We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the place you need for a good meal”

The Golden Lion Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
South Wales
Level Contributor
185 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Just the place you need for a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

This great pub is just the place you need for a good meal. Very tasty food, good atmosphere, good beers and good service.
There's ample choice of 'home-cooked' food on the menu, and there is also a 'blackboard' selection.
Service can be slow on a very busy night but the staff are very pleasant and attentive.
My only comment would be the chicken pie had far too much liquid in it. I nearly asked for a spoon to drink it rather than eat it!
Apart from that, I'll re-viist it when I'm next in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    140
    27
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Actually”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Now Mrs B, AKA Wifey and I know our food. We have fine dined with the best and equally popped along and enjoyed a greasy spoon or two. The attire or expectations simply don't matter: mess Kit, 5 Star, or shorts and sandals and we are at home. If it's good, we say, and if it's bad we also say. People work hard to enjoy themselves, and it's only right and proper that they receive impartial advice before spending their hard earned dosh. This meal folks, was good.

Too much food, but that's our own fault as we both ordered a starter that we didn't need. The beer was great, and the staff were lovely. My only two negatives are, (i) if the restaurant is full and the restaurant menu is sold in the bar, then there should have been a small discount system as the customer isn't getting the full restaurant experience, and (ii) it seemed a tad silly to charge for bread and butter in a restaurant. Don't get me wrong, it was nice bread and butter, but it was still silly. Oh, and by the way, the initial overeating was worth it. The fishcakes were to die for.

TIPS:

(1) book in advance, (2) If you forget to book and the restaurant is full, then simply find yourself a table in the bar and then approach the restaurant staff, and (3) don't miss the 'Specials' board on the wall by the entrance to the restaurant

ADVICE TO MANAGEMENT:

(1) stop charging for bread and butter and just stick it on the table. You could give 100 reasons why you shouldn't, but the bottom line is it lets you down, and that is pointless as you are too good to let yourself damage your brand. Bread is cheap, and the customers will appreciate it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyntan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berriew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“If only all places were as good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Newport is a very lucky village, lots of choice when it comes to good places to eat and the Golden Lion is no exception.
Plenty of room inside and out and in the inside /outside area too.
We stopped for lunch on this occasion as I knew the Lion to be very good from previous visits and everyone in our party of travellers was very impressed with the quality of the food and the service provided. I'd recommend anyone calling in for a bite to eat it might just make your journey a memorable one. Staff are always excellent also not too attentive but always friendly and helpful. Next time don't drive past, stop and enjoy a well kept secret!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Got to the with five minutes left on service, but they still allowed us to order thankfully, the food, a roast beef sandwich and roast beef platter was fantastic, lovely presentation and very tasty especially with the best home made coleslaw and potato salad I have tasted

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MROYAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A surprise but very good find !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked at the Golden Lion on the recommendation of our B & B. We had been aware of the existence of this place for many years but had not been aware that it has such a good restaurant.
When we arrived we had great difficulty parking (this is always a problem in Newport) and the Golden Lion was very busy.The staff are young and pleasant ,smartly dressed and we were taken to our table.We had two very tasty and good meals.I enjoyed my belly pf pork with black pudding.My wife had Thai Chicken which was OK but not outstanding. Having placed our order it was about 45 minutes before our food was served.As the Golden Lion was busy and everything is cooked to order we cannot complain too much about that and we enjoyed a relaxed and pleasant evening. We have already recommended this place to others in the area.Good value.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JBMCUMBRIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Lion Restaurant also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Golden Lion Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing