We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Happy 80th Birthday Dad!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Old Rectory and Retreat Cottage with 1 acre Garden, Huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Rectory and Retreat Cottage with 1 acre Garden, Huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub
Aerial View of Rectory, Cottage, Games/Function room with farm land surrounding for total privacy The Old Rectory And Retreat Cottage from the 1 acre Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Old Rectory and Retreat Cottage with 1 acre Garden, Huge Games/Function Room and Hot Tub
Aerial View of Rectory, Cottage, Games/Function room with farm land surrounding for total privacy
The Old Rectory And Retreat Cottage from the 1 acre Garden
Aerial View of Entire Garden and Rectory/Cottage from the North
The Old Rectory...
And the Sunny Retreat Cottage...
Aerial View of Cottage, Rectory and Sea beyond
Aerial View of Garden edge, Farm fields and Sea
View from the cottage
The Rectory Dining Room that can sit up to 25
Kitchen; Fully Stocked for Self-Catering
The Old Rectory; One of Six Bedrooms
View of Carningli (Mountain Of The Angels) from Balcony
Tons Of Walks On Your Doorstep
One of Three Living Rooms
Bedrooms Overlook Garden and Ocean (1 of 9 )
Inglenook Ground Floor Living Room with Wood Burning Stove
The First Floor Rectory Living Room with Sleeper Sofa (one of three LIving Rooms)
One of 9 Old Rectory and Cottage Bedrooms
Cottage Open Living Space with two comfortable Couch Beds
Cottage Master Bedroom
Fully Stocked Kitchen, Range w 3 ovens, 2 extra fridge freezers in Utility, brkfst tbl w ocean view
Well appointed Bathrooms
Rectory Kitchen Ocean View
Outdoor Dining with BarBeque and Sea View Beyond
Our Newly constructed detached Games/Function Room in the Garden
In our Games/Function Room:  Ping Pong, Snooker, Foosball and Cards.  Flat Screen TV
All kinds of social functions can be had in our Games/Function Room in the Garden
All types of events, like Yoga, Meditation, etc. in our Games/Function Room
Our new Dream-7 Hot Tub for Five people is right in front of our new Games Room in the Garden
Sea View From inside the Cottage
Sunny Retreat Cottage; Open Plan Through the Kitchen, Dining Room, Living Room, and Onto the Balcony
Garden Plan; 1 Acre of Magical Garden Surrounded by Rolling Fields
Why not have a meal outsite at the Old Stone Garden Wall?
Slate Walkways around the Garden
Gelli-Olau from Garden
The Old Rectory: View from Bedroom
Gorgeous Countryside with Ancient Stones in the Distance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
9 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 26
Newport -Trefdraeth, Pembrokeshire, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matthew L
2 reviews
“Happy 80th Birthday Dad!”
Reviewed July 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A brilliant couple of houses that allowed the older generation to have some peace and privacy from the younger generation who like to run amok in the early hours! All three generations could come together in the evening for dinner and relaxation so pretty perfect all round.

The accommodation was excellent and the location made for a perfect starting point to local beaches and walks and also for other areas in Wales that we wanted to visit.

A lovely, lovely week!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauledwar...
Galiano Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved staying here and Loved the area... we will be back”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

How many large 300 year old houses are there in such a beautiful area with privacy on a hill with farm land all around overlooking the majestic Atlantic in what is acknowledged to be one of the most sought after travel destinations in Wales at Newport, Pembrokeshire? There is only one that we know of. This is a rare find. We loved our stay here at the Old Rectory and Cottage and will have lasting memories of the beauty of this property (including the one acre Welsh garden) and the local. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: The houses, the grounds and the surrounding area
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eryca H
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“So practical, easy and comfortable”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our group of 16 used this for a small conference.
Each of us had their own bed or comfy sofa bed, and several of us had their own room to themselves.
We used 3 of the living rooms as workshop spaces in small groups and then came together in the cottage living room when we needed to be together. as it is a large and well lit suitable space Our group of 16 easily sat comfortably together. We put up a screen to project onto and had a lecture. It was easy to move the furniture around for our needs.
There was absolutely no disturbance at all or outside noise other than the birds.
We felt completely private and also we had a big circle in the garden on a warm day to meet outside.
We often ate outside as well on the lovely slate tables with 3 propane BBQs which our cook found very efficient.
The ensuite bathrooms that were recently added, were spacious and added to the already adequate number of bathrooms and toilets. There was plenty of hot water at all times, even when everybody was showering to meet out 9am daily schedule.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of space and privacy, even though it was a group of individual business colleagues.
Liked least: That it is not closer to London. Though it was well worth the journey.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
21Kate
Newbury, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for our large group”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

There were 17 of us in our group, children and adults. The big house was really spacious and comfortable. There is a large utility area with two extra fridges and loads of space for all the boots and coats that were needed to combat the Welsh weather. Didn't see the children as they were tearing around outside and then set up camp with the foldaway pool table in the sitting room upstairs. The garden is lovely, wild flowers, great views. There are new BBQ's, sadly didn't get greatest use due to rain!
Newport is a lovely place, lots of great places to eat. We went to Tapas & Tunes at Blas, very entertaining, and tasty carvery at The Castle.
The first thing we did at the end of our stay was rebook for next year, and we can't wait.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Car not needed all weekend. Everyone together, relaxing.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mary M
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful hideaway !”
Reviewed May 2, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This accommodation was all we needed for a wonderfully relaxing and comfortable stay in beautiful Pembrokeshire. We loved the views, especially in the morning when the birdsong and the sea views really make a perfect start to the day. The accommodation is comfortable, full of character and well equipped. Any queries were soon dealt with by the helpful owner. Newport has pubs and restaurants to offer and we liked being able to pick up good quality local produce to bring back to the cottage. There is easy access to the coastal path (studded with wild flowers through the spring and summer) and we were constantly impressed by the beauty of the coves and beaches. Coming back to the relaxed comfort of the house was a pleasure each evening. I would warmly recommend choosing this accommodation and enjoying all that this wonderful corner of Pembrokeshire has to offer. If you also get good weather there is very little to beat it.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 14, 2015
Oh thank you and glad you enjoyed our large Welsh garden. It is special. We have many repeat guest groups. Please let us know you have been before so we can give you our returning guest discount.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing