We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very special area very isolated and untouched” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wadi Gemal

Wadi Gemal
Ranked #8 of 32 things to do in Marsa Alam
Certificate of Excellence
Type:
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WADI EL GEMAL NATIONAL PARK is on of the most natural areas of Egypt, declared as protected area but use for creation, has many sopts of diving,bird watching, relaxing, dolphin house, safari and antiques from Roman age. We provide multi flixable Eco-program to WADI EL GEMAL, ECO-DIVING program, bird watching program, desert program, dolphin house program include transportation from everywhere in Egypt, just Email us .
switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very special area very isolated and untouched”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

It is beautiful because it is so untouched. Very good for diving and snorkeling.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank bri1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    45
    9
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“full of rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

the area is sadly neglected and full of water bottles along the coastline. The water had poor visibility and entry is iffy so bring rock shoes to wear beneath fins. Need to be a strong confident swimmer didnt enjoy...little bird life..stagnant pools inland...but lots of land crabs !

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridget186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Camel ride in the desert”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Good experience, nice long camel ride, brilliant starry night sky

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shawfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Would recommend this to everyone - a peaceful experience and beautiful scenery! Camel riding is an interesting experience too!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“in the desert riding a dromedary...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

this is one in a lifetime experience to make... you definitely have to try it... went for a half day trip into the Wadi Gemal desert and saw how the Bedouin live.. what they eat and drink ecc... it was a trip organized with Alpitour and I have to say they did a really great job.. they come and pick us up at the resort with a mini bus and took us straight in the middle of the desert of Wadi Gemal (which is not the usual desert with yellow powder sand, but pretty rocky) we rode a dromedary to get to a Bedouin tent where we watched a documentary about the ancient times in Egypt, we drunk a nice cup of Tamarind then watch a Bedouin guy making a typical kind of bread which has been cooked into the ground underneath a layer of ash... delicious!! served with a camel cheese yummy! and then we admired the sunset and while the sun was disappearing behind the dunes we also cough a glimpse of a desert fox ;) afterwards, we moved into another Bedouin tent were we had dinner with the most famous Bedouin courses... (the chickpea soup is absolutely yummy!!).. well overall, definitely worth to try it!!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank AngelGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wadi Gemal also viewed

Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
Marsa Alam, Red Sea and Sinai
 

Been to Wadi Gemal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing