We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB-U-LOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Llys Meddyg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Llys Meddyg
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“FAB-U-LOUS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Staying at Llys Meddyg is like being a guest in someone's home. It's comfy, cozy, quirky, unpretentious, laid back, full of character and about as far removed from starchy as you can get.

There is a common phrase "kick off your boots" featured in hotel literature and that is exactly what you feel compelled to do, especially when cwtching up in a squashy chair in front of the log burner in the cellar bar.

Breakfast both mornings was fantastic and set us up perfectly for the day. Dinner on Saturday evening was just delicious, with high quality local produce, fantastic flavours & presentation, all delivered with great service.

Sustainability and respect for resources is obviously important to the owners and this makes for the clever production of furniture & fittings and creative use of materials.

If you're looking for uniformity, monogrammed carpets and waistcoated staff you won't find it here. But what you will find are clean and comfortable rooms with fresh milk in the fridge. Piping hot showers with huge soft fluffy towels. A commitment to fabulous food. Service by staff who have personalities and an atmosphere that means it's perfectly ok to laugh out loud or to snooze in the bar and, where a bit of mud on your boots won't be frowned upon.

The prices at Llys Meddyg are at the higher end of the scale, and as such might limit visits to a special occasion or an occasional treat. We were lucky enough on this occasion to take advantage of a special offer but were never once made to feel as though we were in the 'cheap seats'.

Llys Meddyg has a personality all of its own, this is our second visit and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Manager at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thanks so much for your review,
We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and got into the swing of life here in little Newport!
So glad you took advantage of our special breaks packages, we run them a lot so its always worth checking the website or signing up to our newsletter :)

looking forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Lou & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    52
    35
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
176
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Oh dear! 'Disappointing' is how I would describe Llys Meddyg. Despite booking for 2 nights they were unable to find us a table for dinner, (fortunately the Golden Lion next door serves superb food - extremely friendly. We went back for lunch!) Rooms were fine, although my wife hated the 'bespoke' bed which is bigger than the mattress causing much cussing and bruising. Breakfast was another let down. For a 'restaurant with rooms' to serve hard poached eggs and burnt pancakes is a bit hard to swallow (pun intended). I suspect we caught them at a bad time since the only smile we got was when we paid the bill. Sadly have to give a low rating based on the room rate - it's dear for a place with coconut matting where there could be carpet and with DIY-style pine cladding in the restaurant, it may be contemporary but looks out of place IMHO.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grassbeneathmyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Owner at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Sir, we're very sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory.

Of course, there is no excuse for an over cooked breakfast, we pride ourselves on our lovely breakfast menu and rarely hear it wasn't up to scratch. However this should have been dealt with promptly at the time, our lovely morning waitress Sian is more than happy to accomodate any requests, had you chosen to tell her.
We're suprised to hear your bed was uncomfortable, especially as when you were checked in by my husband he made sure you were aware of the beds handmade frame and it didn't seem to be a problem. Of course we would have been happy to move you and your daughter to another available room if it had been mentioned.

Regarding our decor, I feel its perhaps unkind to refer to the Antique reclaimed pannelling with hand made copper nails as 'DIY', but you are of course welcome to your opinion.
You were asked whether you'd like to book for an evening meal at the time of making your booking, your reply was that you'd let us know as you expected to 'tour around'. We do make it clear that we cannot guarantee a space at dinner without booking, we're a small, family run business and we book up in advance. This information was also emailed to you with your booking confirmation. Unfortunately on the Saturday we were exceptionally busy due to it being the first Saturday of half term, however you were offered dinner on the Sunday.

As for the tariff we're a little unsure of how you consider it to be expensive? Your bill was £130 per night, for three of you in a family room. Considering that the same room would normally be priced at £160 (£180 in high season) based on a double occupancy, we gave you a large discount due to your recommendation from, and paying with, Welsh Rarebits vouchers. We even waivered the normal deposit fee at the time of booking.

If you'd like to call or email us to discuss this further we'd be more than happy to hear from you, and hope that your experience hasn't put you off Llys Meddyg altogether.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from a two night dinner, bed and breakfast break at this lovely place. In short, friendly cheerful staff, spotlessly clean nicely appointed room with a superb bathroom and a bed that was like sleeping on a cloud. We were upgraded to the grey loft room due to a small problem they had with a leak in our original choice. Louise phoned us on our day of arrival to let us know, which was a nice touch. The room has a nice sofa which is actually comfortable too, unlike so many places which seem to want you to spend as little time in your room as possible. The food is pretty faultless as well. Very well presented, thoughtfully prepared and extremely tasty, this goes for the breakfast as well as dinner. All in all a great find for us, and there's no doubt we'll be heading back, many thanks to Louise, Ed, Cecelia and all your staff.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ospreynorthwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Manager at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Other than its main-road location this is a fantastic Restaurant with rooms, the only issue on otherwise impeccable service allied to warm and friendly atmosphere, was the length of time it took to serve the superb dinner - I can recommend the goats cheese starter as awesome! Will most definitely re-visit. The area around the estuary the beach and the estuary path to Parrog is outstanding!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footiepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loublouW_Wales, Manager at Llys Meddyg, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Hi,

Thanks so much for your review, we're really glad you had a good time!
Thank you for letting us know about dinner too, we'll definitely take it on board.
Take care and we'll hopefully see you again soon!

Lou & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were TOTALLY blown away by Llys Meddyg... It is within walking distance to the most beautiful beach, I still dream about it! The food is so delicious it made me want to ask for seconds (still salivating over their home cured smoked salmon, and the home made bread basket is good). The service was super friendly, always a smile, or helpful advice as to where we should go for the day. We stayed in a room that allowed dogs, which had great views. It was very cosy with Welsh woven blankets, WIFI, a great shower (didn't try bath) with Aromatherapy Associates goodies. I cannot recommend Llys Meddyg enough, in fact we loved it so much we would to like to move in permanently!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights recently and occupied the Red Room. We had dinner on one night and can only say that the whole experience was excellent. Indeed our daughter and her husband stayed there about a month earlier and they thought it was the best weekend they have experienced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in the Red room and ate in both nights, food superb and service was great and friendly. Ed the owner was around but not in your face and was very relaxed.
Bathroom fantastic with a great deep bath and huge shower, beds very comfortable.
Menu was great and we enjoyed having out table for the evening.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIRKY1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
16.4 mi away
Grove of Narberth
Grove of Narberth
#1 of 1 in Molleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Cartref Hotel
Cartref Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fishguard
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#7 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Llys Meddyg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Llys Meddyg

Property: Llys Meddyg
Address: Llysmeddyg East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Llys Meddyg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Llys Meddyg can offer you luxury accommodation and a beautiful place to stay in Pembrokeshire, west Wales…with our large, comfy beds, crisp cotton sheets and down duvets, you’ll sleep like a log.Let us pamper you. Our Georgian townhouse offers a unique blend of old and new, with elegant furnishings, deep sofas and a welcoming fire. All our rooms are large, bright and comfortable with contemporary en suite facilities and stunning interiors. You’ll find our beds very accommodating with cool, crisp linen and Welsh woolen blankets from Melin Tregwynt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Llys Meddyg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Llys Meddyg Hotel Newport -Trefdraeth
Llys Meddyg Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing