We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,746)
Filter reviews
1,746 results
Traveler rating
1,325
353
46
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,325
353
46
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walk to the beachbeach barfishanimation teamaqua parkegyptian restaurantcoraya bayplenty of sunbedsmanta raymelonrooms overlookingshop keeperskept spotlessly cleanpastasim cardcoraya diversgreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 1,746 reviews
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Just returned from another wonderful week at the Madina. Absolutely wonderful, a fantastic week of beautiful weather, perfect hotel, amazing staff ...................it definitely gets 5*s from us. We are thinking of our September/October holiday and wherever we look at we compare with the madina so have decided to go back. We have stayed at lots of hotels in Egypt and this one is our favourite. We couldn't find fault if we tried.
We don't do a lot on our week break but the animation team were a great little bunch especially Jerry. They really looked after our friends who travelled with us. Thank you again to all the staff for making our holiday perfect. XXX

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraandDave333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Wonderful hotel. It was like coming home, we were had a good and relax reception when we checked in. The service and food is awesome and this hotel is perfect to relax and rewind. Although it's not located at the beach (a 5 minutes walk) we have decided to come back every year to relax and snorkel.

If you want to party all the time this is not the hotel for you, but if you want to relax and enjoy the outstanding service and food it is.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanvanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We went to the Dar El Medina in March 2013..it was lovely! The staff were great & remembered all your drink preferences, they liked nothing better than to talk to you and practice their English. Dinner in the evening was very relaxed, sitting outside enjoying good food & drinking wine (which was topped up by the waiter as soon as your glass was empty!) After dinner we didn't bother with the entertainment at the theatre, we just sat at the bar listening to Himo, the resident singer, who was superb (and dishy!)
On the 2nd day of the holiday I slipped when I went to use the poolside shower & fell heavily, spraining my ankle badly. The management were very concerned, asking if we wanted to change rooms as we were on the top floor. Whenever I went to the restaurant after that one of the waiters would come rushing up to help carry my plate of food to our table... nothing was too much trouble. On our departure day many of the staff came to see us off & even Himo turned up especially to say cheerio. When we arrived at the airport we found that the hotel + First Choice had organised a wheelchair for me and supervised us from the time we left our coach to actually putting me on the plane with the aid of an elevating platform!
Needless to say, we enjoyed our holiday so much, we intend going back this March can't wait!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor overlooking the pool & was lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We have been there in 2013 three times now and everytime was wonderfull. All the people who work there are so kind and good in their job. Nothing more to say than PERFECT!!!!!!!! We will go back in march 2014 greats Bertina and Dennis from Holland

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jaz Hotels and Resorts
1  Thank dennis-bertina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Sol y Mar for a week from 1st January to 8th January 2014. I will try and keep this brief as I could sing this hotel's praises for a long time!

We travelled two adults and our son, who is 2.5 years old. The kids club was not hugely active as it was quiet but there were some children there and Jerry catered so well for them - not forcing activities but spending time with the kids and with us and we had a wonderful time. The mini-disco was a highlight for our son, the kids park which isn't mentioned on here really was great and shaded with a swing, slides and sand. Our son cried when we left and still a few days later now we're back asks for Jerry! Thank you Jerry and Ana.

The room was large with a curtained off section - a family room - and was spcaious, modern and lovely. The cleaning was fantastic, with great towel decorations every day and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large but only had a shower which wasn't so great with a child who baths every day.

The restaurant was good - the variety was good, with the BBQ outside which was nice every day plus different pudding every evening (crepes, ice cream, fresh fruit salad - yummy!). It catered well for kids and although we would have like to eat somewhere else just for variety, for all inclusive it was a great selection and always tasted delicious.

Outside of meal times there were pizza's, burgers, sandwiches, ice cream etc at the beach or pool bar. Dnner ended at 9 am and we didn't realise that there wasn't anymore food - my husband asked at the bar and they said 'what do you want' and offered to cook him something which was wonderful and showed how flexible they are.

The pool is lovely, large and the kids pool is shallow and heated which was good. The aqua park is excellent and literally in the back garden of the hotel. The beach is a short walk which is quite far with a toddler but fine and actually turned into quite a nice stroll every day down there. The sunset on the sand 'hill' on the beach was lovely and the music they put on is a nice touch.

The only negative was that we found some staff talked outside our room early in the morning and it did wake us up for the first few nights. We mentioned it to a manager and it stopped immediately which was appreciated. I did ask the staff one morning if they could keep it down a bit and they didn't but the management obviously asked them and that was appreciated. It was great to see them acting on feedback promptly.

All in all I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. For a family it was perfect - it's small enough to be ery personal but enough to do so you don't get bored in a week. We met lovely people there as it genuinely is a family type environment and we chatted every day to so many people and will take away wonderful memories of the holiday together.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great for families. Some other families had one with a few stairs to the pool which would have been nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews