We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Holmws Cottage 2

The Cottage from the south side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage from the south side
The sunny patio The cottage taken from the West
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
The Cottage from the south side
The sunny patio
The cottage taken from the West
Living room style
small bedroom
cottage shot
we do get snow sometimes!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
julie n
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing!!!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

the best short break ever ...fabulous welcome for both us and our two dogs, all facilities as advertised we couldnt have asked for more...ideal location for exploring either by foot or by car....we practically had to drag the dogs home !! a truly beautiful place ideal for a short or a long break, the peace and quiet was just what we were after but not too far away to go for a lovely pub lunch in newport or even poppit sands.

ps laura and andrew were amazing hosts we would go back in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything!
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikiex
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage, Great Location, Great Hosts!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We needed a last minute cottage and really got lucky with this one. Ideally situated just outside the pretty village of Newport and not far from the main coast road (yet you wouldn't think it as its so quiet!). The hosts made us feel relaxed straight away and it felt like a home from home. Our kids (6 and 9) enjoyed playing with the swing and wandering the farm, which we felt was a safe environment to let them explore. The cats and dog were all very friendly with the kids too. The cottage was well equipped and especially good to have a dishwasher and washing machine. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to friends and hope to return ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: No wi-fi (but sometimes its good to get away from technology!)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasminepl...
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Well equipped cottage in beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were made very welcome, the cottage had everything we needed and was very clean.
It was in a great location , bays and beaches and walks plus close enough to Newport to walk in at night for good pubs and places to eat.

We would definitely return to this cottage especially in springtime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location- quiet countryside.
Liked least: Happy with everything
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, homely cottage close to the Pembrokeshire coast.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is ideally located close to Newport and serves as a great base for exploring the Pembrokeshire coast. Set back from the road, the cottage is surrounded by beautiful countryside and is ideal for a bit of peace and quiet.
The cottage is a converted barn that has been tastefully restored to provide a comfortable home from home. The cottage has a flagged patio area, surrounded with a stone wall that provides a perfect safe space for pets or young children.
The owners were very friendly and helpful during our visit. We wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness and amenities
Liked least: TV a little on the small side
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise C
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We'd return in a heartbeat!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We received a very warm welcome from our hosts Laura & Andrew. We found them to be a lovely couple who were always on hand to help us - not that we needed anything more than they had already given in their superbly well-provided accommodation. Along with the usual items, we had access to a dishwasher, washing machine and a drying room. The cottage feels cosy: it is convenient for a small family and has very much a home from home feel about it. It is nestled along a short track off the main road to Fishguard, which meant it was easy for us to allow our young dog onto the grounds immediately outside the property without fear of him running onto the main road.

The cottage is just outside the main town of Newport, where there are a number of good eateries (most of which allow you to take dogs with you!) and it is ideally located for trips to St Davids, Tenby and Aberystwyth.. It is also on the Pembrokeshire coastal path and there are loads of picturesque walks that can be taken directly from the cottage.

We recommend the Tafarn Sinc at Rosebush. We found the food here to be great and we particularly enjoyed their local beer called Cwrw (pronounced Kooroo) You could use this as a base for a day of walking in the Preseli hills.

The only disappointing part of our holiday was when we were unable to catch a boat to Skomer. They were all fully-booked (apparently by 9.30am) despite having arrived at 11am for a 1pm sailing. Certainly not the fault of our lovely hosts though!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The 'skinny' mirror in the main bedroom!
Liked least: Having to go home at the end of the week!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misuk0
Emmendingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thank you very much! I cannot read much of it - rubbish at German, but you have given us 5 stars, so I assume all is good and you certainly seemed happy during your stay. I hope you had a good trip home!
regards, Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing