We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cnapan Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cnapan Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
alnwick
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A lovely place to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last month for 6 nights, including 4 nights' Dinner.
I can only say Judith & Michael really make you feel special.Nothing is too much trouble, the food is excellent,the staff welcoming.
I have been to other establishments which have higher ratings for their food,however it is rare to have consistently good food of this quality from start to finish.
The good Food Guide may rate Cnapan as 2 but 4-5 is more realistic in my opinion.
If you want to see beautiful Pembrokeshire with comfy beds,excellent food and good service it would recommend a visit.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 4 which has a walk in shower and a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

We are regular weekend visitors to the Cnapan in Newport Pemb. We have tried other Hotels & B& Bs in the area but Cnapan comes out on top !!
The welcome, customer care, service & total quality of this delightful country house is second to none. Newport is a fab quality& quirky place, calm & quiet & if you want accomodation & a restaurant that mirrors the area then look no further than Cnapan.
The owners Mike & Judith are superb people who have been in the business for decades, they know how to treat their customers & offer a warm, quality welcome. The food is lovely and even my demanding likes and dislikes do not phase them.
The proof of the quality is evident by the number of visitors to Newport who always return to the Cnapan.
Wonderful place.

Room Tip: All lovely & cosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The room was excellent. Nice comfy bed, and very nice landlady. The shower was a bit crummy for a £90 room, though. Make sure you reserve ahead of time if you want to eat dinner there as it tends to be booked and we did not know this.
Excellent breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_B999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed here after walking the hardest section of the Pembrokeshire Coastal path from St Dogmaels to Newport. We arrived here absolutely shattered and enjoyed a really friendly welcome and one of the most enjoyable meals I've had in a long time! The staff weren't fazed by the fact that we looked like we'd been dragged through a couple of hedges backwards even though most diners were quite smartly dressed! The food was delicious. I work in catering, eating out frequently in London and it really exceeded my expectations even taking into account the fact that everyone in Pembrokeshire seems to know Cnapan and told us how wonderful it was. My only disappointment was that I was too full to eat a pudding! Our room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated and basic in its facilities. The bed was just soooo comfy it made up for any shortcomings! We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidis31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a wedding, it was suggested to me to try here by local people who knew the owners well and it was a very worthwhile suggestion!

The room was clean and tidy, nice view of the high st(its a lovely street) and the church up the hill where the wedding took place.

Lovely cooked breakfast with continental breakfast too if we wanted it.

The owners were really friendly and happy to help us with whatever we wanted.

There is private parking on site so you won't need to worry about looking for a parking space.

Other bed and breakfasts in the town were also excellent however there was one discussed amongst the group of wedding guests that had a really smelly dog, and the owner was apparently quite odd, might want to watch out for that one if you're looking to stay in the town!

So definitely recommending Cnapan, I'd definitely book again if I was returning to Newport :-)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_coldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayed at Cnapan recently with my wife and daughter. Booked by telephone and found Mike to be very helpful. Sadly the restaurant was closed on the night we wanted to stay but he recommended the local pub (a few minutes walk) which was teriffic.

Rooms were spacious and traditionally/personally furnished - indeed it did feel as if we were staying in a private home rather than a hotel. Only small criticism was the oft mentioned size of the bathrooms but difficult to see how this could be changed. Breakfast was very good.

A couple of days after returning home Mike e-mailed me to ask if I had left a fleece behind. I hadnt even realised and the same was subsequently posted to me. What service!

Lovely little town - do visit the harbour. Hopefully a longer stay next time and chance to sample the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 911prentonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

A warm welcome, assistance with parking and luggage. We were shown to our room, which was in the front with a bay window. No worries about noise, as the glazing was more than adequate. We were invited to take afternoon tea served in the parlor. We reviewed the menu while being served an aperitif in the bar/lounge and when our orders were about to be served, we were escorted to the dining room. The dinner service was outstanding. The preparation was creative and the result outstanding. Everything was perfect. Judith and Michael are excellent hosts and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport -Trefdraeth
2.9 mi away
Gellifawr Woodland Retreat
6.8 mi away
Fishguard Bay Hotel
Fishguard Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goodwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
10.0 mi away
Wolfscastle Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tabor House B&B
Tabor House B&B
#3 of 4 in Dinas Cross
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#2 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Llys Meddyg
Llys Meddyg
#3 of 20 in Newport -Trefdraeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cnapan Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cnapan Guest House

Property: Cnapan Guest House
Address: East Street, Newport -Trefdraeth SA42 0SY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Newport -Trefdraeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newport -Trefdraeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cnapan Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cnapan is a fine listed Georgian townhouse located in the historic centre of Newport/Trefdraeth which, in turn, lies nestled where the beautiful Preseli Hills roll down to meet the spectacular Pembrokeshire National Park Coast. It is a house with a “lived-in” and loved feeling and from the generous hallway with its traditional oak Welsh dresser crowded with old family treasures, to the spacious pretty bedrooms, you will immediately feel at home in this comfortable house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cnapan Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cnapan Country Hotel
Cnapan Guest House Wales/Pembrokeshire - Newport -Trefdraeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing