We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haphazard opening hours”
Review of Royal Oak

Royal Oak
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Haphazard opening hours”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

would have liked to visit this pub as they sell Brains beer and serve meals however it difficult to know when they will be open as there are no opening times displayed

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hopkinstownboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    70
    17
    13
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffs
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food - eventually”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have eaten here any times when staying in Newport and the food is always good. This time, however, the service was a major let-down. Despite being the only people eating in the bar, our order was not sent to the kitchen and we had a 45 minute wait. When it finally arrived, the fish cakes were lovely - spicy and very fishy, my husband's curry was pronounced "excellent" and my lasagne was to die for. The menu is varied, the main attraction for my husband being that there is a proper Asian chef in charge of the extensive curry menu.
It won't stop us eating here again - the food is so good, we can allow for the odd mistake.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JuCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Dissapointed must say, the food seemed quite greasy, portions were good. To sum up it was cheap and cheerful and nothing more

Helpful?
1 Thank ows7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Warks
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great welsh black steak !!! Proper local with quality grub ;-)”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Friendly "local" pub serving great food. Took a gamble on visiting this place based on reviews. Ordered the welsh cawl and garlic mushrooms and two welsh black sir loins. Starters were delicious and I had to leave half the cawl simply because I would have been two full for the main. This is a proper welsh pub serving great grub, locals were friendly with plenty of welsh being spoken which was a nice sunrise (a lot of people this area seem to be English!!!!!!) . We sat in the back near the fire which was lovely considering the storm outside which cut the power twice ! Doom bar bitter (one of my faves) was great and price reasonable considering the size and quality of the steaks!!!!! Would definitely go back , excellent !

Helpful?
Thank AALowndes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishguard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Yet again we were served with a fresh tasty meal cooked to perfection by Dean , chicken Caesar salad , crisp salad , grilled chicken and all the other bits you would expect and a full plate , you really get value for money

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carpetman1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing