boats and dive shelter piled us into ribs and took us to sit in the middle of the bay so the dolphins kept sweeping right by us. We were the only Brits there so spent our time with several other nationalities, which we really enjoyed.

Less good; there have been several references to the more relaxed laid back dive staff, but I'm afraid that wasn't a plus point for us. Although always helpful and polite, they were generally less pro-active, less engaged and less fun than the staff at Shagra. We felt it particularly because we had a 14 year old and an 11 year old with us. The staff at Shagra made their holiday last year, whereas at Nakari only one person made any real effort with them. Other people there also commented that the dive staff were always polite and helpful but not particularly forthcoming. As an indicator, I don't think any of them knew our childrens' names, yet when we called in at Shagra on the way to the airport, 4 of the dive shelter staff remembered them, their names, and even the nickname they called my husband by (after a year) and met them with smiles and hugs.

One reason for this might be that the Nakari dive and reception staff all seemed to be constantly on mobile phones. While they broke off their conversations to speak, they resumed them immediately afterwards, so you always felt that you were interrupting them. I don't think they intended to be rude, but sometimes their mobile phone use would have been unacceptable in most work or conversational situations.

I wouldn't take our children there again. Though lovely for adults, there were no other children or teenagers there, the dive staff (with one honorable exception) didn't really engage with them and they felt a bit out of place. The orientation dive at the beginning and the truck dive were fine for adults but felt too rushed for my 11 year old and she got rattled, so the two of us ended up diving alone. Obviously we wouldn't want to hold up everyone else, but this never seemed to be an issue at Shagra.

It's a real shame that they charge for even the short rib dives now. It makes it far too expensive for a family of four (E100 for the morning).

In short, an idyllic relaxed pretty place, great food, good diving. Perfect for self-sufficient adult couples or groups. For a family holiday, I'd stick to Shagra.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank izzy83_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viterbo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Though the Nakari village is certainly more enjoyable if you dive (we didn't), my girlfriend and I had 4 wonderful days in this resort. Nice and clean room and bathrooms, decent restaurant with a beautiful porch, very friendly and helpful staff. We spent our days just relaxing on the beach and snorkeling on the amazing house reef.
Considering the overall low price, I would definitely recommend it, especially for divers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Very nice house reef and some very good dives nearby (Abu Dabbab & Elphinstone). The staff is great and the food is very nice too. The location is very quiet and all you have to think of is dive, relax or eat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterV00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

Warning: if you like to swim, Nakari might not be the best location. Because of sea currents, the little bay on which the resort sits is filled with garbage and it is very rocky. It is possible to dip in the water, but you don't stay there for long.

Most visitors come for the diving (Nakari is also a diving centre), but it is possible to just sit on the beach and read a book. The food at the restaurant is delicious and varied. Nakari is quite a distance from Marsa Alam, the nearby town, and there are not a lot of activities to do there, so be prepared if you don't dive.

There is a small souvenir shop (postcards, t-shirts), and prices are all in euros. These items are prohibitive when compared to regular Egyptian prices, although relatively cheap for European standards (postcard at Nakari is 1 euro, but 0.12 euro in Cairo, for example).

Room Tip: Bring something to do if you're not into diving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joseph34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton East Sussex England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Just back from Nakari Village with my daughters, and if it's good diving, a bountiful house reef, delicious food, peace and cleanliness you're after, this is the place for you. We booked with Dolphin Swim company and the holiday included a trip to Abu Dabub to swim with the turtles, 3 full day trips out by boat from Marsa Alam to the Dolphin House Marine Park reef, where we spend an amazing 3 and a half hours one day swimming and playing with many dolphins, and a couple of visits to the main sister village Shagra nearby. Our guide, rep and now friend, Khaled, was so helpful and ensured we got the best from our time there. Nakari is small and friendly, nothing but sea and sand to the front and desert and mountains to the back. Lovely!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Songbird052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Had a fabulous week at Nakari. The food is outstanding here so much effort has gone into it and it shows. A bit more fun and relaxed than Shagra, they could do with injecting it back there too. Preferred the house reef at Shagra but still had some fabulous dives. Do the trip to dolphin house. Incredible diving plus the chance to snorkel with the dolphins, we were lucky and did, informative trip. Do take the time to wander along the beach and pick up the litter, it's amazing what you find. Sadly all washed in from the liveaboards but not in horrendous amounts, every little stroll with a bag helps. Definitely could do with A/C in the en suite huts. Finally found out the best way to sleep was with my feet at the head of the bed so I was closer to the fan. Stunning sunsets to be seen too. Tip, plenty of insect repellent on in the evenings here.

Room Tip: En Suite Mandarahs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Filanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
40.3 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
11.2 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#16 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
21.0 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach
CLUB CALIMERA Habiba Beach
#46 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
40.0 mi away
Resta Grand Resort
Resta Grand Resort
#23 of 71 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rihana Guest House
Rihana Guest House
#6 of 12 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsa Nakari Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsa Nakari Village

Property: Marsa Nakari Village
Address: Marsa Nakari | Marsa Alam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marsa Nakari Village 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marsa Nakari is a charming sea-side lodge approximately 20 km south of Marsa Alam city. Its main appeal is its proximity to the Sammadai protectorate (Dolphin House); one of the Red Sea’s most important national parks and attraction. There are various other highlights including Wadi el Gemal national park, desert trips, cultural encounters, historic sites, Luxor, daily boat, and much more. Marsa Nakari is also a historical site dating back to the Roman times and known to the ancients as the port of Nechesia. The remains of its ruin are still present atop a hill towards the southern end of the bay. Marsa Nakari is the dream holiday for those seeking to experience Marsa Alam’s true heritage. Expect the silence and serenity of the desert atmosphere and the world-renowned beauty of the red sea reefs. Our villages are small because we maintain a minimal impact policy towards the environment. Our accommodations consist of standard tents, luxurious royal tents, huts, or deluxe chalets. Natures beautiful simplicity permeates our village theme and our tourism model will give you a new appreciation for the serenity and simplicity of Marsa Alam's pristine environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Marsa Nakari Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing