We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL”
Review of Jaz Dar El Madina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jaz Dar El Madina
Ranked #1 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

fantastic hotel, great service throughout the whole stay....

after visiting egypt several times before & knowing the food on all inclusive breaks can be repettative we went expecting the same, however we was happily surprised, the food was hot, very tasty & something different each night, we didnt get bored of eating at the hotel like we usually would whilst on an all inclusive package....

the staff are very friendly, drinks / ice creams / pizza / popcorn served throughout the day around the pool to your sun loungers...

rooms spotless, fresh towels, a nice towel art on the bed each day from the housekeepers.

5 minute walk to the beach, with all inclusive cafe/bar.... if you are planning any trips book with the company on the beach (tiger) as lots cheaper then the rep in the hotel & turns out to be the same trip, rep talks you into booking with him as earns commission on the tickets!

great waterpark next to hotel, only downside is drinks & food not inclusive their....

will be visiting the hotel again soon, was sad to leave....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnymeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Really good hotel.

friendly and helpful staff - who can't do enough for you

The in viaggi animation team were excellent and really included my 2 year old daughter dispite her being the only English child

Food good although a little repetitive, no issues with upset tummies!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyB1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel and had a lovely time.
The hotel sits on a complex so shares the bay and beach with several other hotels (The Solaya, Iberotel Lamaya and Iberotel Coraya) The hotel itself is not actually 'on the beach' but for people who might want to moan about this, then don't pay attention as it's literally a 4 minute walk from the front door and if you were in a room at the back of some of the other larger hotels, then the walk would be longer and they advertise that they have beachfront location.
The hotel is lovely and so, so clean. The rooms are in blocks of 3 floors and we got a pool view. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept very well. We had a large walk in shower and the hot water was plentiful. The room was always cleaned perfectly and the towel art was a nice touch. There is a safe in the wardrobe which is free to use.
Breakfast selection was excellent....freshly made omelettes, waffles and pancakes, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, bread/toast and pastries as well as Egyptian food and the usual beans, scrambled eggs etc.. Also there was a lovely coffee machine which did delicious cappuccinos!
For lunch you can come up to the main restaurant or choose from the pool bar or beach bar and have pizzas/sandwiches/chips/salads etc..
Dinner was served in the main restaurant and there was a different theme every night with grill offerings with exotic food such as fresh crab (delicious!) and koftas etc.. as well as a huge buffet selections including fresh pasta, salads etc.. Even the fussiest eater would never go hungry. The staff are a delight and remember your name and drinks orders. The chefs are often out checking with the customers that they are happy and that the food is ok. There really is nothing more that they can do to ensure you are content. There is a nice touch of handmade chocolates that are offered too. Definitely addictive!
The beach has a section for the Madina and there is a beach bar for drinks/snacks/ice cream. It's quite small but the staff were quick to serve and so the turnover was fast.
The snorkelling is excellent. There is a walkway to the right of the bay that takes you directly on the edge of the reef or you can wade then swim directly from the beach. The bay itself is well sheltered so even when it's choppy out at sea, a strong swimmer can still swim/snorkel in the shallower part of the bay.
The only issue we saw was that when it was windy, people were taking 2 and even 3 wind breaks so it meant that there was not enough to go round. Luckily it was early season but I could see that this would be a problem later on in the height of Summer as people need the breaks as shade as well. The beach boys were very good and took people further along the beach to find wind breaks but really it needs addressing as people are just being selfish and greedy and so shouldn't be offended to have their 2nd/3rd windbreak taken off them.
The hotel has 2 pools...a large pool and a small childs splash pool. We only sat round the pool on our last day and were sadly subjected to the horror of the 'animation team' and their dreadful choice of rock music which blared out and spoilt the ambience. That is the only downside I can find with the hotel and perhaps could be addressed. It certainly would have put me off staying by the pool!
The hotel has a small gym but we waited until the sun set and ran along the track/promenade that ran around the bay. It was well lit.
There are other a la carte restaurants in the souk attached to the hotel which we didn't bother trying as the selection of food at the buffet was more than adequate. The cost was 10/15 euros per person plus drinks.
The souk has a small selection of shops for your typical holiday souvenirs.
We didn't bother going to any of the shows that the animation teams put on as they aren't our kind of thing. However, the hotel has a singer (the Egyptian equivalent of Justin Timberlake :)) who was really good and sitting with a cocktail/beer in the warm evening air listening to his crooning was enough for us.
Big hello to Walleed at the bar who has an amazing memory and remembers your name and tipple.
The staff really do make this hotel stand out from the crowd and for us, were definitely the reason for the big success of the reviews.
I would definitely recommend the hotel....and if you can find the plug for the hideous pool music, give it a good kick to silence it!

Room Tip: We just asked for a pool view and so were happy with our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DonnBarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

First time at this hotel, read most of the previous reviews and they were not wrong, this hotel is perfect for a relaxing chilled out holiday, checking in was hassle free, we had welcome drinks on arrival and a chat with Youssef( asst. manager), who talked about the hotel facilities, our room was 519, which was a family room, ground floor, which led onto the pool terrace, the room itself was up to a good standard and cleaned everyday by Emad to a very high standard.

The pool itself is small with plenty of sunbeds, the pool bar is excellent, look out for Hamada, he is very polite and will bring you dinks all day, the main bar is situated next to the restaurant, again very helpful and courteous staff, Waleed was the best, remembering what drinks you liked.

The restaurant is buffet style, catering for many tates isn't always easy, but every evening there was something you could find, if not, the chef's were more than willing to cook something else for you.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away, plenty of sunloungers, there is also a long jetty, with acess to the sea from it for swimming.

If your looking for prefect chilled out relaxing holiday, this is one of the best, we are already looking at going back next March

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank legend1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Couldn't believe the reviews, but decided to try the hotel for our first experience of Egypt. It coulld not have been better. Excellent staff from room cleaner to manager. Excellent food. Lovely surroundings including beach and house reef. More sun beds than you can shake a big stick at, both round the pool and down at the beach and no hassle due to house rule regarding towels on sun beds. We will certainly be back for winter sun next year. Note evening dress code in evening (no shorts in restaurant) and beach towels provided.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fab hotel and location if your just want to chill. The staff couldn't do enough for you and made our stay one of my best hotel experiences. Everything was superbly clean and great, amusing towel art left everyday. Food was good and the chef always went out of his way to make sure you had something to eat and were well catered for. We were constantly asked if everything was ok but unfortunately we had to have a room change half way through our holiday as there was a terrible drain problem in our room. This was dealt with within 10 minutes and our things escorted immediately to a new room. We were also left wine, fruit and cakes for our inconvenience. My husband said he didn't sleep too well as the beds were hard but I didn't find them too bad. Also try and get a room on the top floor as we found the hotel blocks a bit noisy.
I thought this hotel was fab because if you wanted to chill that was fine, but adventure seekers were easily amused too with a water park within the bays complex and snorkeling on the beach. I particularly loved this resort as it was a secure complex which consisted of a handful of hotels all spaced around the bay. This meant you could wonder within the complex without been hassled. We enjoyed an even run or stroll along the path that went around the whole bay. I wouldn't recommend this location in Egypt if you want to visit the pyramids, it's a bus journey to the next airport and then an internal flight, Sharm is the location for you if this is on your agenda. Within the bay are perfectly kept grounds, tree lined roads and manicured gardens....perfect weather in too, late February, early March. Don't hesitate to book if you want a relaxing holiday, I read six books!

Room Tip: Try get a 3rd floor level room to avoid the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bowtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel with a very friendly and lovely staff (room boy, waiters in bars and restaurant, reception staff, towel boys ... shortly said: everyone). The animation team was excellent (Pipoo, Omar a.o....).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gerardenchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
0.5 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
3,742 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
0.1 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.0 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#7 of 68 in Marsa Alam
1,288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Samaya Resort
Jaz Samaya Resort
#4 of 68 in Marsa Alam
521 reviews
28.5 mi away
Novotel Marsa Alam
Novotel Marsa Alam
#15 of 68 in Marsa Alam
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Dar El Madina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Dar El Madina

Address: Madinat Coraya, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range: $96 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Dar El Madina 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Jaz Dar El Madina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Mar Dar El Madina Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing