We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,741)
Filter reviews
1,741 results
Traveler rating
1,322
352
45
8
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,322
352
45
8
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsminute walk to the beachbeach barfishanimation teamaqua parkegyptian restaurantcoraya baymanta rayplenty of sunbedsmelonrooms overlookingshop keeperskept spotlessly cleansim cardcoraya diverspastagreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 1,741 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at the Sol y Mar for a week from 1st January to 8th January 2014. I will try and keep this brief as I could sing this hotel's praises for a long time!

We travelled two adults and our son, who is 2.5 years old. The kids club was not hugely active as it was quiet but there were some children there and Jerry catered so well for them - not forcing activities but spending time with the kids and with us and we had a wonderful time. The mini-disco was a highlight for our son, the kids park which isn't mentioned on here really was great and shaded with a swing, slides and sand. Our son cried when we left and still a few days later now we're back asks for Jerry! Thank you Jerry and Ana.

The room was large with a curtained off section - a family room - and was spcaious, modern and lovely. The cleaning was fantastic, with great towel decorations every day and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was large but only had a shower which wasn't so great with a child who baths every day.

The restaurant was good - the variety was good, with the BBQ outside which was nice every day plus different pudding every evening (crepes, ice cream, fresh fruit salad - yummy!). It catered well for kids and although we would have like to eat somewhere else just for variety, for all inclusive it was a great selection and always tasted delicious.

Outside of meal times there were pizza's, burgers, sandwiches, ice cream etc at the beach or pool bar. Dnner ended at 9 am and we didn't realise that there wasn't anymore food - my husband asked at the bar and they said 'what do you want' and offered to cook him something which was wonderful and showed how flexible they are.

The pool is lovely, large and the kids pool is shallow and heated which was good. The aqua park is excellent and literally in the back garden of the hotel. The beach is a short walk which is quite far with a toddler but fine and actually turned into quite a nice stroll every day down there. The sunset on the sand 'hill' on the beach was lovely and the music they put on is a nice touch.

The only negative was that we found some staff talked outside our room early in the morning and it did wake us up for the first few nights. We mentioned it to a manager and it stopped immediately which was appreciated. I did ask the staff one morning if they could keep it down a bit and they didn't but the management obviously asked them and that was appreciated. It was great to see them acting on feedback promptly.

All in all I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. For a family it was perfect - it's small enough to be ery personal but enough to do so you don't get bored in a week. We met lovely people there as it genuinely is a family type environment and we chatted every day to so many people and will take away wonderful memories of the holiday together.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are great for families. Some other families had one with a few stairs to the pool which would have been nice.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicester_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I will describe my day in this hotel as I just get back from a lovely week in this hotel.

This hotel have a sunrise and sunset view and location that is a breath taking so they prepared this location for sun rise and sunset and prepare a music to flow with the beauty of the sea waves and the sunset that will literally take your breath away.

Then the breakfast at 7, the beauty of the food here is that every day you have a food from a different country, Egyptian, Italian, Chinese …etc. and they care very much to provide delicious healthy and nice variety of food.
We milted with the tasty soups, potatoes, oriental corner, chicken, meat, see food, pasta, grilled food, desert, fruit, pizza, ice cream, soft drinks, mocktails ... Etc.

Then we enjoyed playing Tennis, beach volleyball, archery, Billiards, Bocce, Gym and others.

During this time the room service come and clean the room and make animal shapes with the towels.

Then we enjoy the coral and the colored amazing fish inside the beach, where you can do scuba-diving and snorkeling.

Then at the night there is 4 theaters for the 5 hotels in this location that you are free to enjoy any night entertainment shows of them (oriental, Fakir, Variety show, Dance around the world, live singer, ..etc.) which change daily.

I can’t thank enough the stuff which were very helpful, friendly and warm (Sherif, Mohamed, Ahmed, Hany, Omar, Mustafa, Hassan, Abdo.. etc.)

We are definitely coming back inshallah.

Room Tip: My from was in the first floor on the pool, which was perfect for me.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tarek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Just got back from a week at this fabulous hotel. The staff were the best I have ever encountered ,they couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was exceptionally clean, rooms were spacious and cleaned to a high standard. The restaurant offered a good variety of food, and if you wanted something different all you had to do was ask, and the chef would accommodate your request. For me this was the best hotel I have stayed in on my trips to Egypt, having stayed at the Hilton and Sofitel this hotel offers a far superior service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DebSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

This hotel was lovely. The staff were amazing very helpful and extremely friendly always a smile. Location was very good beach a short walk. outside the hotel was beatifully clean and well cared for. The only failing for us was the variety of food which was practically the same each night. There was only one carved joint the whole fortnight we were there and there was only one and as we ate at 8 there was none left. We have been to other hotels in Egypt and this was the best apart from the food. Saying that we never went hungry. The beach bar was very restricted on what you could eat pizza was on every day but they had a daily item and that was it no other choice. Entertainment not high on our priorotities but usually at the Lamaya across the road

Room Tip: we were given a family room which was very spacious
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This hotel is really worth a stay. It is well organized and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The offering from the daily international buffets are delicious! A lot of entertainment.

The hotel was quiet, this would be due to the reported unrest in Egypt, but there was no sign of any trouble ! This resort is miles away from any trouble and is an excellent hotel and location.

This was our first time to this hotel and now we are looking forward to going back next year

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews