We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not only the Lion that is golden!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

had a glorious time at this traditional Pub in the tiny hamlet of Newport in fantastic Pembrokeshire. ate here with a large group of friends and both the food and the service was excellent. it was a Saturday night on one of the hottest days of the year so far so the pub was rammed, but the hardworking staff managed to keep their cool. There was good selection of food. Will eat here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 344 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 14. The pub is traditional British with a great restaurant and friendly welcoming staff. The rooms are about as small as it's possible to get and still be functional but they are a recent addition and more than adequate for a stop-over. This is certainly worth a visit and a great place to stay for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here with a colleague for a night for work. We were welcomed warmly by the bar man, checked in, provided with a great meal and a good room for the night.
Staff were friendly and I would definitely stay again If I was over that way

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Against all previous experience and practice we decided to revisit this place for a second time last weekend ( rarely make returns to the same venue as there is so much choice) but this was a spur of the moment thing.
The whole experience was, once again, marvellous - the rooms were bright, clean and welcoming.
The dinner was first class and we all managed to get to the desserts. All the staff were efficient and friendly and the aftermeal drinks in the bar was great with a really friendly crowd. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stafford C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Found ourselves here by chance - and a recommendation from someone in the street when it was raining! - and had a very good lunch. We were in the more formal restaurant area, which is very pleasant, and we had 4 good meals - my cod was very good (perhaps a little pricey at £11.95) but the roast beef platters at £9.95 were excellent on all counts. Service was very good indeed. A very satisfactory lunch on all counts, and then a lovely walk along the Nevern Estuary to Parrog.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed for 1 Night in May on our way to visit friends in Pembrokeshire.It was a slightly upmarket pub with very nicely furnished rooms that were clean and quiet. The pub was very busy, which is a good sign that they are looking after the customers properly, the only minor concern was that the bar and restaurant were a bit noisy. The evening meal was very good, breakfast was excellent, and the very busy staff were very friendly. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rmgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

On balance, the food served here is well above average for a pub. Our prawn and smoked salmon salad starter was delicious. My partner really enjoyed her scampi main course but my haddock in coriander tempura batter was disappointing. The fish itself was delicious but the batter was just batter, not tempura and with no evidence of coriander. At £15.95, I felt I had paid over the top for what was basically haddock and chips. Both meals came with chips and salad, both of which were very good. We had Eton mess for pudding which was also very tasty. The restaurant was very busy and noisy which made conversation difficult but I'd probably go back on the grounds that it is good food. I probably just made a poor choice. Having said that, dishes should deliver what they promise.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank fmck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
10 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#4 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cnapan Guest House
Cnapan Guest House
#3 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#7 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Links Golf Resort
Newport Links Golf Resort
#8 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range: $137 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 4* by the Welsh Tourist Board. Located in one of the most attractive villages in North Pembrokeshire, The Golden Lion lies within the shelter of the Preseli Hills and only minutes, on foot, from Newport Bay with its estuary and wide sandy beach. The hotel offers accommodation to suit a variety of travellers including families, couples, singles or groups. All thirteen rooms within the main hotel are en-suite with colour televisions and hot and cold refreshments. The hotel boasts a very popular restaurant where residents take breakfast and dinner is served from 6:30pm till 9pm. A variety of bar snacks can be obtained from 12:00pm until 2:30pm in the bar. The Golden Lion has a very well stocked bar which offers a good selection of beers, lagers and real ales and also has an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Country Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Country Inn Newport
Newport Country Inn
The Golden Lion Hotel Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing