We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Stopped by for some lunch on a day out. Excellent service nothing was too much trouble. My daughter didn't fancy anything on menu, wanting sausage, we asked if it was possible, a quick call to kitchen, and sausage was ordered, great. We had the roast beef salad, fish and chips(one of the best batters I've ever tasted) and a fancy ploughmans, all very well done. Well priced for excellent quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomasfamilySwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 344 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best pub in Newport. Nice, tasteful decor, friendly service, good choice of drinks and excellent food. Unlike other pubs in Newport the locals are nice and not aggressive or abusive towards tourists. Every time we visit we always make a beeline for this pub. The best!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank horsforthhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Myself, my husband and our dog called here for lunch. We ordered sandwiches as we only wanted a snack. The sandwiches were really good, served with a salad, and 2 small sides of potatoe salad and curried coleslaw, both homemade, and crisps. The staff were very friendly and efficient and while at first glance it seemed a little pricey for a sandwich our "snack" became a very substantial lunch. We will definitely call here again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

A cosy pub with good food and high quality comfortable rooms. We stayed on the three nights for two bed and breakfast offer. The staff were friendly and helpful, we had a good sized double room. Tastefully furnished and well equipped, we liked the complimentary bottled water and good shower. The food could best be described as very good pub food, fish was prominent and very tasty. Breakfasts were some of the best we have had anywhere, cooked to order using good quality ingredients.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bodacious_cowboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Having eaten here before it just get's better and better. My parents were staying here and said the room as spotless and extremely comfortable. The dining room was buzzing, however the friendly waitresses attended to us with professionalism, and ran the clean restaurant exceptionally well. The food was fantastic, we had a selection of meals all cooked to perfection and a very nice pint of local Bluestone Ale. Following this we had a drink in the very busy bar, there was a band playing and a fantastic atmosphere.
We are so glad to have found this little Gem, and as the girl said at the counter as we left the restaurant 'look forward to seeing you again' and we sure can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Book in advance, the food is so good, the restaurant is always full!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Just come back from a 2 night stay,the deal £160 for b&b and 1 course dinner each night, when we arrived ,got the key from the bar,showed ourselves to the room "not a problem" one girl did tell us where to go for breakfast,but nobody explained there was a different menu for our deal! We found this out on the second night when We ate in the Restaurant, ate in the bar Fri night as the rugby was on..So basically We ate over our budget Fri but my partner chose something cheaper on the Sat but still had to pay £3.90 on checking out!!

The rooms are tastefully decorated with good quality furniture,doors especially..Not so keen on the flooring headboard! Had a wonderful hot bath on Friday,but on Saturday just could not get water to get hot,so be patient! Also a blind would be nice on bathroom window..

Back to the dining i think there is a slight lack of communication first morning I asked for scrambled eggs,I got fried,second morning We asked for mixed toast,We got white,there were only three other tables occupied...so not overun.The chef did come out to see if everyone was ok,which was nice.

In the evening the Restaurant was busy but again lack of communication,my partner ordered burger I ordered veg lasagne,the waitress brought both dishes out but took them to a table of six which were there before us, only problem was nobody had ordered a burger so the lasagne was given and burger taken back, which makes me think it was ours and then a table of four got their starters before the six got their meals,Communication!!!!!! Saying that the food was very good on both nights..

I don't know if there is housekeeping,but looked like the beds had been kinda done,but cushions still on floor ,might as well not bother,a bit confused about that..

I think this one of the longest reviews I have written,as I am not quite sure if I liked it or not,the accommodation areas are very Botique looking and the food when you get it is lovely, but for the price I think the communication and service is a little poor!

Room Tip: I had asked for room 7 and got it,which was lovely and quiet and slightly bigger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

we stayed here for 3 nights, 20th feb til 23rd. the rooms can not be faulted at all, however, the restaurant was not cleaned properly. a chip was under a table for the 3 mornings we ate in there and food on a chair from the night before, (I think). also the evening meals served to us, 5 adults were very sparse, we were expected to share a small bowl of salad and a small bowl of chips between 3 of us and be expected to pay £10 to £12.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
10 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
462 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#4 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cnapan Guest House
Cnapan Guest House
#3 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#7 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
110 reviews
3.3 mi away
Y Garth B&B
Y Garth B&B
#2 of 4 in Dinas Cross
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range: $108 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 4* by the Welsh Tourist Board. Located in one of the most attractive villages in North Pembrokeshire, The Golden Lion lies within the shelter of the Preseli Hills and only minutes, on foot, from Newport Bay with its estuary and wide sandy beach. The hotel offers accommodation to suit a variety of travellers including families, couples, singles or groups. All thirteen rooms within the main hotel are en-suite with colour televisions and hot and cold refreshments. The hotel boasts a very popular restaurant where residents take breakfast and dinner is served from 6:30pm till 9pm. A variety of bar snacks can be obtained from 12:00pm until 2:30pm in the bar. The Golden Lion has a very well stocked bar which offers a good selection of beers, lagers and real ales and also has an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Country Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Country Inn Newport
Newport Country Inn
The Golden Lion Hotel Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing