We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for divers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Ranked #32 of 74 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good base for divers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Azur hotel. I was a little concerned on what to expect following some very poor reviews. Our room was very spacious and clean, and although we had to call reception a couple of times as there were no towels this was very quickly dealt with. The hotel itself is really pleasant with well kept gardens and the pool was clean. It was fairly quiet, so we always got a sun lounger on return from the days diving for a quick swim and a sit in the sun. Service at the bar was a bit hit and miss depending on who was working.

The food is nothing special, and the best word I can use is adequate. There was sufficient choice so we could always find something that we liked. Please don't try the wine, which was absolutely undrinkable!

We dived on Aquarius and the crew and dive guides were first class. They were all friendly and helpful and made the diving experience very enjoyable. My only complaint would be on the overcrowding on the boat, and we had in excess of 35 divers on a few days. This meant that you were luckly to get somewhere to sit on the boat (a space to lie down was out of the question!), and there were an awful lot of bubbles under the water.

Overall a really good holiday in a really pleasant and relaxing hotel. I have rated as 'average', but it is nearly 'very good'. I would recommend to divers as a good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraS448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    411
    151
    39
    37
See reviews for
130
394
41
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Clean hotel with beautiful garden and nice beach, perfect place for diving or kitesurfing. Food was good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hysteria27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swinoujscie, Zachodniopomorskie, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Hotel is not big (around 100 rooms), but very clean and nice. It has beautiful garden, two swimmingpools, ORCA diving center etc. Rooms are simillar to other 4* hotels in Egypt - no better no worst, quite ok. Food was very good as for such a small 4* hotel. Almost all hotel guest come here for kitesurfing or diving, so during the day there is almost nobody in the hotel. Definetly not a familly hotel. I will be back here in march.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Remigiusz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oostende
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at the resort for 9 days (29-12 to 07/01/12), having a room on 1 st floor with seaview. Room was spatious and clean. Our jounrney was mainly for kite-surfing.
On one side the staff were very helpful and kind (we arrived late and some snacks were organized, I received a birthday cake, transferts were organized, restaurant staff were excellent, etc). On the other side we had some difficulties with the sometimes unexpected rather rude atitude:
- Kitebags are not allowed in the rooms. There can be a good explanation for that. But we did not receive it. I had to take out some stuff from my kite bag (clothes, etc) and wanted to do that in the morning, but after the 3rd rude phone call from reception, I had to do this at 01h00 just to get peace.
- Our booking was guaranteed by credit card of our travel agent. Reception asked for payment, which is understandable. Before going for dinner on our first eve we agreed with reception that we would come along after dinner or next morning. At 23h00 we were called again asking to come to reception for payment. Not nice when you are enjoying a good book just before sleeping.
In conclusion we have to say that we made a mistake. We thought that going deep South would give us an extra couple of degrees warmth and were hoping that the extra distance (200km from Marsa Alam airport) would be compensated by a super hotel. We have stayed in El Gouna, Hurghada, Safagha and Marsa Alam before. Unfortunately we have to say that we did not get the expected satisfaction and will remain closer to the airport next time.

Room Tip: Room in the blocks closest to the beach. Best 2nd block South of restaurant (noice in morning)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hwalgraeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

Positive - Only three years old but zero maintenance, room quality was adequate and resonably clean. Resturant [all inc] served good quality food but with too much flair or imagination. Location was good for Divers [Orca divers are amongst the best of the best]. beach ok but lagoon entry was dangerous unless you had dive boots / rock shoes.
Negative - Serious shortage of wine glasses so they were whipping the glasses off the tables, even before you had finished your drink, washing them and recycling them still warm, told to come back in 5 minutes , three times in one night as they waited for glasses. wine in beer glasses. Go to the pool bar and ask for a beer - joke, it's served in a tiny litle plastic cup 50ml - sample size as standard. So after diving we arrived at the bar and 5 of us would order 15 beers. Another serious shortage of cups at breakfast, most were chipped and cracked.

In the end we complained to the hotel management and they sent a car to Hurgarda with driver to buy 500 glasses and a 250 cups and saucers. - I asked the hotel staff in the resturant if they had complained before and they said they had stated the problem to the management several times and they were told to use what they had - as they had enough !! As we were leaving things improved on this front - glad for those that follow.

Our aircon in the room broke down three times in 24 hours despite the resident engineer re-gassing it - obvious the compressor seals were knacked. They moved us for the last night as the night temp in our original room was 38 deg c

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trickiedick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marsa Alam hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. The staff were helpful and efficient and were always pleased to assist me. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and close to the beach. I liked the fact that the restaurant was actually on the beach and the food was well presented and enjoyable. My transfer from Marsa Alam airport was faultless even though my plane was 3 hours late, the driver was still cheerful and even took me to the bank in Marsa Alam and to the supermarket.
The staff in Reception were brilliant and very welcoming. The beach is lovely and snorkeling in the coral gardens wes good. However, the fact that there is no jetty into the sea is a big drawback - I did get into the sea several times when the tide was high but it was a bit challenging. The main reef has lots of fish and I saw Turtles and Napoleons.
If snorkeling was not a priority then this hotel is excellent and very good value for money. I didn't really test out the all-inclusive aspect as i don't eat or drink much but the wine and beer were well chilled and the food was really good. A pleasant experience!

Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank JUDITH W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marsa Alam
22.5 mi away
Zabargad Berenice Resort
101.7 mi away
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
Marina Lodge at Port Ghalib
#15 of 74 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
106.7 mi away
Resta Reef Resort
Resta Reef Resort
#18 of 74 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
87.6 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
37.6 mi away
Shams Alam Beach Resort
Shams Alam Beach Resort
#28 of 74 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 748 reviews
55.0 mi away
Laguna Beach Resort
Laguna Beach Resort
#36 of 74 in Marsa Alam
4.0 of 5 stars 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort

Property: Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort
Address: Berenice Road | 112 Km. south of Marsa Allam, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#33 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wadi Lahmy Azur Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wadi Lahmy Azur Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing