We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just returned”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gorgonia Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just returned”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We have just reutnred from a week in February staying at this hotel. Well what can I say. yes a super resosrts. very clean, spotless, the rooms were large and spacious and very well maintained. the food in all the restaurants was superb. really spent a lot of time and care preparing their food and to be honest..... the food was excellent. the El Wadi restaurant offered superb choices day and ngiht, and the La Vela restaurant was outstanding.

the pool area and the beach were spotless. A lovely resort. Well worth the five stars. however the staff were bordering on rude!. Functional would be my wording. it was hard to brak a smile from any of them, The reception staff were downright rude and unhelpful. The waiting staff were OK but did not full over themselves to be polite. The people who cleaned the rooms were more polite than other staff. once slight concern, we were the only English people in the entire resort and they found it strange to see English people. The hotel was inundated with Italians and a few Germans. The hotel entertainment at night was poor. bordering on painful. The other thing to note is that the resort itself is one hour ahead of the rest of Marsa Alam , so essentially three hours difference which you must be careful of when looking at departing to airports for flight departures etc. All in all, a lovely resort... but would I go backk. No ... because of the staff being so rude and unfriendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    549
    123
    47
    29
See reviews for
516
785
55
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

MARSA ALAM
This was our third trip to Egypt and our second to Marsa Alam and before I proceed with my review of our resort itself, I would like to briefly pass on a few tips about getting to the Marsa Alam resort from UK. Firstly, there is only 1 direct flight per week from UK (TOM416 London-Gatwick) to Marsa Alam airport itself which is on a Wednesday and arrives at 21:00 hrs. and was full to capacity. You can fly from other UK airports on different days but you have to fly into Hurgada which then requires a 3 to 5 hour onward journey by car/bus to get to your resort. As well as adding excessively to your overall journey time it can be quite unpleasant if you are a nervous traveller/driver! As we landed at Marsa Alam it only took 75 minutes to get to our resort which was one of the furthest away. Please may I take this opportunity to request that UK tour operators to make more use of what is a very well equipped and underused airport at Marsa Alam, more flights from UK are badly needed. Other operators from mainland Europe (Germany, Italy etc.) already have!!
SECURITY – Bearing in mind the recent troubles in other parts of Egypt, there were no security problems apparent in the Red Sea/Marsa Alam area throughout our holiday period (2 weeks from 25th Sept 2013).
THE GORGONIA BEACH RESORT
ARRIVAL/RECEPTION – We (my wife & I) arrived at about 11pm and were warmly welcomed. After completing the required check-in paperwork etc. we were offered food from the restaurant which was kept open just for us! Marvellous, but we too tired and opted to go straight to our room. We were also informed that we were the only English tourists in the resort and only the third couple from UK for all of 2013!! Come on UK tourists, you don’t know what you are missing! On the subject of the Reception, the staff there are very helpful and eager to assist with any problems/queries you might have – Excellent. Also, if you should need some extra cash during your stay, there is an ATM in reception which takes all major debit/credit cards.
RESORT OVERVIEW – Gorgonia Beach is situated in a very isolated part of the Red Sea coast, especially to take advantage of the 3 shallow water coral lagoons and a quite beautiful stretch of house reef which is the main reason to visit, therefore the resort is designed to be as self-contained as possible. There is another resort about 20 minutes’ walk south, but no towns, local shops or infrastructure within 80kms. However, there is a small collection of ‘souks’ on the resort to cater for souvenirs, extra beachwear and consumables such as sun cream etc. The resort itself has about 800m of clean sandy beach which heavily populated with permanent parasols and sun loungers, so there is never any need to compete for a space or equipment. There is nothing to stop you from wandering further afield should you wish. The resort has an exceptionally well maintained and safe main pool and a small pool for little children. The pool area is also so well furnished that once more; there is no need for competition. The gardens are very beautiful considering the lack of local fauna, and the large force of garden workers always seem to be busy – and polite! As well as the main (Al Wadi) restaurant there are also 2 alternatives, a pizza restaurant and a Mediterranean restaurant. There are 4 bars – the main Garden Bar, the Panorama Bar, the Pool Bar and the Beach Bar. More on food/drink later. There is also a very well managed and equipped dive centre, a theatre based on a Roman amphitheatre and other facilities such as conference rooms, library etc.
ROOMS – Our room was very spacious, consisting of the main room, a large bathroom area with walk in shower etc. and as ours was on the ground floor a nice patio. The room was really well furnished, plenty of wardrobe space, colour satellite TV (with BBC World Service etc.), good air conditioning and tea/coffee making facilities Although the electrical and plumbing may not be up to western European standards, everything worked as it should. Our room was efficiently cleaned and maintained by our room boy, Osama, who was brilliant. As far as we could tell, all the resort rooms were basically the same but you might want to think about the locality within the resort, we chose one close to the beach which was then quite far from the restaurant/reception areas.
FOOD & DRINK – Firstly, all-inclusive is a must! Alternatives will result in a lot more expense than you would wish. The Main restaurant, Al Wadi is where most of your eating takes place; the food is served buffet style and gives plenty of choice. Overall we found the food to be of a high standard as was the hygiene rating of the staff. Throughout our stay we were never afflicted with any sort of stomach upset and never heard of anybody who was. We did use the Mediterranean restaurant once, and although the food was really good, the menu was limited and the service was the poorest we encountered at the Gorgonia.
ENTERTAINMENT – The entertainment is mainly provided by a very energetic and hardworking Animation Team. They try their very best to encourage guests to join in such activities as aqua-gym, beach sports and the evening shows. These young people try their best to get you to join in, but are not overly pushy. Memorable moments include the Fakir Show with Brasília, walking on glass and sword work etc.
SWIMMING/SNORKELING – The main attraction for us was the snorkelling opportunities this resort offers. The 3 shallow water lagoons are great for a huge amount of sea life around the coral perimeters and are wonderful to explore, however there is a warning to be considered. We have swum on and around reefs on both sides of the Red Sea including Marsa Alam, and also in the Indian Ocean (Maldives, Kenya etc.), but we have never experienced the aggressiveness of the ‘Sohal’ Surgeon Fish in this area. They seemed determined to keep you away from the coral and my wife and I were ‘attacked’ several times. Nobody seems to know why this is, it was not the breeding season and other guests we spoke to were equally puzzled. The main house reef is brilliant, but our activities were curtailed by strong winds during the second week which made the sea very rough. Sadly these winds also caused the cancellation of our boat trip to another reef to swim with dolphins.
STAFF – Almost without exception, all of the resort personnel were fantastic! Efficient, courteous, helpful and caring, we have rarely found the same or better during our travels. Special mentions to Youssef (Beach Bar), Khalid (Pool Bar), Ahmed (Garden Bar), Brasilia, Veronica & Misha of the Animation Team. Finally a very special word of thanks to Mansour Mohamed (AKA Matt) of the Garden Bar, cheers mate!
SUMMARY – The best resort we have found in 3 trips to Egypt, we will make the effort to return, probably in 2015. Thanks to all for making our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank keke975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2640 Mortsel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We return in a few time for the 8 th time to Hotel Gorgonia Beach
After other stays on the south side of the Egyptian Red Sea, Marsa Alam Area and Gorgonia Beach Resort became our second home.
Till far the best we find.
If you are looking for good service , nice and calm holyday's dont hesitate.
Bus travel from airport Marsa Alam between 1 1/2 and 2 hours

Room Tip: Look the map on hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liberia49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Okay, so I got back from a week long stay at Gorgonia two days ago. I will talk about two aspects - the hotel and the corals accessible from it.

First, the corals - they are FANTASTIC. Rich life, still healthy. The beach there is very long and at the south end, there is a wharf from which you can access the reef safely. In theory, you can also go through anywhere on the beach, through lagoons, but I would not recommend that at all because there is a huge number of agressive surgeon fish (tangs or sohal surgeon fish). We heard a lot about them sniping at the swimmers and even causing a severe cut (12 stiches) and within five minutes of trying to snorkel in the lagoon, one went after me, so it was confirmed in my mind. But as it is, the wharf is great and I would recommend using it. You can swim either to the north or south side, there are amazing corals on both sides. However, for about 4 days of our stay, there was strong wind and high waves, plus there is a constant north-to-south current. None of this really prevents snorkelling, but it makes it more difficult and possibly not suitable for begginers. On the last two days, the wind stopped and we explored MUCH more of the reef as we could swim to places that were otherwise not accesible.

The fish are huge in numbers, beautiful, colourful, we saw one turtle (it was on chance because it was around the coral reef, if you want to have better odds of seeing them, you can walk down the beach to the next hotel and swim right where their beach starts - there should be grass and the turtles go there to feed).

The coral is absolutely the number 1 reason to go there, it was paradise.

That being said, the hotel itself is perfectly fine, with the other highlights being food and room size. The food was exceptionally tasty and the choices were often highly europanized. The wine served there was also very nice. As a part of all-inclusive, you get two visits to a la carte restaurants - a pizzeria and a fish/mediterranian restaurant. The pizza was VERY good - they have pizza oven and make them from scratch. The crust was thin, crunchy etc., etc., basically a true, delicious pizza, so that was a lovely surprise. The fish restaurant was okay.

The hotel caters a lot to German and Italian clients (so obviously this is relevant to people who are not either) and it sort of leads to the staff being slightly less skilled in English than I would call usual in Egypt.

The staff and animation team was mostly okay, we didn't really have any issues. Of course there comes that moment when you are lying on the beach, trying to catch breath from battling the waves in pursuit of marine beauty for over an hour and you are nagged to go and dance Zumba :)))) but the "no" works, so that's okay.

Try the shisha bar as well, the fee for shisha smoking is cheap and it's a nice experience.

Overall, I think there is actually a high chance of us returning. The coral is worth it and there were no negatives in the hotel itself to turn us away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel staff really made this place stand out. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We arrived at almost midnight but the restaurant was expecting a late arrival and laid on a really nice cold buffet. We booked a room with a sea view and balcony. We didn't get the balcony but our hotel voucher on checking the next day did not mention this. We only mentioned it to the hotel team and were immediately taken on a motorised buggy to examine 3 rooms tochoose which one we liked. The food was excellent and even after 2 weeks we were still spoilt for choice! The house reef was outstanding. This was my fourth trip to the Red Sea area and this was the best reef by a mile. The inner lagoon was visited by Turtles that were not worried by us swimming alongside them and we also saw a Barracuda inside the reef. Outside the reef there is a vast amount of marine life. We were lucky to see a White Tip reef sharks, more Turtles and Barracuda, big Stingrays, the list goes on and on! There is no jetty out to the reef so you need to carefully snorkel out over the coral, this is not a problem. They were building what looked to be a jetty at the dive centre end of the beach, hopefully this will be able to be used by all.Also worth mentioning is that the hotel time is 1 hour ahead of Egyptian time. This gives an extra hour of daylight at the end of the day. This week (5/6/13) it was almost 8pm before it was dark and it's always light well before 6am so plenty of time on the reef! We enjoyed it so much that we will go back in October. We were the only British people in the hotel, most guests were Italian, German, a few French and Czech. This was not a problem for us!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is a little off the beaten track but well worth the effort. The facilities are great, the food is great too (even for a vegetarian like me) and the staff are just fantastic. A special mention to the wonderful Mahmoud Mohamed whose customer service was legendary.

The reef took a little getting used to, but after a couple of days, we were really impressed with the wealth of life we found. For a little variety and an unforgettable experience, I'd highly recommend the trip to Sataya - it has an amazing reef and we swam with the wild dolphins who came to visit whilst we were there.

We're already planning a return trip for another slice of heaven.

Room Tip: Try for a room by the beach if you want a slightly quieter life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RachieHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great snorkelling. Great animation team made us laugh the whole time. We were the only English family, kids would have enjoyed meeting other English speaking kids. Plenty for them to do though with mini golf table tennis, trampoline and play area. Pool was heated and great beach for kids to play on. Reception staff let it down and reef protectors. Food was good, no upset tummies and a bit of variety. Lots of despite with turtles reef and guitar sharks and different rays and an eel! It is at least an hour and half from the airport on private transfer not 30km as advertised on their website!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marsa Alam hotels
21.0 mi away
Hilton Marsa Alam Nubian Resort
40.7 mi away
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
Steigenberger Coraya Beach
#3 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,229 reviews
40.3 mi away
Jaz Solaya
Jaz Solaya
#2 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
Brayka Bay Reef Resort
#5 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
40.2 mi away
Jaz Dar El Madina
Jaz Dar El Madina
#1 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fantazia Resort
Fantazia Resort
#13 of 68 in Marsa Alam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gorgonia Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gorgonia Beach Resort

Property: Gorgonia Beach Resort
Address: International Road 48 km, Marsa Alam, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > Marsa Alam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Marsa Alam
#9 Family Hotel in Marsa Alam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Marsa Alam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Marsa Alam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Gorgonia Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Gorgonia Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gorgonia Beach Hotel Marsa Alam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing