We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sailor's

The Old Sailor's
Price range: $14 - $36
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a beachside bar and restaurant serving the best of local seafood & a variety of other dishes including meat dishes & vegetarian dishes. We also serve cakes, tea & coffee & have a fully licensed bar. We Are located in Pwllgwaelod right on the beach with ample parking & outside seating available.
Wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good lunch spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Tiny place in attractive bay. Lunch was served quickly with little fuss. Place was very busy and food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vandal58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    99
    25
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unfriendly and shoddy service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Arrived after they finished hot food. Unfriendly welcome with curt responses to questions. Ordered sandwiches. After 30 mins checked at bar and they had not put the order through to kitchen. No apology when it arrived. Food average. Lovely location with superb views.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank papiomonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice food, shame about the management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were staying a short walk from the Old Sailor's and decided to have a meal there one evening. We were warned to make sure we booked, as "he won't cook if you don't book", which seemed a little odd, but we booked anyway.
The food was very nice (if a little overpriced), all good home cooking with seemingly local ingredients.
We then called in at lunchtime, and met the manageress, who was far from happy when I asked for coffee (I think she wanted to keep the machine clean), and as the rain started to fall, and customers started wanting to eat inside, she was very difficult about using the tables which were set for dinner.
Again, the lunchtime menu was lovely and the other staff were very friendly.
Overall, a characterful place with great food - but make sure you book ahead!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
From North Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a drink”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stopped here for a drink around lunch time whilst walking to Newport, lovely place and great welsh welcome, totally different to the welcome received at night!!
Tried to get a table on the off chance on a Wednesday night only to be greeted by a very rude old man, the way he spoke to us when we asked if he had a table was as if we had asked for a million pounds!!!!
It's a shame cos the old place has lovely character and had read good reviews about the food.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Griffith-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letterston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food, Wonderful Hosts, Perfect Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had our family over from Australia and wanted to organise a memorable evening, and show Pembrokeshire in a positive light, we picked the perfect place. They loved the double dragon ale, the locally caught fish and lobster (the nicest my father had ever had)and the warm genial hosts. Highly recommended, in fact my Uncle Bobby and family said...."next time we're in Wales....we're coming here mate..." 10/10

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandJen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Sailor's also viewed

Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Old Sailor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing