We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location for dog walking”
other travelers have booked this property
The Rectory with new huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub in Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Rectory with new huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub in Garden
Aerial View of Rectory with farm land surrounding it The Sun shines with Sea views in all 6 bedrooms of this 18th Century House with a 2/3rd acre Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Rectory with new huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub in Garden
Aerial View of Rectory with farm land surrounding it
The Sun shines with Sea views in all 6 bedrooms of this 18th Century House with a 2/3rd acre Garden
The Four Star Old Rectory from the main Welsh Garden
Newport Bay all to yourselves from The Old Rectory
An Aerial View of the whole Garden and Rectory from the North
Aerial View of the Cottage, Rectory and Sea from the East
Aerial View from back Garden of Farm Fields and Sea
Dining Hall for up to 25 with more in Kichen
King Bed with New Ensuite Bathroom
Double and Single beds with New Ensuite Bathroom
Double Bed With View of the Sea
Fully Stocked Kitchen, Range w 3 ovens, 2 extra fridge freezers in ulility, breakfast tbl ocean view
Another Kitchen View , Range with 3 ovens, 2 extra fridge freezers in utility
Views of Bay from Kitchen
Garden Dining with old slate table, BBQS, Views of Bay and Angel Mountain
Main Ground Floor Living Room with Inglenook wood burning stove
1st Floor 2nd Living Room with large Windows out to the Sea
1st Floor another view with Couch (makes Double Bed)
Georgian window with deep reveals on top floor.
Why not have a meal outside by the Stone Wall?
The Old Rectory from Garden
Garden Plan; 1 Acre of Magical Garden Surrounded by Rolling Feilds
Hallway with Piano, Library and slate floor.
180 Miles of Wild Coastal Path to Explore
View from Bedroom
Secluded, Away from the Road, easy parking.
The Old Rectory and Cottage
Ancient Oak Woodland Nearby
View of Carn Ingli (Angel Mountain) From Garden
The Winding Streets of quaint Newport (Trefdraeth)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GaryJBoyc...
Gerrads Cross
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for dog walking”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Great location with lots of walks from the house, down to the sea, up to the hills and into the town. The town has some rally nice pubs and restaurants.
The house is family/ dog friendly with great views and nice garden.
Some of the nearby stiles are not very dog friendly but that would be my only negative.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: stiles
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DPCSomers...
Somerset, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay with all the family”
Reviewed August 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our children and grandchildren (ages 2, 3, 4 and 7) at the end of July and the accomodation and location were excellent . The house provided ample space for everyone and was well equipped for all our needs. The children enjoyed playing in the garden and the beach (which they loved) and town restaurants were only a short ride away. The house would also make a great place for a group of friends to stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yvonne w
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing place”
Reviewed July 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

this was our 2nd visit the 1st for our friends the cottage is fantastic with a massive garden which our dogs loved, had a Barbie one night on the decking will go back to retreat cottage
again

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jameshamm...
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and brilliant house”
Reviewed November 3, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A great week was had by the whole family from a one year old to an 81 year old. The house had everything you could possibly need in the way of space, kitchen crockery and bedding. The heating was easily controllable and there was endless hot water. There were even some Welsh Cakes for us to eat when we arrived! I can't recommend this place enough.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No mobile signal downstairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect setting for a magical holiday”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were looking for a place that would accommodate our extended family – four cousins with partners and offspring (17 of us in all, ranging in age from 10 – 50+), the Old Rectory and the Retreat hosted this gathering comfortably and with charm.
The Old Rectory is a beautiful, old Welsh house which is well equipped and had a large enough dining room to fit everyone together for dinner. The garden is large and was perfect for the youngest members of the group to run around and explore and the older members to sit out and enjoy the wonderful views. The Aga in the utility room was very welcome on the day that the heavens opened and we all got drenched.
The Retreat is a lovely barn conversion and has a marvellous living area – great space to gather, after dinner.
Newport and the surrounding area is wonderful, packed with stunning landscapes, wildlife and history.
All in all the perfect setting for a magical holiday- Thanks

Date of stay: August 2014
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lullingto...
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“We loved this place.”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I hired the Old Rectory and the Sunny Retreat for my wife’s 40th and it was perfect.

We comfortably slept 18 and three dogs across the two adjoining buildings. The gardens are beautiful and the views are spectacular. We had a barbeque on the grounds (the local butcher T G Davies is well worth a visit if you’re thinking of doing the same) then sat around a camp fire and finished the evening with fireworks.

The local beaches are perfect for a bit of kayaking and coasteering, and the walks around the area are beautiful.

We had a lovely week. The owners were extremely accommodating, the properties are welcoming, comfortable and well equipped, and the Pembrokeshire is genuinely beautiful.

I can not recommend this place enough.

We loved it.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The buildings had and homely, welcoming fell abouth then and the gardens were spectacular.
Liked least: The oven in the Old Rectory was a bit of a struggle.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2015
We have had the good fortune to have been a destination for many special family birthdays, anniversaries and events over the last 20 years. Please accept our thanks for coming!

Deanna and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
281Sally
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I came to the old rectory/ cottage with my friends for my 50th birthday and it was so lovely lots of character very well thought out facilities and stunning views of the sea!
My friends and I would love to come back it will hold some special memories for me .

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I loved it all
Liked least: The showers could have a bit more pressure
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Old Rectory to mark your special occasion of your 50th birthday.
It is good to get such enthusiastic feedback on the facilities and character of the house. You can appreciate that it has taken many years of love, joy and work to get the property to this stage of being a great venue for celebrations such as yours. It's purpose is being fulfilled. The stunning view will never change. It is all waiting for you and your friends and family to return for more fun. Welcome back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing