We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time - still perfect!”
Review of Jaz Dar El Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Dar El Madina
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our second consecutive year at this hotel and resort, visiting for October half term. Given all the troubles in Egypt over the run up to the holiday we weren't nervous but more intrigued as to how the hotel would have been affected by lack of tourists from other countries not permitting Egypt holidays.
The first few days were definitely quieter than the previous year but by mid week when all the tour operators started coming again the place quickly filled up.
The nice thing was it hadn't changed, we even got the same room as loved that one so much last year (and I would never ask for the same of anything !). Many of the staff recognised us which was amazing given how many people they must see and made a special fuss of ensuring we had a good table for dinner etc.
the children's entertainment this year was fabulous led by the superb Gerry, what a star. For the first time we went to some of the adult entertainment which was also very good.
The food was excellent again and there had been a few improvements on a couple of things since the previous year. The beach as wonderful as ever with plenty of sun beds always available and drinks service. Snorkelling was super again too and we went out on one of the ocean cruise day trips including a super lunch where we saw turtles and saw cows. Excellent trip.
Once again I can't fault the hotel or the resort, the staff are absolutely fantastic, the weather continually perfect and the facilities ideal.
May try somewhere else this year for a change but have no reservations about recommending this hotel and will definitely return!

Room Tip: I prefer a room at the back overlooking the desert so you get to see the beautiful sunset and also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

257 - 263 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2014

We have just spent a fabulous week at El Madina - this is our fourth trip to Egypt and without doubt the best. The staff were wonderful and the General Manager even took us to watch Crystal Palace FC in the staff canteen as we were unable to watch it in the hotel, due to technical problems. We will be going again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bahamas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We've just come back from this hotel and it was really lovely. It's the second time we have been here. The staff can not do enough for you and it is really clean with no rubbish anywhere. The beach is lovely too - good for snorkelling. My husband last year saw a Manta Ray! The staff remembered us from last year which is always nice. The food is varied and good catering for any taste really. If there is something you particularly want, they will do their best to provide it. Even the security staff at the airport were friendly and I think they were all delighted that the British had gone to stay there.

Room Tip: We have only stayed on the ground floor as we like being able to pop in and out of the room if we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful week at the Madina. Absolutely wonderful, a fantastic week of beautiful weather, perfect hotel, amazing staff ...................it definitely gets 5*s from us. We are thinking of our September/October holiday and wherever we look at we compare with the madina so have decided to go back. We have stayed at lots of hotels in Egypt and this one is our favourite. We couldn't find fault if we tried.
We don't do a lot on our week break but the animation team were a great little bunch especially Jerry. They really looked after our friends who travelled with us. Thank you again to all the staff for making our holiday perfect. XXX

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraandDave333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel. It was like coming home, we were had a good and relax reception when we checked in. The service and food is awesome and this hotel is perfect to relax and rewind. Although it's not located at the beach (a 5 minutes walk) we have decided to come back every year to relax and snorkel.

If you want to party all the time this is not the hotel for you, but if you want to relax and enjoy the outstanding service and food it is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanvanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to the Dar El Medina in March 2013..it was lovely! The staff were great & remembered all your drink preferences, they liked nothing better than to talk to you and practice their English. Dinner in the evening was very relaxed, sitting outside enjoying good food & drinking wine (which was topped up by the waiter as soon as your glass was empty!) After dinner we didn't bother with the entertainment at the theatre, we just sat at the bar listening to Himo, the resident singer, who was superb (and dishy!)
On the 2nd day of the holiday I slipped when I went to use the poolside shower & fell heavily, spraining my ankle badly. The management were very concerned, asking if we wanted to change rooms as we were on the top floor. Whenever I went to the restaurant after that one of the waiters would come rushing up to help carry my plate of food to our table... nothing was too much trouble. On our departure day many of the staff came to see us off & even Himo turned up especially to say cheerio. When we arrived at the airport we found that the hotel + First Choice had organised a wheelchair for me and supervised us from the time we left our coach to actually putting me on the plane with the aid of an elevating platform!
Needless to say, we enjoyed our holiday so much, we intend going back this March can't wait!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor overlooking the pool & was lovely and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been there in 2013 three times now and everytime was wonderfull. All the people who work there are so kind and good in their job. Nothing more to say than PERFECT!!!!!!!! We will go back in march 2014 greats Bertina and Dennis from Holland

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts
1  Thank dennis-bertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,305 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#8 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
531 reviews
28.5 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#15 of 68 in Marsa Alam
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dar El Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dar El Madina

Address: Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $101 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dar El Madina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Jaz Dar El Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Dar El Madina Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing