We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful meal in the restaurant - good ingredients, perfectly cooked”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llys Meddyg
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal in the restaurant - good ingredients, perfectly cooked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We'd looked at the menu for the restaurant last year, but hadn't had the chance to visit. We managed to go this year and were not disappointed. We sat in the lovely basement bar while we looked at the menu. The number of starters and mains is limited (five or six of each I think), but what we had was perfectly cooked with excellent ingredients. Carpaccio of beef and mussels were very good indeed. Fish was especially nice - we had sewin which was very well cooked and presented. The gorse flower panna cotta was a very original idea. Cheese board was also good with a range of local cheeses and lovely quince and caramelised red onion to go with them. Service was attentive and friendly. Don't think that there was much of a choice for vegetarians.

Very good selection of wines and other drinks. Not cheap, but the quality was faultless

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed your evening with us. We currently have 2 out of the 5 starters as vegetarian and just the one main course, but we are always happy to speak to guests in advance about their dietary requirements and do our best to make sure everybody has an excellent meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    52
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
176
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We ate here on a bank holiday Friday, having eaten here before, 2 years ago. The food isn't cheap, but is excellent and uses wild produce occasionally. The kitchen clearly knows its trade, but I could have handled slightly fewer flavours on some of the plates. My beef fillet was cooked perfectly and paired well with crumbed cheek. My wife was slightly disappointed with her vegetarian option, as it could almost have passed for a starter, but it meant we had to squeeze a cheese course in, which was worthwhile. Being a quiet evening, the food arrived with very little pause between courses, which meant we were in and out quickly and my wife didn't like that at all, as the whole meal then felt a bit rushed.

The service varied. One waiter clearly didn't want to work that night, although she was popular with the well-lubricated drinkers in the bar. She also told us there were other diners booked that evening, so we wouldn't be alone in the restaurant upstairs, which wasn't the case. We ended up as one of two tables upstairs, which was a shame as we'd been given the option of eating downstairs where it was a bit busier and consequently had more atmosphere.

The other waiter however was outstanding and thoroughly earned every penny of his tip, without being intrusive. He was attentive and helpful and most of all, extremely proud to be working there and serving good food. He had a genuine pride in his work and the establishment and loved that every little part of the meal was made by the team at Llys Meddyg. I wish I'd asked his name. I did feel sorry for him when the (tipsy) owner passed a coffee order to him incorrectly and he had to rectify it.

In defence of the owner, despite obviously taking his hosting role very seriously, he managed to take my wife's vague request for a whiskey type and produce one that matched her request perfectly. (On a previous visit he also helped enormously with menu choices, after overindulging at lunch that day too)

I would eat here again, as the food is very good, but on this occasion I got the impression that as it was a quiet night, everyone (except the above mentioned waiter) was having a night off, which marred our enjoyment slightly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skootx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your review and i'm glad you enjoyed the food. I'm sorry you felt out of the action on this particular night, please let us know in advance if you would like to eat in the Cellar Bar as this can sometimes be a popular place to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at the weekend.
The owners were very helpful, friendly and welcoming.
The room (number 6) was large, had a lovely bathroom and everything you could need.
The food was really good at both supper and breakfast and there was a good variety to choose from.
We had our dog with us and she was well looked after too - they even offered for us to have breakfast in the cellar bar rather than the restaurant so that she could come too.
Great walks down on to the beach and the estuary and walking around Newport in the sunshine was a pleasure too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We're glad you stumbled upon us and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

A hidden gem nestled into the heart West Wales. They had us at the shortbread cookies waiting in our room and towel heaters. The place was full of Welsh charm. We must admit our time spent in the basement bar which dated back to the 1500's was one of our highlights. The fireplace cracklin' and plethora of delicious local produce more than satisfied our tastebuds. The old church, castle nearby are less than a five minute walk. The ocean is about a 7.5 minute walk away. We strongly recommend this gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJoMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Had a fantastic time here. Our room was huge, comfortable and well equipped. Nice to have plenty of wardrobe space with proper hangers. Fresh milk in the fridge too. We'd rescheduled our visit and couldn't have been made more welcome, including our canine traveller. We ate in and the food is good, I loved trying the foraged leaves.
Newport is a pretty town on a beautiful coast and the room guide provided lots of tips for walks and activities, rainy day ones included, but we didn't need those!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsstarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LouSykes, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here using a Groupon special deal so our stay was especially good value - but otherwise we would have found it expensive. Our room had the comfort of a hotel, with stylishly appointed bathroom and many extra touches, including the carefully selected art work (throughout the house). Staff were welcoming and eager to help, including the chef who was very keen to meet our particular preferences.
The whole place had a lively atmosphere even on a wintry Wednesday evening - especially in the cellar bar.
The easy walk down to the old port was rewarded with great views of the estuary.
We have promised ourselves a return visit.

Room Tip: Room 1, though large, comfortable and charming has no view at all because of the frosted windows in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peony42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Manager at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review,

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and made full use of the Groupon deal which we ran in the winter. We often run internal promotions, so its always worth checking our website!

We'll look forward to seeing you again soon,

Many thanks,

Ed, Lou & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this little gem. Food was excellent - fine dining type. The cellar pub is great for evening drinks and socialising. Breakfast is high quality and everything looked and tasted very good.
We stayed at the back house you could unfortunately hear the people above walking around a bit but it wasn't a big issue. Service was quite friendly so no issues. The owner is very talkative and has lots of information on what to do, where to go and how to get to x, so on.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Manager at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review,
and your kind words about Ed and our menu.
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Many thanks,

Ed, Lou & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#8 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing