We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Newport -Trefdraeth
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
244
112
24
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
244
112
24
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden lion the pub lovely atmosphere burger excellent food sunday lunch a great place to stay book in advance comfortable rooms walking the pembrokeshire coast path the kitchen west wales lovely room evening meal local area menu specials
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 388 reviews
Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Stayed at The Golden Lion for 2 nights on a Dinner Bed and Breakfast offer. We were travelling with our large Weinmarraner Honey and to say it was enjoyable was an understatement.The room was ⁵excellent on the ground floor with a back entrance making it easy to pop outside for any calls of nature without travelling through the main building. TGL is dog friendly so we were able to eat in the bar in the evening which suited us fine and also breakfast they made us a area off the bar so we could take her with us they even gave her a dish with her own sausages in. The food was superb we ate there both nights and as the food was locally sourced the quality was excellent. The same for the breakfast all locally sourced.The Staff were very friendly kind and attentive nothing was to much trouble. We will be visiting again in the future as we found our stay excellent value for money and throughly enjoyable.Thank you all for a great break.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank KathrynR824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2019

This ever popular hotel is a great place to stay for a weekend (or longer) break.
The rooms, which although are a bit small, are modern and well equipped.
The room we stayed in had an en-suite bathroom, which I think they all have. The bathroom was, again, modern and well equipped.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who are all really friendly and helpful.

I would strongly advise you to book well in advance as this is a very popular hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2019 via mobile

Good location, warm welcome, comfortable rooms and top rate breakfast. Plus the pub and restaurant offers excellent food. All the staff are helpful and customer focused. What’s not to like.....apart from the odd shower or two!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 2annk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

Been here before as live fairly near and like The Golden Lion . Had relatives visiting so booked here as it was my cousins husbands birthday. Always a friendly welcome here and a lovely atmosphere. Staff are friendly and the service is excellent. I had belly pork which was superb, in fact everybody’s food was great . Definitely one of the better places in Pembrokeshire. Thanks .

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank AlunO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2019

We have stayed as a couple at the Golden Lion regulary over the last decade. This stay was special in that we were a party of 4 plus 1 dog - two of the humans were celebrating significant birthdays. The dog friendly room was perfect for our needs - on the ground floor with easy access to incredible estuary and beach walks.
My partner contacted the manager a few days before our stay with a last minuite special request. Could they possibly source a cake / gateux for us to present at dinner? The chef created the most delicious black forest gateux - made from scratch - not bought in. How special is that!
Helpful, friendly staff. The perfect balance for us - quality but not pretentious... simply turn up and relax.
It can get busy at times - especially in the bar but that's because it's a popular place with both visitor and locals.

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank Maps641464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews