We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Rich culture” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wadi Gemal

Wadi Gemal
Ranked #7 of 32 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WADI EL GEMAL NATIONAL PARK is on of the most natural areas of Egypt, declared as protected area but use for creation, has many sopts of diving,bird watching, relaxing, dolphin house, safari and antiques from Roman age. We provide multi flixable Eco-program to WADI EL GEMAL, ECO-DIVING program, bird watching program, desert program, dolphin house program include transportation from everywhere in Egypt, just Email us .
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rich culture”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Though the snorkling experience in this part of the red sea is very tempting and unique, make sure not to miss camping in the deserts of wadi el gemal as well.
When you visit wadi el gemal desert take time to get in touch with the localies. Mingle with people, they are very friendly and will be proud to brag about their rich culture. There are 2 main tribes there Ababada and Bashayra, invest some time to hike in the deserts and get to know some of the locals in person, it will make your trip an unforgettable one :-)

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank NohaYoussef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    46
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rivne, Ukraine
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Paradise on the Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were there in September 2012. One day trip, taxi from Sentido Hotel. What is Wady? It's actually only the sea and Diving center. The beach is only sand, it's actually wild beach. But I like it. The closest hotel is Shams Alarm. And the trip can be only one day if you don't live in this hotel because absolutely nothing is there. Only nature. There's one building but I don't know what is it for. We were with children (6 and 11 y.o.) in September. And everything was Ok. But in any case you should put a hat and skin protection because it's hot here and no shadow at all. The sea is FANTASTIC. The only comment I can leave after visiting - Paradise on the Earth. I'll be back....

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank ogeras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
189 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Fatastic area for divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The variety of reef and sea life is enormous. Easily accesible during diving safaris. Recommendable for all sea lovers.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Katarzyna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino, italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“snorkeling or lookin at the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

organisation was good,for the boat trip to the island and for the desert experience in the bedouin ospitality also

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank turistanonacaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wadi Gemal National Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Don't bother visiting the reserve centre unless you speak Arabic. However you can walk freely and we should be grateful that the Egyptians are trying to protect the area. We only visited the costal strip from the hotel south to the Dom Palms and were unable to arrange a trip into the interior.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MurraysUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Gemal also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Wadi Gemal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing