We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a group of 13 ramblers walking the coastal path we were booked in to eat for Saturday night. Our meal was pre-ordered from a menu with a varied selection. My onion soup was the best I've had eating out and my hake was cooked to perfection. The service was friendly and efficient with a good selection of wines to choose from.

The bar area was very lively with a live band, but that didn't intrude on us chatting whilst dining and added to the atmosphere for a Saturday night.

We would thoroughly recommend it if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    94
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
64
153
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

What can I say? The accommodation was lovely, very comfortable indeed. The pub was very busy, but, it was a Bank Holiday weekend. The food in the resteraunt was the best we had had out, for a long time, and the service off all the waitresses was second to none. We would thoroughly recommend it. We love Newport and normally rent a cottage, but decided to go down for the BH, and when I enquired there was by chance a room, what luck! If staying in Newport elsewhere, just book in the resteraunt for the food alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Lovely country pub, full of cosy nooks & crannies! It was a lovely day, so we sat in the extension/marquee section which was great on a summers day, but had heaters ready for evening and the colder months! There's also a chilled and airy restaurant section, cosy local-style pub, and plenty of outdoor chairs & tables to suit everyone's fancy/occasion. Food was really tasty and plenty of it! Slightly off the beaten track, a little gem, definitely worth a look!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Had a tour group with Dragon Tours and 7 of us just stayed one night. Spotlessly clean and very modern rooms (although a tad small). Nice pressure and hot water with shower. I was in room 10 and very quiet (near the back), so a good nights sleep. Very nice staff. Breakfast was fine – a selection of yoghurt, fruit, juice at the buffet, and then we ordered a veggie or full English breakfast. I did not eat dinner there, but a few in our group did and said service was very good – it was very busy so you need to make reservations. Would stay again.

Room Tip: 10 is near the back and quiet - single room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradziker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

As the title suggests, a pleasant stay in this characterful Inn that is conveniently placed for what Trefdraeth (Newport) and north Pembrokeshire has to offer. Stayed for two nights, wined and dined on the first. Food was excellent with service elements being very efficient and extremely friendly. Breakfasts provided excellent starts to the day, again served in a pleasant and efficient manner. The beer is certainly commendable. Bedrooms are modern, well presented and spotlessly clean. There was an issue with our allocated room (see room tips), but it was more of an annoyance than a problem, but it did affect sleep quality on the first night with the kitchen extractor whirring away in the background until the small hours. Safe parking is provided across the road. I would recommend this Inn and hope to return sometime in the future, as do other members of the group we were staying with.

Room Tip: Room 3, the kitchen extractor is adjacent to the window so noise and slight cooking smells can be an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiafo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wonderful B&B a very short distance from the coastal walk. Excellent, modern rooms with nice design and great bathroom. Very friendly, personable staff. Excellent restaurant (make reservations) and pub. Would go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at the Golden Lion Inn for one night while walking the Pembrokeshire Coast. The en-suite room was comfortable with modern finishes and decor, with a large bathroom. We enjoyed a delicious meal in the restaurant and received very good service. The food was excellent with many items to choose from. It was larger than the B&B's we had been staying at previously, so it lacked that personal touch, but still a very good experience overall. We would recommend this spot to others who are interested in staying in this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
1,192 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fishguard
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Twr y Felin Hotel
Twr y Felin Hotel
#1 of 6 in St. Davids
194 reviews
6.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
416 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Property: The Golden Lion Hotel
Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 4* by the Welsh Tourist Board. Located in one of the most attractive villages in North Pembrokeshire, The Golden Lion lies within the shelter of the Preseli Hills and only minutes, on foot, from Newport Bay with its estuary and wide sandy beach. The hotel offers accommodation to suit a variety of travellers including families, couples, singles or groups. All thirteen rooms within the main hotel are en-suite with colour televisions and hot and cold refreshments. The hotel boasts a very popular restaurant where residents take breakfast and dinner is served from 6:30pm till 9pm. A variety of bar snacks can be obtained from 12:00pm until 2:30pm in the bar. The Golden Lion has a very well stocked bar which offers a good selection of beers, lagers and real ales and also has an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Country Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Country Inn Newport
Newport Country Inn
The Golden Lion Hotel Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing