We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Golden Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Really nice pub with modern accommodation to the rear. Modern restaurant with varied menu. Food well presented and friendly staff. Plenty of parking. Cosy log fire with live music regularly on. Not a great deal in the surrounding area but wonderful place overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeoneplayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 344 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a great meal here last night. Service was excellent, the presentation and quality of the food is to be congratulated. Thank you for a wonderful meal, good value and nice surroundings. 3 of us ate a main meal only for £32 and were very satisfied with every bit of it. Would return in a flash.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Llyngwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I went to the Golden lion inn with friends on a very rainy Saturday for lunch. As soon as we entered, we felt at home. We had found a traditional pub inside an altogether rather average looking building. Low ceilings, wooden beams, chimney,...

The food selection was very decent, although perhaps not as exhaustive as other places or chains. The specials of the day looked very tempting and we all went for one of them. The fish dishes were very fresh and the accompaniments plentiful and tasty. Special congratulations in order for the tempura battered haddock & chips!

The prices were acceptable and the staff very friendly and helpful. There is a parking area besides the building and the inn is located in the centre of Newport, making it accessible to other shops. The only minus was the size and relative cleanliness of the men's bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jeremy_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Just returned from weekend break at The Golden Lion. Our friends have been talking about Golden Lion and Newport for some time, so we thought "have to give it a go". And what a fantastic find this place is! From moment we walked in we were impressed. The bar is well stocked with 3 -4 nice ales, welsh ciders and is kept traditional, cosy with open log fire and great atmosphere. And the place was buzzing with mixture of locals and holiday makers and yet it felt very relaxing. The staff knows how to look after customers and every one of them was so friendly, happy and nothing was too much trouble.

Our room was absolutely spotlessly clean, with large super king size bed, and fab shower, more of contemporary style and have everything you need for perfect stay (tea/coffee making facilities, boot trays etc.) But when you come to Newport , you don't spend much time in hotel room, as there's so much to see and to do. Beach is only 5 minutes walking distance.

The food is faultless. We enjoy eating out, and we both agreed that we had one of best meals in Golden Lion. My partner had rib eye steak and I had hake with chilli & spring onion glaze & samphire. Both meals on both evenings were beautifully presented, tasty, fresh, good size portions and there was a plenty to choose from.
Breakfast next morning was great too. Perfectly cooked poached eggs & bacon, their brown bread is so good.

Next day we met with our friends and decided to stay for Sunday lunch. We all had the roast welsh beef and it was the best beef I tried. I don't know how they cook it like that, but it was so tender and every vegetable dish was so tasty and cooked to perfection. Best Sunday lunch I ever had! I can see why this place is so popular, because they have the balance absolutely right.

Can't wait to return to Newport, as we fell in love with this charming little village.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshwonder26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Two night stay at hotel, friendly staff and food in restaurant, breakfast in particular was good. Big let down was room, small, shabby in need of decorating and very dirty. Had to ask for it to be cleaned. Carpet had not been vacuumed after previous guests, cobwebs and thick dust, especially in out of view areas. Black mildew around window frames. Net curtain was filthy. No way is the accommodation luxury. Beds were uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millycat34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

A very comfortable stay with friendly staff and excellent food . Having left in a heavy snow fall it was very nice to have a phone call at home from the Golden Lion to make sure we arrived safely. We would highly recommend a stay here and we will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived at the Golden Lion not entirely sure of what to expect. We had booked through the website and everything had looked really beautiful, but I have had previous bad experiences with booking online so it was lovely to arrive and not be disappointed one bit. Check in was immediate in the bar with one of the friendly bar staff who took us up to our room and showed us where everything was and what time breakfast was etc. They had made a great effort in providing an extra bed for our 18 month old son which was also a nice surprise. The rooms are beautifully decorated with great attention to detail and very clean - we really felt well looked after from the word go.

Following check in and settling into our room we made our way down to the cosy traditional bar which had a really great selection of beers including some local ones to try too. We had booked a meal in the restaurant when booking our room and where shown to our table by a very friendly waitress. The food was delicious! I had smoked sprats from the specials board followed by local lamb shank (Yum!) my husband had a meat antipasti which was served on a wooden board and was full of all sorts of delicious meats, olives and cheeses. The bread which came with our starters was a really nice locally baked seeded bread which made a refreshing change from the usual boring brown that you find in most places. He then followed the antipasti by a ribeye steak from the local butcher which was definitely one of the high points of his stay - it was perfectly cooked and came with a red onion jam and a local blue cheese crumbled on the top!! The children's meals that were available for our son were of good quality and with very generous portions (we stole half his chips!) and he was very happy. Even after all of that I still managed to squeeze in a rich sticky toffee and date pudding... very very satisfied customers. The staff in the bar and the restaurant could not do enough for us and where very happy to chat about places to go and things to see in the local area even though they where super busy. This is obviously a very popular place with locals and tourists alike. Which is always a good sign!

We all slept well and made our way down to breakfast which again did not disappoint on any level. Fresh fruit, a great selections of cereals, Organic yogurts (nice touch), a really wide selection of local and organic jams, marmalade and spreads and lots of different herbal teas, fresh coffee and breakfast tea made a real treat for breakfast. We then had delicious 'Welsh' full breakfasts which was really fresh and tasty! Definitely set us up for a hard days work of roaming the Pembrokeshire coastline and it's beautiful beaches and views - although in January bring your thermals and waterproofs!!

We will definitely be recommending the Golden Lion to friends and family and look forward to coming back again very soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MvS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
10 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
Wolfscastle Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wolf's Castle
468 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
0 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#4 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Cnapan Guest House
Cnapan Guest House
#3 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#7 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Newport Links Golf Resort
Newport Links Golf Resort
#8 of 18 in Newport -Trefdraeth
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Golden Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Golden Lion Hotel

Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range: $137 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Golden Lion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Graded 4* by the Welsh Tourist Board. Located in one of the most attractive villages in North Pembrokeshire, The Golden Lion lies within the shelter of the Preseli Hills and only minutes, on foot, from Newport Bay with its estuary and wide sandy beach. The hotel offers accommodation to suit a variety of travellers including families, couples, singles or groups. All thirteen rooms within the main hotel are en-suite with colour televisions and hot and cold refreshments. The hotel boasts a very popular restaurant where residents take breakfast and dinner is served from 6:30pm till 9pm. A variety of bar snacks can be obtained from 12:00pm until 2:30pm in the bar. The Golden Lion has a very well stocked bar which offers a good selection of beers, lagers and real ales and also has an extensive wine list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Golden Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Country Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Country Inn Newport
Newport Country Inn
The Golden Lion Hotel Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing