We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Property”
other travelers have booked this property
What a setting by the river Nevern. One of Experience-Môr's flagship properties and no wonder!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
What a setting by the river Nevern. One of Experience-Môr's flagship properties and no wonder!
Wrapped with the river Nevern along the edge of the garden grounds in a unique tranquil setting. Glandwr is Experience-Môr's flagship property, a spacious listed farmhouse. Just refurbished to 5*
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
What a setting by the river Nevern. One of Experience-Môr's flagship properties and no wonder!
Wrapped with the river Nevern along the edge of the garden grounds in a unique tranquil setting.
Glandwr is Experience-Môr's flagship property, a spacious listed farmhouse. Just refurbished to 5*
After a 600 yd drive the house sits in its own grounds next to the river - tranquility itself
Huge open plan sitting and dining room with Sky Sports and great surround sound hifi
Plenty of room for kids to play games, to relax or just experience the sense of space
Second sitting room with two large sofas and free standing log burning stove
Large open plan dining area with table which can seat 12, great for parties
Large open plan sitting and dining room
The beautifully built fitted farmhouse style kitchen which offers all of the modern facilities
The beautifully built fitted farmhouse style kitchen which offers all of the modern facilities
Landing with Persian rugs leading to master bedroom
The 3 double bedrooms having king sized beds and en suite bath with separate shower
The second sitting room from its outside door. Ideal for anyone wanting peace & quiet but has TV too
The 3 double bedrooms have king sized beds & en suite bath & showers. Tea making facilities & robes
The 3 double bedrooms have king sized beds and en suite bath & walk-in showers.
The 3 double bedrooms having king sized beds and en suite bath with separate shower
The fourth bedroom has been laid out with full sized bunk bed and an additional single bed
The entrance hall with custom made oak staircase
Nearby Lower Fishguard is the original port, far removed from the modern ferry terminal
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VIVIE757
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Property”
Reviewed September 28, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our second visit to one of Jonathan's properties and wow..........as soon as we walked in we felt 'at home'. Glandwr is extremely comfortable, stylishly furnished, well equipped, spacious and in a beautiful peaceful setting by the river. The kitchen has everything you could wish for and we were very pleased with the full Sky package, the comfort of the beds, the tea making facilities in each bedroom and we made good use of the log burner as the evenings were chilly but we didn't need the heating. I spoke to Jonathan a couple of days before our visit and he emailed me a list of all the 'necessities' that we would find in the cottage - White Company soap, shampoo, shower gel etc, Ecover laundry products, tea, coffee, milk,wine, bara brith, tin foil and cling film etc etc
The cottage has a huge garden and patio area with bar b q and garden furniture.
We loved the fact that it was less than a 10 minute drive to Newport Sands and 20 minutes to Poppit Sands. Newport itself is a short drive and has all the essential shops and some good restaurants if you don't want to cook in.
I found that one of the cafetiere's was broken and just mentioned it to Sharon (the housekeeper) as I thought she would like to know for the next guests - three hours later Jonathan appeared with a replacement - what service!!
A truly wonderful property and we will certainly visit again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to our friends. Thank you Jonathan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall excellent quality of furnishings and decor and attention to detail
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackiebyf...
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous farmhouse/cottage in an amazing location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What an amazing find!! We spent a week at Glangwr Cottage The attention to detail is superb. Jonathan, the owner, has considered everything you would possibly need to make a very comfortable, relaxing stay. He was there to welcome us on arrival and even provided us with some essentials and treats, milk, eggs, tea, cake (including wine) etc, a thoughtful touch to help start our holiday off.
The kitchen is so well equipped, it's like home from home and very eco friendly. The two living areas are tastefully furnished, TV, Sky, DVD,+ board games, provided for entertainment. The 4 bedrooms are spacious, all with on suites and very comfortable beds. The underfloor heating and wood burners will definitely make winter stays comfortable and cosy.
Outside is equally stunning, the gardens run down to the river, idyllic in warm weather with sun loungers provided, a huge gas barbecue and plenty of outdoor seating. The weather was kind and we had a couple of lovely evening barbecues. We were also lucky to have a large buzzard visit the gardens for a couple of hours every morning. The river/wooded walks to Nevern and Newport are beautiful. Nevern is 15 minutes walk and well worth exploring, with the bleeding yew tree in the church yard and the remains of Nevern Castle plus local pub, average grub here. Finer food was found at the Golden Lion in Newport with a great atmosphere too.
A trip to Newport Beach was 5-10 minutes drive lovely to drive straight on the beach, great for my Dad who is not so mobile. There are so many beautiful walks, we found hidden beaches with spectacular views. Newport Estuary was a superb spot for bird watching. A great day out was had kayaking in St Brides Bay, Solva. There was something for everyone. I wish we could have stayed longer, but there's always next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhharris5...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfectly relaxing week in a beautiful spot”
Reviewed September 13, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The farmhouse itself is wonderfully comfortable and cosy, yet luxuriously fitted with pretty fancy gadgets (particularly appreciated was the espresso machine and ice maker). Though it was early September we still managed to enjoy breakfasts and a few dinners al fresco on the patio overlooking the river.

With ensuite bathrooms for each room, all of the family enjoyed relaxing baths after fun-packed days exploring the coast both north and south of the Preseli. The highlight of the weeks activities being a morning of sea kayaking with Mike Mayberry. Other outings included ice creams at Cwm Yr Eglwys and excellent fish and chips at The Shed in Porthgain.

Though the house is in the most peaceful and secluded spot imaginable, the village of Newport is only a morning jog (approx 40 min) away - an excellent way to start a Sunday morning with a break in one of Newport's many cafes/coffee shops before setting off back home.

Perfect week and would definitely like to come back next year, if not leave London and move to Newport forever!

Diolch yn fawr i Jonathan am y croeso cynnes!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHFB20
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great Escape”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic holiday with our friends in August despite the inclement weather. As a fisherman it was brilliant to have a salmon and sea trout river running through the garden. My son caught his first salmon here, weighing 8llbs, having caught a 9lb sea bass earlier in the day. The dogs loved the river too.

It's an easy drive from Newport with great pubs and restaurants close at hand. The beaches and walks are superb. The garden is a wealth of wildlife and most mornings we watched a young buzzard hunting for worms and beetles on the lawn from our bedroom window. The view of the river a constant draw in the mornings!

The accommodation was great. Definitely home from home and hard to leave at the end of the week.

Jonathan couldn't do enough to ensure we made the most of our stay.

We will definitely return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldenboy...
Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed September 3, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Having discovered this property whilst searching online everything from booking the property with Jonathan (the owner) to the information received before arriving made the process very easy and pleasurable.
On arrival we were stunned by the setting of the cottage (including the beautiful river at the bottom of the garden)and by the quality of the interior and all its amenities. We have booked many cottages previously but none have been as well equipped as Glandwr. From the furniture and paintings on the walls, the log burners in each of the 2 sitting room, the bed linen and White company toiletries in the onsuites to the utensils in the kitchen, everything you could possibly need, and more, was there. For those of you with strong Green ethics Jonathan insists on using all E-Cover detergents etc. in his properties.
The patio area has lovely table and chairs with a huge parasol (this was handy for keeping the rain off when we were there!). There is also a large BBQ for your use.
Having teased the two 14yr old boys that were in our party that there was no TV or Wi fi (a travesty in their eyes) it made their holiday to discover not only very good Wi fi but also Sky TV with Sports!
We took our dogs with us and as the downstairs area has flagstone floors there was no worry of muddy feet on carpets and they particularly loved the large garden area for running around in and the river for jumping in (usually when we were trying to fish!)
As regards the fishing myself and the other Dad managed 2 Sea Trout and a few very small trout whilst his Son caught a fantastic Salmon of about 7-8lbs! (this was after him catching a Sea Bass of 8.5lbs on his 1st cast when we went out of Newquay on a boat trip)
The area around the property is great for walking with Nevern, a nearby village about 30mins away and lots of beautiful countryside.
Nearby to the cottage is Newport Golf Club (a part links and part parkland course) with fantastic views over the bay and just below this is Newport Sands which is a lovely beach with dog access.
In Newport town itself (a 5 minute drive) there are great pubs (The Golden Lion particularly), cafes, restaurants and shops. Don't miss The Parrog where the Sailing Club is as this is a beautiful spot to watch the sun setting with a chilled drink in your hand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: That I couldn't catch more fish!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markwrigh...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glandwr a Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Amanda Amy Ben and I went to Glandwr in July 2015 as we got to the top of the driver way the house looked stunning a impressive farmhouse that sits on the bank of the river Nevern a beautiful and peaceful retreat for those who wish to relax in true style our first visit to Glandwr and we were thoroughly spoilt from the moment we walked in we felt truly at home take in by its character charm and style we couldn't wish for more. the attention to detail was paramount throughout the house from great works of art beautiful Persian rugs fine soft furnishings rustic antiques and even down to the creature comforts that we love cosy robes and slippers provided in the bedroom not only to mention the white company soaps and shampoos a real treat.we loved our visit to Glandwr a very special place. sorry i must mention Jonathon Heron the owner of Glandwr he is a true gent if you need anything he will help. so I hope you all have a good holiday at Glandwr just like we did

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cath2110
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Truly Fabulous Dog Friendly Home From Home in A Picturesque Setting!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most relaxing stay in Glandwr with extended family & 2 Dogs! The property is located in the most tranquil, idyllic spot in a beautiful unspoilt part of North Pembrokeshire and upon entering the cottage we knew that we had found a very special place to stay.
Glandwr is finished to a very high standard and is spacious but very cosy with artwork adorning the walls in each room. The attention to detail was fantastic, from toiletries & towels in the many en-suite bathrooms, to buckets, spades & beach kit available to use, and the two complimentary bottles of wine, eggs, fresh fruit and bara brith were a lovely touch for the adults!
Jonathon, the owner, made us feel immediately welcome and couldn't have been more helpful, advising us about the local area as well as showing us the ropes with all the mod cons in the house including the internet! (A must for a teenage daughter!)
This property is ideal for 2 families as it has, not only extended living spaces but a fantastic dining area inside & out. There is a large patio area with cushioned seating and parasol which caught the morning sun so we were able to breakfast al fresco each day and enjoy the coffee from the Hi-Tec coffee machine provided!

We were lucky with the weather during our stay so did not need to use the log burner, however, the house is complete with SKY television package, board games and books in case weather is not favorable.
The beds and sofas were all very comfy - infact everything has been done to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Our dogs absolutely loved the enclosed large garden and the river at the bottom to paddle in - infact they spent most of their time there! With many walks straight from the door and a local OS map provided for route planning, We were able to walk along the river to the local dog friendly beach (30 mins) and also explored the local area taking in Pentre Ifan and Poppit Sands to name a few.
Newport (7 mins away) has fantastic places to eat and we had great meals out each night (although there is a large Weber BBQ provided at the house if needed)

The property is ideally situated only 10 miles north of Fishguard, however, the peaceful location meant that you really felt 'away from it all' when needed. With many local sandy beaches on your doorstep and beautiful countryside, we really did not want to leave.

Thank you Jonathon for taking the time to renovate this superb property which we could enjoy and would not hesitate to recommend to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing