We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of heaven”
Review of Jaz Dar El Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Dar El Madina
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

First time my husband and I have been to Egypt. What an introduction ! Staff are absolutely brilliant and make sure that everything is perfect. Food was fantastic with loads of choice. Every part of resort is really clean and very well kept. We had two weeks of total relaxation. Can't wait to go back. Beautiful place with brilliant staff. Also met some great people, Colin and Jill. This hotel, beach and sea definately has the WOW factor, we loved every second of our holiday. Jill and Paul.

Room Tip: We were on third floor overlooking pool, great room with views over mountains. Brilliant sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 1,536 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

and nothing has changed. Sometimes when you return things don't seem the same but yet again the hotel and its staff exceeded our expectations.
Everything is perfect, the staff at reception when you arrive, the bar staff, waiters, porters, rooms boys, animation team.......................everyone is there to ensure you have the best holiday without being to intrusive.
We are most certainly returning.
Thank you to all at the Madina for making our holiday perfect again XXX

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraandDave333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed this holiday, having previously been to this resort,staying at the Iberotel Coraya in November 13 for a week which we also enjoyed. That is the adults only hotel and is one of the 5 hotels surrounding the bay, all part of the Jaz group of hotels, 3 Iberotel and 2 Sol y Mar.
The Sol Y Mar Dar El Medina is about 4 minutes walk to the beach and we found that all through our holiday the staff here were some of the most helpful and friendly of the staff we have had on our many holidays. Mena, on reception sorting out any issues most helpfully and efficiently, Mohamed, our Room Boy cleaning the room and leaving the fantastic towel art for us, including one day a 7 foot crocodile! The rooms were good, clean and the family rooms are a decent size.
All the bar staff, food waiters, chefs, senior chefs and the dining room supervisors and managers were all excellent and always willing to help and do something different for you, from poached eggs in the morning to chocolates and ice cream for the evening meals.We were there at the start of Ramadan and the first week was generally quiet, there was lots of space by the pool and on the allocated area of the beach. With the world cup also underway, there was a lot of interest in the football, from the many German, Italian, Dutch, French and some Brits there. It is a very cosmopolitan resort.Second week was busier with more families as parts of europe broke up their school term at the end of June.
The animation team worked very hard during the holiday, encouraging people to take part but without being too pushy. Some of their routines at the Souk were very good and enjoyable. They have to turn their hand to many dance styles and other entertainments including being a fakhir; fire-eating, lying on broken glass & beds of nails. The whole team worked hard to entertain you.
The bay is excellent for introductory snorkelling with a shallow walk up to the areas where most people snorkelled or swam, alongside the jetty offering the opportunity to snorkel on the edge of the reef over some deeper water. Walking along the jetty especially at low tide, allows you to take some great pictures of the many and varied colourful fish, octopus and other creatures of the sea, As expected the weather was glorious with a nice breeze on most days. When the breeze drops the temperature rockets and you certainly notice the difference.
This is a holiday where you can relax, find a quiet spot and do very little, although at the same time you can go out on trips and overnight stays to Luxor and Cairo, or boat trips from Port Ghalib or Marsa Alam alongside other activities.
We were impressed with the commitment of all the staff and management to come and ask the customer about their hotel, service, food, amenities and the way they want to improve the hotel. Suggestions are accepted and acted on and it seemed a very proactive style of management. Some areas are being improved and standards feel like they are being pushed up. It is also a place where if you want something different do not be afraid to ask in respect of different food etc. If they can do it they usually will. This is a hotel and a resort that we would definitely go back to in future assuming price and timings work out. We really enjoyed this holiday due to the care of all the staff.

Room Tip: We liked the family rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank ChrisandJanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

From start to finish this holiday was everything we could wish for. On our arrival we were looked after straight away and taken to the restaurant to get a meal even though the restaurant was 'closed' as it was after 10pm. The waiter Ragaab couldn't do enough for us and made our first impression of the hotel very pleasurable and welcoming and he continued throughout our holiday to look after us and ensure we had everything we wanted. The hotel is very clean (thank you Mohamed our room boy who kept our room spotless and left us a different animal, flower or bird made from towels everyday) and the food was lovely with plenty of variation, (look out for chefs chocolates in the evening .... absolutely delicious !) All the staff were amazing, very friendly, attentive and made us feel like royalty but without being imposing. There is plenty of room around the pool area and at the hotels beach so there is no need to reserve sunbeds no matter what time of the day, there were always plenty of tables and seats in the restaurant and bars which made for a very relaxing, carefree atmosphere. We went to the beach most days which is spotlessly clean and spacious so you don't feel you are sitting on top of one another, the beach bar was part of the all inclusive service and again the staff were welcoming and attentive. We cannot thank the staff, animation team (who worked hard putting on some very good entertainment in the evenings and fun activities during the day) and management enough for looking after us so well, and we felt by the end of our holiday we had made new friends who would be waiting for us on our return...........as we will definitely be going back again. This review does not do justice to how good the hotel and staff are, all we can do is suggest you see for yourself and you wont be disappointed. To anyone worried about reported troubles in Egypt please be assured this area is not affected at all, we saw no problems, just friendly, welcoming people who love the English.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rustybins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

This was one of the best holidays we had and we are quite critical. The food is great, the staff is even better. The rooms are clean and situates in a small and cosy resort. There isn't much to do in the neighbourhood but the animation team is there for your pleasure and this works very well. They also play with children, whilst the parents can read a book at the pool ;-) We would love to return to this great resort.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
14  Thank ClaudiaBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

A small all-inclusive hotel, about 130 rooms, with very friendly and helpfull staff.
Nice, very well cleaned, room.
Breakfast, lunch and diner good.
About 4 minutes walking to the beach. Drinks and food at the beach are part of the all-inclusive formula.
Beautifull house reef with lots of fish, Entrance from the beach or from the jetty.
Close to the airport.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathyj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was at Dar El Madina in April, room 503 (good one). I put a comment when I was back but it seems it didn't work. So I try again because it worth it.
I want to send a big big thanks to Hatem and Sherif from the reception desk. They were absolutely fantastic, very helpful and always nice. A special thanks to Hatem though who I bothered a little more.
I recommend this hotel to every one and specially to people with family or couples. it is about 3 mins walk to the beach.
Hotel is very clean, food is great and absolutely every one was really nice and polite.
The only little thing that could be annoying for some people is that there is nothing around the hotel. first city at 67km, no bus and taxi quite expensive to go there, so you just can enjoy the hotel, swimming pool ans beach which is very well animated (games and sports)

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,661 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,269 reviews
28.5 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#14 of 68 in Marsa Alam
556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dar El Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dar El Madina

Address: Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $101 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dar El Madina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Jaz Dar El Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Dar El Madina Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing