We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyndsey's wonderful cafe”
Review of Blas at Fronlas

Blas at Fronlas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Blas at Fronlas, a real taste of wales served in a lovely place with a great atmosphere. Serving home made food, locally sourced, prepared with care and attention. Deli with local produce home baking and lovely lunches. Open for Tapas on Tunes on Friday evenings. Open for dinner every Saturday & on other evenings during the year, please check our website for details. Fully Licensed. Enjoy a warm welcome a plate of good food and relax in this lovely corner of the world
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lyndsey's wonderful cafe”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

What a transformation to Fronlas. From the secluded garden at the back, yummy home cooked cakes and tales of local history from the staff. We visited for tea & cake and it was so good went for a supper evening. Latter was simple grill menu but really good value and the pudding I couldn't quite manage was quickly wrapped for me to take home. A true delight in all ways - one of those places you just want to stay and 'be''. Thank You

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watlington2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    56
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Why didn't my holiday company tell me of this restaurant ?”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We tried to book in each of the recommended restaurants from our holiday company - all were fully booked. We stumbled across Blas to receive an extremely warm welcome and an excellent dining experience. A cross between great home cooking and a European easy eating experience. A casual menu which was well cooked and very filling. Thank you for the ' doggy bag' that will see us through our daytime walking tomorrow. Excellent service from welcoming and friendly staff. A big thank you !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steveevans57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Popped in here for lunch, tables out front all full but nice surprise with the new addition of garden in the back. Only had sandwich but presentation and quality excellent, lovely friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mother_DaughterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Visited here yesterday evening. Unsure what to expect but thoroughly enjoyed. Food was fabulous- garlic potatoes 'to die for', and very reasonably priced wine. Would definitely recommend the chocolate brownie and coconut ice cream. Staff extremely accommodating and a great atmosphere. Will definitely return again soon.

Helpful?
Thank Sian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a cafe /restaurant that serves a simple, but great quality dinner two nights a week (this may change). They have a simple concept of providing a fresh loaf with oil and olives to start and then you pick a meat, they BBQ it and you get your own salad. Basic idea but the quality was great. I had the coriander chicken and it was delicious and moist. The salads are creative and interesting. Homemade desserts were fantastic. All for £18 a head. Short wine list but very reasonably priced. Difficult to fault.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blas at Fronlas also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Blas at Fronlas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing